We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be a better place to stay in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Couldn't be a better place to stay in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

One does have to have a military or government civilian ID, but there is absolutely no better hotel in Waikiki. The accomodations are great, the food is excellent, and transportation is close.
There is no room service but everything is within walking distance, and they do have a microwave on each floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    547
    117
    37
    21
See reviews for
685
727
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

For those of you in the military or who have a military ID, the Hale Koa Hotel is a great place to stay while on Oahu. My travelling companion had the credentials, so we stayed 3 nights there and loved it. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room on the 12th floor and what a view! We watched boats, ships, surfers and palm trees swaying on Waikiki Beach. It had 5 restaurants, a sports bar, snack bars, beach bar, fitness center, park, beautiful landscaping and in a very convenient location to shopping and other hotels. Steps from the beach and beautiful sunsets, we watched fireworks on the beach and a luau at the Royal Hawaiian Village next door. Diamond Head loomed closeby and provided a great backdrop for photos. We stayed here before and after our Pride of America cruise and loved every minute.

Room Tip: You want an oceanview at least - don't miss one minute of the "5 shades of blue" ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eventgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

No B.O.A. on island. Leave Beach towels at home as there provided. Bring mask and snorkel but fins are to bulky. When you are getting tour tickets go to the Hickam AFB MWR Office and try to get there when they open. Take the bus or cab if you like. After that go to commisary and stock up on food items you need for your stay. If military you will get a much better deal than the tour place at the hotel which is not a part of MWR/ITT. The Luau was great but unorganized at first.Found Bed to be very hard. If you rent a car get the one with GPS. Traffic in Honolulu was very bad but once you got out of it good to go. BX was great. Majic and Comedy Show a must. Cultur Center tour good but a all day event if you go. Staff and location awsume. Army museum next door outstanding. We were there 10 days celebrating our 20 year anniversary. Make sure to have lots of kleenex handy when you check out. FANTACSTIC!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fussa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Situated in direct access with the beach, the hotel offers lounges to rent and two pools, one being an 18+ pool. The luau and other activities were well organized and were good for couples. The gym is small, but has a variety of equipment to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. It is one of the best hotel's that we have stayed in over the years. The entire staff is very gracious and helpful, the hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds absolutely beautiful, the rooms very clean with comfortable beds (Ilima tower) and the view from the 14th floor breath-taking!!! With the exception of 2 meals we ate the majority of our meals in the Koko Cafe.
To be able to sit out on the lan'i while eating breakfast and looking out over the grounds and glimpses of the ocean - there's no better way to start the day. The Champagne Brunch is over the top and worth going to. So much food, it's unbelieveable. But the most enjoyable is the Luau - it's absolutely fantastic and not to be missed.
I cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Request a room above the 10th floor for a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took this trip in January and we cannot wait to go back. The employees are friendly, professional and helpful in every way. The lobby is beautiful, the pools are clean and the beach is right there. We ate dinner in 2 of the on site restaurants. the wait staff was very friendly and the food was good. My husband enjoyed being the youngest retiree in the bar during happy hour.

The Hale Koa Luau is said to be the best on the island. it was our first luau so I cannot say for sure but I know we had a wonderful time. The only problem with the luau was they wanted you to eat really fast. I suppose the show cannot really start until dinner is over but it was too rushed.

The room rates are according to your military rank. I have no problem with that but maybe the next time we visit we will let my brother-in-law sponsor us since room rate was $30 less per night.

If you are eligible to stay at the Hale Koa I suggest you jump on it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45mphk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a great afternoon visit to the Hale Koa. Visited with my military daughter and son in law. FANTASTIC resort. The pool is clean, well cared for, grounds are GORGEOUS. Direct access to the beach and ocean. LOTS of water sports. Areas with shade and sun. Food near the pool. Cant say enough about our great visit!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing