We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.83*
and up
Half-Day Pearl Harbor City Tour from Waikiki
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Hawaii Five-0 TV Locations Tour
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Day at Pearl Harbor Tour
Ranked #8 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Newport, Tn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is such an emotional experience. It was very moving.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,757
    641
    132
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Humbling look at history.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This place always makes me realize how many people have given their lives for us and their country. Each visit, I am deeply humbled and saddened, yet leave there feeling proud of these patriotic people. This is our "definite" place to take our visitors. Everyone has thanked us for sharing this very special spot in Hawaii.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jen131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very much worth it:”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We took our grandchildren to see this right after we visited the Arizona Memorial. A day well worth it. They are early teens and I think both of these attractions made a big impact on them. The cemetery is always beautiful and they asked a ton of questions about it. It was just before Memorial Day and we got to see the volunteers putting leis on all the graves. Impressive to see.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ruby717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“National Cemetery of the Pacific”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Don't miss this. Very moving experience; beautiful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GhostHunter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful tribute.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The chapel here at Punchbowl is lovely. The grounds are well kept. If you are a visitor you may see entire families visiting their loved one and having a picnic lunch at the grave site. Loved ones are never forgotten here in Hawaii. It is a wonderful tradition.

Helpful?
Thank paramus1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing