We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and close to beach.”
Review of Ewa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ewa Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a whole week stay at this hotel in Honolulu. It is in the western side of Waikiki, close to the zoo. My hubby calls it the "back-alley" hotel as the entrance appears to be in an alley...nothing too pretty about it and seems to be in need of some upgrades (wall paper!) but definitely good value. It is very close to the beach, trolley stops for all 3 lines, restaraunts, fast food. Room was very clean and suprisingly pretty big. I was also surprised that it had a mini kichenette with a fridge, stove, sink and even dishes and cutlery! Definitely a place to brings kids. I am a little disappointed that wi-fi is not included...I would have liked it to plan for places to eat and rent a car, etc. Carpet was clean and relatively new, bed was very comfy but the wall paper needs to be replaced. Super friendly staff, who was available 24 hours and very helpful. Nothing fancy like a pool or restaurants or work-out gym but that's how they can keep the place price low. Overall ery positive experience and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Aloha YD01,

Mahalo for your review! We are currently refreshing all of our guest rooms so hopefully when you come back and visit us, we are better and definitely brighter! Aloha again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Ewa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just returned from Honolulu and stayed at the Ewa for the first time. I enjoyed my week stay in September, 2012. The hotel itself is close to the beach for the surfers and swimmers. It is quiet and off the beaten track but close enough to the trolley stop to make it a great location. My room was very clean, but in need of a bit of paint and a door replacement for the bathroom. The hotel location is very quiet, and with the exception of noisy neighbors who I could hear talking clearly through the adjoining room door, until the wee hours one night, I had no complaints about the exterior hotel noise. The housekeeping staff are terrific but they started very early each morning vacuuming, which did not allow for sleeping in, so if you are an early riser, this would not be an issue. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for good value for a nice room with a kitchenette (two burners, a sink & fridge). No microwaves in the room though for reheating. They are available for an additional cost if you request one. The non stick frying pan was pretty rough but otherwise, a good set up. Bring your own spices & condiments, and ziplocks and you'd be good to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Aloha Runbambi,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are actually currently in the process of putting in microwaves in all of our Studio units (microwaves are already standard in our 1-bedroom units) and upgrading our cookwares slowly. Maybe the next time you visit us, this will be done!

I will definitely share your comments with the staff and I am sure they will be delighted!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has the basic amenities that you need and is very close to the ocean. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, taking time to give advice on sightseeing opportunities that went beyond the standard places. While replacing the locks on the doors, they provided security on each floor. They also provided lock boxes for valuables, because the safes in the rooms are to be replaced soon. The hotel posts quiet hours, and I slept very well without interruption or noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Aloha pianist12,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit ot O`ahu and Waikiki. I will definitely share your comments with the staff. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

When I booked this hotel I was promised free upgrade and complimentary breakfast. I never got the upgrade and we ended up with the smallest room next to the elevator. Upon checkin we got a small basket with 1 pot of jam, 2 sunny delight, 1 small pack of instant coffee and armenian bread. The next night we asked for the same thing and were told it is 1 basket per stay. The attendants were mostly rude and didn't care. The internet never worked and the AC is right above the bed and leaked all over the matress....

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Aloha Aleyp58,

Although your review does not speak highly of our property, we thank you for your review. I’m surprised that you found the Guest Service Agents rude and uncaring, as most of our reviews find our staff friendly and accessible. Nonetheless, we have shared your review with our staff to remind them to treat every guest with aloha.

I hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

On very short notice, Ewa management first booked two nights and then five subsequent nights during the busy July 2012 period.. The room was clean and comfortable, with AC and hot water (all I needed). The cleaning staff did wonders and the front desk was very helpful. I had the window open 24/7 on the fifth floor. Mind you, this is in a quiet spot near Kuhio Beach and at those rates, you don't need a five-star box.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank jaxkimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Aloha jaxkimo,

Thank you for your short but sweet review of the property. We appreciate your comments and hopefully you will come and visit us again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelling with two friends so we booked three rooms for 10 days due to location and rates. One room had a blocked toilet which took two days for them to fix. Then the air conditioner began leaking water on to the bed.
I had been promised a room upgrade upon check in yet I ended up with the smallest of the rooms and no balcony.
After spending well over 1,000 each so over $4,000 they then proceeded to charge $20/night for parking and laughed when I complained.
I could not in good conscience recommend this place to anyone. You'd be better off at a backpackers or a hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Aloha Keith T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Although your review did not speak highly of our hotel, I do appreciate you sharing your perspective. Your experience has been shared with our staff to ensure that these type of things do not happen again in the future.

I’m sorry that we fell short of your expectations; I do hope that the rest of your vacation was enjoyable. Though our property did not meet your expectations, Aqua Hotels and Resorts has 21 properties on the 6 major islands of Hawaii. Should your travels return you to Hawaii, I hope you will give us a chance to match you with a property that better suits your needs.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Ewa for 6nights, and had nothing to complain. The hotel are two blocks away from waikiki beach, which takes you no longer than 2 minutes to walk. ABC store not far away so you can buy something to your room. The room are enough placed for two persons. The wall are abit thin so you can hear the neighbours tv and they talking. Other than that we would return, definetly. You are getting the value of your money!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mthuuNor05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Aloha mthuuNor05,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Ewa Hotel Waikiki. I share your delight in the convenience of our location. :-) Hope that you will come and visit us again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
670 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
504 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
634 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewa Hotel

Address: 2555 Cartwright Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $109 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ewa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of Waikiki, Ewa Hotel Waikiki offers affordable, island-style accommodations just steps to Waikiki's diverse activities and entertainment including world-famous Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Honolulu Zoo. This charming hotel features an expansive rooftop sundeck where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or view spectacular Waikiki sunsets. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to the rooms. The Ewa Hotel Pet Policy allows (1) cat or dog per room, daily pet fees apply. With our daily convenience fee for all stays, Ewa Hotel Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy the 24-hour Front Desk, bicycle rack, and surfboard rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewa Hotel Honolulu
Ewa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing