We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable; clean, and accommodating.”
Review of Ewa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ewa Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Ewa. The location is great (about 1.5 blocks from the Ewa beach, in Waikiki) and the service was great. The staff went out of their way to make our stay more pleasant.

Thank you John: Your friendly advice made for an interesting tour of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountainWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha RockyMountainWalrus,

Mahalo for your review and for your shout-out to Jon! I have shared the review with him and our staff and they are very happy to have made your stay memorable. Hope you will visit us again soon!

Thank you!
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Ewa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 476 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Enjoyed 4 nights at this out of the way hotel. I was upgraded to 1 bedroom with living room, really roomy. Dated but clean. Doors were chipped but carpet looked new. Coffee maker, microwave, fridge, sink, and flatware. Balcony with chairs. I never used air con because it was always breezy with sliding glass doors open. No restaurants or store on-site. 2 minute walk to Starbucks on beach, ABC Market at one end of street. Close to bus stops on Kuhio. Overall really liked this place for the price you can't beat location considering its next to more expensive Hilton and Marriott Hotels. Street is quiet more like an alley. Staff was friendly enough, never gave attitude. Bath toiletries are not very good, bring your own soaps, and lotions if you want something more than basic. Tip, if you only have one bag, take the BUS from airport, it's $2.50 take #19 or 20 about 1 hour and last stop on Kuhio, one minute walk to hotel. Also if you plan on using the bus, buy 4 day pass for $25 it beats carrying exact change and let's you go anywhere on island.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha Jim T,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your honest opinion of our bathroom amenities and I will definitely bring it up at our next vendor's meeting and will discuss possible alternatives for the ones we have.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took this hotel not expecting to be in a 5 star establishment and we weren't disappointed. I would rate this as a 3 star hotel, but having said that, our experience was a very happy one. The hotel and rooms are not like in a new hotel but they are clean, comfortable, well appointed and roomy! The staff are helpful and friendly and the position of the hotel is excellent if you want to spend time at the beach. The rates are very reasonable and this will be the hotel of choice for our next visit to Hawaii. We would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget or you aren't looking for the latest and greatest for your accommodation but would prefer to spend your hard earned cash on other things on your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carofil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha carofil,

Thank you for your review. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please know that we are in the process of refreshing our rooms. Please come and visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Outstanding location in waikiki, nearby kapiolani park, wakiki beach, and honolulu zoo areas.

Ewa Hotel front counter staff are very very friendly, helpful and courteous with tourist before, during and after check-in/check-out.

The rooms are like kitchenettes, well equipped with microwaves and coffee makers.

The only negative would be that the filipina maid/s should wait before removing/taking tourist personal property from the room refridgerators, especially when tourist have not even checked-out of the rooms.

Most hotel maids wait until they are notified by hotel front counter guest services staff of check-outs. This could be a serious issue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outer/exterior area of the Ewa hotel are much better for quiet time. There are hawaiia...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fijibowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha fijibowler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at EWA Hotel Waikiki. I apologize for the removal of your food items prior to your official check out. I have shared your review with the Housekeeping Supervisor and the housekeeping staff and please be assured that this will not happen again. Should your travels bring you back to Hawaii, I hope you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent staff and service. Stayed at Ewa with wife and granddaughter so had the two room suite on 7th floor. Came with all we needed....fridge, stovetop, microwave, coffee maker, comfy beds, separate A/C units in bedrooms. Lots of room and so close to the beach!
Can't beat it for the price. Yes, rooms are dated but well maintained and we were there for the beach and not just to stay in the room!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdog1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha billdog1946,

Thank you so much for your review! I honestly love our location as well as we are so close to everything and especially the beach. Please come and visit us and the beach again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's a budget hotel people! Don't expect a Jacuzzi with room service with steak and lobster! Stop grumbling. The room was old fashioned but comfortable. Kudos to the staff, they are all nice. I like the water cooler in the lobby, a nice touch. Location is great: walking distances to the zoo, aquarium, shops and restaurants around every corner. Of course it's close to Waikiki/Kuhio Beach. Elevator slow though. A room away from the elevator, thank goodness. Also got free upgrade from moderate to kitchenette studio. Fabulous! I will return soon! A satisfied tourist!

Room Tip: Like the rest, get a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windward_Sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha Windward_Sky,

I am glad that your stay with us has been fabulous! Please come and stay with us again when you are in need of a stay-cation. Thank you!!!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Front desk employees were all very helpful and friendly. Great price for the location. Walking distance to everything. Rooms are not as new as other more expensive hotels may be, however they are clean. For the amount of time we spent in our room, it was perfect. A clean, quiet place to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha Dawn H,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad to hear that you found our staff very friendly and helpful. EWA Hotel is truly a great value hotel.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
670 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
649 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
503 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
634 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewa Hotel

Address: 2555 Cartwright Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $109 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ewa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of Waikiki, Ewa Hotel Waikiki offers affordable, island-style accommodations just steps to Waikiki's diverse activities and entertainment including world-famous Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Honolulu Zoo. This charming hotel features an expansive rooftop sundeck where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or view spectacular Waikiki sunsets. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to the rooms. The Ewa Hotel Pet Policy allows (1) cat or dog per room, daily pet fees apply. With our daily convenience fee for all stays, Ewa Hotel Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy the 24-hour Front Desk, bicycle rack, and surfboard rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewa Hotel Honolulu
Ewa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing