We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location!!”
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My family of 6 (4 adults, 2 small children) stayed at the Hale Koa for one week in February. Our room was on the 7th floor of the Ilima Tower and had a nice partial ocean view and lanai.The hotel itself is a wonderful property. I don't even know where to start! The rooms and grounds are immaculate, and there are plenty of amenities for guests at the best value you can find in Waikiki. The lobby is very large and opens up to a beautiful banyan tree in the center with a grand staircase that leads to the beach level. The pool area is fantastic, with a larger pool and toddler pool for the little ones. Also at the pool is a nice snack bar with lots of variety. As for the beach, I believe it's the best stretch of beach in Waikiki. It doesn't get crowded at all! Hilton Hawaiian Village is also less than a hundred steps away. The barefoot bar right on the beach also has live music every night, and drinks there cost about half of what they are at other hotels and restaurants. Another thing my family loved were the toddler playground and picnic areas on the property. It was a great place to relax in between being in our rooms and sightseeing.

If you want to venture off the property and head to Kalakaua Ave., the walk is only 10 mins. There is a shortcut through the grounds of the hotel into Fort DeRussy that makes the walk a breeze! Parking is across the street from the hotel and is only $7 a day, you can't find anything better than that!

As for the luau, it was one of the best luaus we've ever been to. We booked our tickets early and so our family occupied the entire table closest to the stage! The delicious food was served by plate (no buffet!) and the entertainment was amazing. We especially loved the fire dancer! They also pay a lot of tribute to those who served in the armed forces, of course. Which is an extra touch that makes this luau better than the others.

As for food, we ate breakfast at Koko Cafe almost every morning (full breakfast buffet with belgian waffles and omelette station). Definitely not bad for only $13 per adult. For dinner, we did try Bibas, and enjoyed our food and service. Each day, we also bought snacks, water and milk at the BX downstairs. They have a little bit of everything there!

In summary, you can't go wrong with the Hale Koa hotel. It definitely is an honor to be able to stay there and be amongst other military families. The Hale Koa is our home on Oahu and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank misseljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    555
    119
    37
    21
See reviews for
711
743
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our stay at the Hale Koa was great! The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Because the grounds are so expansive, it was nice to look out our window and not see another hotel just a few feet away; we could look down and see the trees and grass that are part of the grounds. We liked being so close to the beach! The pools were both nice and provided fresh towels. We enjoyed eating at both restaurants, and wished Bibas would be open for lunch as well as dinner. We will definitely go back to the Hale Koa in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blynnsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and we LOVED it! The people were very nice and the hotel was clean! I also would say that since we were staying in a room facing the city I would have thought it would be noisy, no way it was quite!

I also loved thst the hotel was right on the beach and if you wanted to walk you didn't have to walk on the sidewalk we walked right on the beach and it was great !

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but we went to breakfast at the buffet they had it and it was very good and enjoyed it !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krispatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

i'll keep it short and sweet.
please read the recommendations, worth while!!!!!!


Pros
price
beautiful grounds
military discount on rental equipment
close to waikiki main strip (my 24wk pregnant wife didn't mind the walk)
gave us an upgrade (on availability I'm sure)
fridge under sink
free wifi
on the beach
snorkeled just offshore saw a few fish and 16" squid (cool!)
Navy Exchange down below


Cons
continental breakfast required sitting through advertising seminar
microwave down the hall by the ice machine
noticed faint urine smell on our 2nd and last day (open door aired it out)


Recommend - with some hints to help / some related to having a rental car

Dukes on Waikiki- breakfast buffet (dinner: recommended 1hr wait or reservations)
Poke - (poe-kei) its marinated raw fish served like salad with rice


driving destinations

all beaches are public property
- parking can be found by fences in neighborhood roads
- be mindful of homes
- beach access "alleys" are between homes
Ko Olina (West Shore)
- resort but the lagoons are for public
- beach umbrellas are not allowed
- cots are available but limited
- food and shaved ice are nearby
- Mountain Magic shaved ice is within driving distance (huge portions)
Haliewa (North Shore)
- Matsumoto Shaved Ice - get it with ice cream or condensed milk (life changing)
- further north is turtle bay(occasional turtles),
- further north is sharks reef (snorkeling - not killer sharks, nice ones)
Hanauma Bay (Southeast Shore )
- BEST SNORKELLING!!!!!!!! open from 6AM - 6PM closed tuesdays
- parking is limited and packed around 10AM to 12PM
- don't park at the Koko Head lookout nearby - cops ticket frequently
- drive down the hill on the town side and park in the nearest street
- 15min walk in the sun to the ticket booth, but not bad (with 24wk pregnant wife)
Lanikai (East Shore)
- white powdered sugar sand like in the movies (natural too!)
- more private than Waikiki, but not secluded
- some snorkeling is good (so we heard)
- next to Kailua beach which is more known but not as pretty
- no bathrooms
- no food near beach
- great for lounging


hope this was helpful!!!!!

Room Tip: partial ocean may just mean "view from balcony"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jordanadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Loved the central area and the beach so right there! Was very surprised that it was Army run-wink! I thought that I was in an Air Force base!
Staff were very professional and friendly.
I stayed at the garden, partial ocean view-if any openings for the ocean view- take it! The balcony was unnecessary as the noise from the airconditioning unit was loud-but no worries-enjoy the view instead!

Room Tip: Avoid the garden view-airconditioning unit is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4msdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complain about other than my 8 year old not being able to swim in the "big" pool without actually being in the pool with her...even though she was taller than the water line. Rooms great. Great food. Shopping all day with a variety of places to go nearby :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ilinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm from Hawaii but live in Chicago now. We visit Hawaii every year to visit my family. My husband and I always take a few days away by ourselves just to stay at the Hale Koa. We can't say enough about this beautiful property! It's located right on the beach and has an expansive beach and park area with Fort DeRussey. There's also a good Army museum next door. We make sure to include a Friday night in our stay so we can sit on the lanai to watch the Hilton's fireworks show. (Tip: Make sure to ask if you can see this from your room.) There is absolutely nothing like the Hale Koa in Waikiki!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauljen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing