We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hale Koa”
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Elk Grove, CA
15
Reviewed April 15, 2004

We were at the Hale Koa from 3/30-4/6 of this year. We loved it...the rooms were clean, the grounds and service suberb, the food excellent...and yes, to answer another review, we had a refrigerator in our room. The room service was not any more expensive than going to the restaurants, the snack bar was cheap, I don't understand why someone would miss a microwave. It is a vacation !!! My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer, and that is our fault. After walking along the beach and seeing the beach and pool areas of the the other hotels, I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Hale Koa.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Hale Koa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,940 - 1,946 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2004

My Son is with the Blackhawk & Apache helicopters stationed at Wheeler AAF Base. He was being deployed to Afganistan the week after my visit. We were so lucky to get an Oceanview room and experience the Hale Koa. The rooms, food, service and grounds were far above our expectations It made the room bill a super bargain. We plan on going back upon his return and give the Hale Koa the highest possible review.

8  Thank gilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans , La
14
Reviewed April 10, 2004

I read criticism about no refrigerators , everytime I have been there I had a small one . We would keep milk and drinks in it , the snack-bar is cheap ( $2 -$3 a person ) and you can have a complete dinner in one of the restaurants for under $ 10. a person .The staff is great , the rooms are great and VERY cheap and I cannot wait to visit again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2004

Sure there's lots of nice things about the Hale Koa, but I found it very inconvenient not to have a refrigerator, a coffee maker, or a microwave in the room. IN some rooms there is a tiny mini-bar, but that is too small to fit other food items or larger drinks in.

It seems that they're trying to encourage people to order room service or go to their restaurants. This is annoying and expensive So many other tourist hotels offer these amenities that I feel a bit cheated when staying at the Hale Koa.

    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TraciMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
15
Reviewed April 2, 2004

I have stayed at the Hale Koa hotel 4 times, coming up on my 5th. If you are eligible (Armed Forces Retiree or current member) then consider no other place on the island. The staff is top drawer and the facilities excellent.

Ken

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2004

the hale koa for about 24 years has been our paradice we watched it grow each year with much elation we were part of a the greatest gathering of our countrys citizens.and true friends who looked forward to gathering together as family who gave there best for there fellow man and country.the personnel that take care of us are the greatest they to are hale koa family me and my late wife joann thank all the friends friends we made in those years bessie your desk people are the greatest you run a 4.o plus hotel .i hope to return and relive those memories again soon .it may not be the same but i will be with family

3  Thank august a galant... g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fayetteville, Ga
11
Reviewed March 23, 2004

My husband was stationed at Schofield Barracks, many years ago, we stayed at the Hale Koa many times and attended many functions there, we always took our vistors there for the luau, brunches, holidays. it truly was a wonderful hotel. The children are grown now and 2 years ago, my husband and I returned for a visit and stayed at our favorite hotel and Island, well this year we are taking our son and his wife to oahu and the Hale Koa, we would'nt stay anywhere else. It is a beautiful hotel, and so much has remained the same as it was our first visit in 1986, the things that changed have made the hotel even more inviting. Of course we love oahu and are looking forward to our next vist in July 2004.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $74 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing