We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax”
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We just returned from our second stay at the Hale Koa. Our first was right after 9/11, when the grounds were guarded by armed soliders. This is has got to be the best bet on all of Waikiki. It is quiet and peaceful, but if it want a little bit of the excitement and nightlife of Waikiki, it is just a short walk away. You could spend your whole vacation and never leave the property.

We did all our shopping at the PX. We ate most of our meals at KoKo's and Biba's but their odd hours didn't always work with our schedule. We took a walk to Moose Magillicuddy's and had a great cheap breakfast. They gave their 2 for 1 deal eventhough we didn't have the coupon and then sent us home with a stack of them for the rest of our trip. We didn't discover the beach elevator in Ilima tower until our last day and that would have made a nice short cut to the pool and beach.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jobiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2009

If you use your credit card at the Hale Koa, they will "pad" your credit card with a 20% tip, irrelevent of whether you tipped or not. I spoke to a very rude accounting section, who shouted at me when I questioned my increased total from the bar. They said it is commonplace, but Visa actually advises against the padding. So beware...if you authorize a $100 bill on your credit card, Hale Koa will take $120 from you without you being aware of it. They say it is temporary, but that remains to be seen. It is still unethical in my eyes for them to take money that I never authorized and contrary to their "story", they can stop the padding from occurring.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Justcruizin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at the Hale Koa because my husband was in Oahu to work for 3 weeks. I was just tagging along for some R & R. This was our third time to stay here. We absolutely love this hotel. Our rooms have always been clean, comfortable and nice. We have had ocean view, partial ocean view, and this last time was a corner room with a view of the city. It had amazing, large windows........the view in the daytime was beautiful. The nightime view was even more spectacular because of the city lights. We spent some time sitting on the balcony enjoying it. Yes, the construction was annoying but it is necessary in order to make the hotel even better! Every hotel at some time or another will undergo renovations. When you consider all the extras....like restaurants, Px, on the beach, within walking distance of alot of things, price, etc., it's really worth enduring the construction.
The only complaint we had was the Luau. We took our daughters to it three years ago. We were eager to attend it again this time. Afterwards, we were disappointed. It was identical to the show we saw three years ago. We thought they would have changed it up some in that amount of time. We won't be wasting our money on it again in the future.
We are looking forward to our next visit hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ticketsinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I stayed at this resort property approximately 5 months ago. At that time I was very pleased with the accomodations and their amentities and have been in previous visits to the hotel. However, my recent stay did not mirror my September 2008 stay. The property seemed more like a 1970s or 1980s resort. Policies in regards to telephone and computer usage seemed outdated . Much like I encountered years ago at Holiday Inn / Ramada genre hotels. The lobby wasn't equipped with compilmentary WiFi. The food was to say the least edible. We quit eating at Bibas and Koko's after a few days. The former restaurant's dining was uninspired with their entrees bland and almost absent of flavor. The value of the dinner was missing The latter restaurant 's menu was confusing with a menu consisting of a breakfeast buffet for $13.95. The customer base appeared to consist of older 65+ people who probably had fairly light eating habits. Very puzzling! They did have a menu of pick 2 or 3 breakfeast items. 2 eggs counted as 2 items, the potatoes and meat were extra and the toast was optional at $1.00. The Barefoot Bar is overpriced and the drinks are weak even for Oahu. I've had a better drink poured at the Prince and the Royal Hawaiian beach bars. Its not the price I am complaining about. That is incidental. The downgrading of services at this hotel is apparent. The place needs a rehab in a big way. My rating would have been lower abet the presence of an excellent staff saddled with an outdated facility. Maybe DoD should sell off a part of Derussy to a developer to enhance those non-appropriated funds.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Surfside10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Great Hotel for Military family's with Kids, because they are every where doing the summer months, as I have stayed here several times the winter time is best for couples or singles.The grounds are very nice with a lot of room, however the atmosphere at the Restaurant and magic show is lacking and much better at other hotels. If you like the feeling of being with other Military families this is the place for you, but for a more international feel, Honey Moons or other special occasions if priced the same I would use another 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rolo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Considering price and location along with amenities and the view, I don't believe you can get a better deal in Honolulu. We had an ocean view room in the Ilima tower (renovated 9th floor) and had areally lovely view of the ocean. As others have said the grounds are lovely- better than the really expensive hotels and having Fort DeRussey next door with its extensive park is a real plus. Renovations can be a bother. The snack bar was closed but they set up an outside station to get some items and had more selection at the pool snack bar. It was a quite acceptable alternative. As others have mentioned, on days when the rennovators are working getting an elevator in the Ilima wing can be a problem. Construction noise never bothered us although they were working a floor above us.. Check-in was very smooth. I wish they had more information on bus schedules at the hotel and how to get around without a car. There are wahers and driers on every floor of the refurbished wing; they are clean and reasonable. The PX is very extensive; Bibas was fine for a casual dinner. We already have reservations for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Proviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Stayed at the Hale Koa with boyfriend who is retired Marine and had been stationed in Hawaii while active duty. The property is beautiful and was well decorated for the Christmas holiday. We found the staff to be most helpful. The Business Center was a wonderful option to handle work requests and e-mail.

NOTE: Request to stay in the Ilima Tower. The renovated rooms are excellent. Originally in Maile Tower and was so disappointed in the drab, outdated "beach bamboo/wicker" look that we immediately changed rooms. We heard no noise over the weekend, but we did encounter elevator problems.

The PX is great for cheap gifts. You cannot beat the Hale Koa's location and parking. Ate that Wailana daily for breakfast (quick, cheap and good food).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank twatkins1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,934 reviews
1 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,749 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
0.3 mi away
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $74 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing