We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapiolani Park

Kapiolani Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.55*
and up
Honolulu Segway Tour: Kapiolani Park, Makalei Beach Park and Queen’s Surf Beach
Ranked #28 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Many of Hawaii’s alii (royalty) lived in Waikiki and King Kalakaua selected a 300-acre track of land at the base of Diamond Head for a public park in 1867. Today, it is a gathering place that thrives with walkers, runners, tennis enthusiasts and picnickers. Grab lunch on Kalakaua Avenue and enjoy it in one of the shaded picnic areas scattered around this colorful park.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very large park close to the zoo and Waikiki beach area. Lots of fun statues and trees. We walked through here to go to the beach, parking was pretty filled up close to the beach, so we had to walk through this park to get there. Lots of activities going on, you can see people playing soccer and enjoying life.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank babe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    367
    73
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Awesome Landside Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went there to play in a softball tournament and although the softball fields left much to be desired, the views while playing ball was amazing.

Wide open fields with nice shade along the edges. Great views of Diamond Head and surrounding mountains where everyday we saw some spectacular rainbows

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You Have to spend an afternoon at Kapi'olani Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This park is a definition of much of what people think about when they think about Waikiki. Kapi'olani park is at the end of Kalakau'a Ave, past where Montsarrat Ave. goes inland past the Honolulu Zoo. Take the family to the zoo in the mid-morning to afternoon, spend some time playing frisbee or something in the park, then go to the beach around mid afternoon - watch the sun set out in the west. Plenty of places to get water and eat during the day. Just don't overdo the sun! You'll remember this forever!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Walk & SHOPPING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a lovely park and, due to great timing, we happened upon about 50 booths that had been set up by local artists selling their wares. I contributed to the local economy by spending more than $200 on things that I just had to have, including a fabulous bag made from used rice bags, several bracelets, earrings, photographs, and clothing. Everything that we saw was really very beautiful and of fantastic quality - we felt very fortunate to have stumbled upon this event.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Huge park with various areas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was difficult to find parking but I think its an easy place to get to on the bus. There is lots of grassy areas with the zoo, tennis courts and the aquarium close by.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlipFlopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapiolani Park also viewed

 

Been to Kapiolani Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing