We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Loved it. Spent 5 days there and everything was great. First time in Honolulu and at that hotel. Strongly recommend. Great deal for your money. Service, food, was great. Right on the beach. Had everything there for you

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Absolutely gorgeous!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    561
    124
    37
    21
See reviews for
730
753
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved it! Spent 10 days and only disappointment was no smoking at an outdoor bar. Good restaurants at great prices! Right on the beach and had two pools also! Service was great, and liked having washers and dryers on each floor. Definitely returning!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great price for the location, atmosphere, restaurants, room and ammenities!! Primarily for military/DOD personnel, you get a great deal for what you get. Great workout gym, small exchange that has everything you would need! Great hotel restaurants and bars including bar on the beach! Hard part is getting a reservation. If you know in well in advance, make your reservation early!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dualcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed at hotels all over the world. This is my all time favorite next to the Marriott in Hong Kong. Amazing location, very nice rooms at a really good price. If your military, and you go to Hawaii, this is the place to stay, I wouldn't even consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcphink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I made reservations at the Hale Koa 365 days before our visit to Hawaii - and booked a Deluxe Oceanview Room on the end of the building for a week. We ended up in the older building on the 8th floor with a perfect view of the beach and surrounding area.

The room was perfect, we had a great view from the full wall window overlooking the beach area, and we had a lanai to sit on and read a book and sip wine in our minimal downtime.

We were impressed by the staff every where we went. Check in (and out) was a breeze. The facilities are outstanding and there just aren't words to describe the gardens and the landscape let alone the best stretch of beach on the island.

We went to the Thursday night Luau that was quite a treat and shouldn't be missed. But keep in mind that the time they list is when they open the gate to the area, you can't get to your table for another hour. No sense getting in line a half hour early (like a good military person) - just show up some time after they open the gate.

We had breakfast and dinner at the various restaurants and enjoyed them all - and since you are paying military prices (no taxes) every meal is a bargain.

The Exchange saves you a lot - and they have a package store in the exchange!

We had always heard great things about the Hale Koa - now we've experienced them!

Room Tip: Since you can only select the type of room, not a location it's pretty much a crap shoot. I boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MostlyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This review is not for the general public because they cannot stay here. This resort/hotel is only for a select client of military personnel (Active duty, reserves, retirees and a very few others). It's right on prime Waikiki Beach real estate. It features several restaurants and bars as well as clean, comfortable rooms. The shower flow was excellent! While we were there they were in the process of replacing all the matresses on our floor which was a vast improvement. Fortunately we only had to sleep on the old matress one night. This a great place to relax with frequent entertainment - Luau, Magic Show, etc. It has a couple pools (Adults only and one for families), a nicely stocked PX with adult beverages and almost everything you might need during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great stay at the Hale Koa! The deluxe oceanfront room was superb, and the hotel amenities were outstanding. Was convenient having the mini-shoppette downstairs, and laundry facilities on each floor. The restaurants were really good, and you cannot say anything less than "wow" when you walk out the back of the hotel onto Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe oceanfront rooms; you will NOT get a better value in Honolulu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scharven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing