We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapiolani Park

Kapiolani Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.55*
and up
Honolulu Segway Tour: Kapiolani Park, Makalei Beach Park and Queen’s Surf Beach
Ranked #28 of 319 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Many of Hawaii’s alii (royalty) lived in Waikiki and King Kalakaua selected a 300-acre track of land at the base of Diamond Head for a public park in 1867. Today, it is a gathering place that thrives with walkers, runners, tennis enthusiasts and picnickers. Grab lunch on Kalakaua Avenue and enjoy it in one of the shaded picnic areas scattered around this colorful park.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice calm, clear blue water for snorkeling, hardly a soul around on a weekday in May. We got great pictures here, easy parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    363
    73
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Part of our morning walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A walk around this beautiful park became part of our morning ritual walk. Our hotel was just 2 blocks from the Honolulu Zoo and this beautiful stretch of green space. The size of the banyan trees never ceased to amaze us and no photo ever seemed to do them justice! The number of homeless people we saw in all the parks in Waikiki and along the Waikiki beach area were unsettling though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairie_Dusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Farmers Market not to miss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like a local flavor then the Kapiolani Community College (KCC) Farmers Market is for you. Don't miss the Fried Green Tomatoes while you wander around. The honey options are amazing - taste and you will be hooked. Fresh fruits and vegetables are everywhere and the flowers and herbs are fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonSlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High and Windy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just loved the view, yes it was windy but the ancient history behind the wind is fantastic. And you can see for miles. Its just incredible.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbiethetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makakilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favorite Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I like the closeness of the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Beach. It's a good park to walk around. The variety of events is entertaining and enjoying concerts in the Shell has so many memories for me. I miss the Kodak Show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapiolani Park also viewed

 

Been to Kapiolani Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing