We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Ewa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ewa Hotel
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for our spring break trip in Honolulu. The room we were originally checked in was decent but old. There were bugs in the room and our toilet ended up cracking. The maintenance man that looked into our broken toilet was incredibly nice and friendly; also, he was able to move us into another room. At the front desk, they ended up upgrading us to a 1 bedroom suite which was amazing. Everyone at the hotel provided outstanding service but Etsu and Brandon were the two front desk agents who really went above and beyond with helping us. The location of the hotel was very ideal also.

Room Tip: Room 713 was a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha piarod,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay here at EWA Hotel Waikiki. I'll definitely be sure to pass on your great comments about Etsu and Brandon and I am sure they will be happy to know they've made you happy. Please make sure to call us directly at (808) 922-1677 should your travels bring you back here to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    176
    135
    25
    35
See reviews for
89
135
99
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

To be fair this was our last stop on the way home from a 6 week holiday and I have to say I was totally disappointed. the photos did not represent what the room was like. The lobby was beautiful but the room was not maintained very well. the whole room was outdated and in bad repair. we complained but no other rooms were available. whilst we were complaining several other couples were also complaining about the same thing. the only pro is the location. wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debbie1961255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Aloha debbie1961255068,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I apologize for the state of your room. We are currently refurbishing our rooms to make it more comfortable and appealing for our guests and I do hope that you afford us another chance in the future when we've completed this project.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a small hotel at the far end of the touristic strip in Waikiki, one block from the zoo. The hotel itself is modest and non pretentious, but if you are on a budget and want to be conveniently located for the attractions, shopping and the beach, this is it.
You can take the bus from the airport and it will drop you one block from the hotel in Kuhoi. If you want to save in food, the rooms (not sure if all) have kitchenettes, you can buy groceries in the Food Pantry a few blocks on Kuhoi. There's also ABC convenience stores everywhere, but the Food Pantry is a full supermarket.
Staff were prompt at attending to a problem in our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nopar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Aloha nopar65,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location as we are definitely close to everything - the bus stop, the beach, shops, the Zoo, Kapiolani Park, to name a few. Our staff is definitely an asset to our Lite Hotel and are very responsive to our guests' needs. We hope to welcome you back to the EWA Hotel Waikiki in the near future. Please call us directly at 808-922-1677.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me, my husband and 5 other members of our family stayed here,,,it was reasonably priced,,, within walking distance to Waikiki Beach, shopping and restaurants,,,the staff from the front desk employees to the cleaning people were extremely friendly and did everything they could to make sure our visit was an enjoyable one,,,it may not be a real fancy hotel but their rooms were clean and their beds were super comfortable,,,and the service was great!!

Room Tip: If you check in and you're not satisfied with your room they will do whatever they can to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsjones4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Aloha Mrsjones4746,

Thank you for your review of EWA Hotel Waikiki. I am very delighted to hear that you found our hotel nice and our staff friendly. Should your travel bring you back to Hawaii, please do not hesitate to call us directly at 808-922-1677. Thank you!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been to Waikiki many times, stayed at many hotels but if you want service with a smile from genuinely nice people then you must stay here.
Most Hawaiian people are friendly and polite but the guys at EWA are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble, during our stay we celebrated my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary and Etsu, Brandon and John on the front desk made sure we had a great time staying with them.
We had a room with a small kitchenette, very useful especially for long stays if you do not want to eat out constantly, we also had a lanai that afforded us views of Diamond Head.
EWA is in a quiet road, neighbouring hotels front onto Kuhio which is noisy at the best of times, Cartwright is the opposite. The EWA is a small to medium size, low rise hotel, it has everything you need and is only a few hundred yards from the beach.
There is a programme of improvement currently under way but I doubt that It will take away the character of the hotel, we have stayed here 3 times now and will keep coming back, EWA strikes the right balance of comfort, convenience and affordability that we look for in a Hawaiian hotel and perhaps just as important, to us at least, when you check in here you know you are back in a Hawaii.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank F1kwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha F1kwa,

Mahalo Nui Loa for your great review of EWA Hotel Waikiki. I share all the reviews to the staff and I am sure that Etsu, Jon and Brandon will be happy that you mentioned them specifically. Please make sure to call us directly at 808-922-1677 should you decide to visit us again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Ewa Hotel is a very comfortable hotel which is affordable and service at the 'Front Desk' is the first glimpse of the hospitality and enjoyment to follow with efficiency being at the top of my list.

I arrived here after feeling quite tired after a long day and was very surprised to find the hotel so conveniently located as it was less than a 15 minute trip from the central Bus station.

I slept soundly in the firm, yet comfortable beds and the room was tastefully decorated.

The Buffet was opened at 7 in the morning and being in the restaurant downstairs by the reception was convenient for checkout as the service was polite and I felt at home which is really a positive factor.

I could use my laptop while I waited for breakfast and have had a very enjoyable stay so I shall recommend this hotel as it is really lovely.
The room was clean, the bathroom clean and the whole ambience very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: I asked for a non smoking and quiet room which I received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovely_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha lovely_3,

Thank you so much for the positive review of EWA Hotel Waikiki. I'm a bit confused though as to what breakfast buffet and restaurant you mentioned... Here at EWA Hotel Waikiki, in Honolulu, Hawaii, we actually do not offer any breakfast buffet and do not have any restaurant on property but we are close to a lot of eateries that offer breakfast.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went to Hawaii for the first time for our anniversary. We had a relative recommend this hotel and at first we were skeptical because of the price but we are so happy we tried it! The staff are very friendly, they upgraded our room without us asking which was great! It was a big room, with a kitchenette, flat screen tv, two full beds, couch, etc. We were on the 6th floor and used the washer and dryer just across the hall. The air conditioning was new and worked great, came with a remote control. We walked 3 min down to the Waikiki beach and watched the sunset. There's tons of restaurants and shops, we could walk everywhere including the International Marketplace. Our only complaint was there's no fan in the bathroom. We had a very great experience, much better than we expected and we will be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ssiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha ssiegman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts about the hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we had exceeded your expectations. Please give us a call directly at 808-922-1677 for the next time you decide to visit Waikiki again.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewa Hotel

Property: Ewa Hotel
Address: 2555 Cartwright Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ewa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of Waikiki, Ewa Hotel Waikiki offers affordable, island-style accommodations just steps to Waikiki's diverse activities and entertainment including world-famous Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Honolulu Zoo. This charming hotel features an expansive rooftop sundeck where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or view spectacular Waikiki sunsets. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to the rooms. The Ewa Hotel Pet Policy allows (1) cat or dog per room, daily pet fees apply. With our daily convenience fee for all stays, Ewa Hotel Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy the 24-hour Front Desk, bicycle rack, and surfboard rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewa Hotel Honolulu
Ewa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing