We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have stayed here several times. It is the only place we will consider now. The staff is welcoming every time and throughtout our stay remain friendly, interested and aware of being helpful at all times. This is more like a lodge in atmosphere - not glitzy and chrome and is more like attached bunglow layout with only two floors of rooms all overlooking the pool and patio. The rooms vary in size and most have small kitchens with balconies offered on the second story. The large pool (unheated)surrounded by flowers and shrubs in the secluded area is well attended and offers sunbathers a large patio surrounding it to lounge at. There is 24 hr. security and the coffee is always on at the outdoor reception area. Many guests have been coming for ten or more years which speaks volumes for this holiday home. It's a 5 min. walk to the beach and many restaurants, entertainment and shopping of all sorts. The city bus is at the back door to connect with Diamond Head, Ala Moana Shopping Center, Pearl Harbour, and cruise ship docks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    90
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
63
65
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

After many years of the most successful & enjoyable vacations throughout the islands of Hawaii, the Breakers Hotel in Waikiki provides a fabulously relaxed venue for family including many dozens of golfing friends. An older styled boutique hotel, though with fully modern facilities, this hotel has always employed very genuinely interested staff who are prepared to listen & offer assistance and recommendations in response to queries from holiday-makers. People from all walks of life stay at this hotel, Very affordable & very comfortable, always feel secure, 1/2 block to Waikiki Beach, transportation nearby and large variety of local Waikiki shopping - a true "light at the end of a tunnel" with the totally rare old Hawaiian island charm!!
Trix & Brian & Loretta & Phillip from the Fraser Coast, Queensland.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wilruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Great hotel if you are trying to experience this are without breaking the bank. Excellent location. Minutes walking distance from the beach. Very friendly staff and ambiance. I will dfinaylru be back here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bmaxwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have stayed at The Breakers twice, and will go back again when I'm next in Hawaii.

On this trip I traveled with a 15 year-old daughter. We spent three nights at The Breakers before leaving Waikiki for the less touristy parts of Oahu.

The Breakers is owned by a Grand Master of Japanese tea ceremony, and the rooms have some Japanese styling. There is a tea ceremony study center next door where you can participate in a demonstration two days a week.

We traveled when school was in session, and has many devoted snow birds who come year after year, so there were no other teens while we were there.

The VERY elderly guests are often aggressively friendly, asking where you are from and where you are going each time you go through the pool area. We found them to be charming, but more private travelers might prefer a more anonymous hotel.

The Breakers does not seem to offer any discounts. Some of the guests are there for more than a month, and still pay the daily rate. Winter rates start at $130 for an upstairs, studio room, which is pretty cheap for Waikiki. All the rooms have kitchens and parking is free, if you can get one of the 7 spots in the lot. You don't need a car in Waikiki, there's plenty of public transportation, but if you need parking, there's a public lot nearby.

The Breakers is not for everyone, but if you enjoy a small, friendly hotel over high-rise luxury, it might be the place want to go back to too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lushvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you want to stay at a place that provides some of the most friendly staff and relaxing atmospheres in Oahu this is it. There are only two stories here with a wonderful garden setting around the pool (which is the center of the facility). Grab a cup of coffee or tea and walk down to the poolside anytime, no crowds or rowdy people here. We would see people reading newspapers or books, using their laptops, chatting with room neighbors or just relaxing in the lounge chairs, Many of the folks on the pool level would leave their room doors open while playing cards or "visiting" with others at the pool side tables. Two cats hang out around the office ( on long leashes) These pampered pets actually help maintain pest control in a natural way ( its a tropical climate-great for bugs and other pests which the cats love to catch). The location is two blocks from the beach and close to everything you can think of, there is even a small ABC store across the street with plenty of snacks, drinks, fruits and other stuff. I sound like an agent for them but we really enjoyed our stay here! Yes the kitchenette's and bath's are from that 70's show but have been very, very well kept for the age. The place is kept clean throughout the facility. If you want a new "modern" place to stay or want to be loud and party this will not be the place for you. But if you really want to experience that "old Hawaii" and be able to sit back and relax when your at the hotel then you will love the Breakers. Heck after the 11:30pm news one night I went down and talked for over 30 minutes with the front desk clerk about the Island and things to do there that only a local would know, then after that we shared a few jokes, You could never do that at the larger hotels!
Just a note, some of the photo's I have seen on this site & from (hotels.com) are not from this hotel? I sent them an e-mail about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markus555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The highlight of our first Hawaiian trip was our stay at this wonderful small hotel. It is a short walk to the beach and about anything you want. The experience was like taking a step back about 50 years, but with clean and functional rooms that have been well maintained and upgraded. Outside your door is a central courtyard with a pool and the open hotel lobby where coffee is always available. The friendliness of the helpful hotel staff made us feel like we were visiting family. We left this place and rented a nice beachfront condo on Maui, but we can't wait to go back to The Breakers sometime in the future. The next time, I won't rent a car because what you can't walk to you can take the city bus which is available a few steps from the back entrance to this place. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank senjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

stayed here for 2 weeks last year with my adult family. LOVED IT and would never stay anywhere else. that said, we may be biased because: 1) we love vintage/ retro style things, and the Breakers has all the original fixtures (IE. not updated since it was built in the 60's), and 2) my family is Japanese American, and this place has not only very Asian decor but also a Japanese restaurant and teahouse right on the grounds. in fact, the entire complex is owned by the Urasenke Foundation of Japan, which is a tea ceremony school dating back hundreds of years.
the darling grounds are kept well-tended and spotless, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the resident cats were an added bonus. lack of AC was not a problem, with the room's vents open and fans on it was like tropical paradise. the only thing we felt was lacking was a microwave in the room, and the parking shortage forced us to pay for the lot across the street a few times.
in short, if you can appreciate retro charm and a taste of Eastern culture, don't miss this place. but if you need brand new pristine surroundings, go elsewhere and leave this awesome place to us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texastiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ilima Hotel
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
925 reviews
Polynesian Plaza
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
562 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing