We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$608
$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$208
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$160
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$396
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$243
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,172)
Filter reviews
5,172 results
Traveler rating
2,897
1,628
436
144
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,897
1,628
436
144
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshula grillocean frontdukes restauranthula piewaikiki beachlower lobbypartial ocean viewthe cheesecake factorydiamond head sideoceanfront rooma city view roomthe international marketplaceour honeymoonthe royal hawaiianfantastic locationbell staffnorth shore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,805 - 3,810 of 5,172 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Tried to book room online, but website would not confirm reservation stating that "zip code was incorrect." When I finally spoke to a representative over the phone she said that the room I wanted was sold out. Why couldn't the website just state that? So I requested a room with a king size bed and instead the room had two full size beds pushed together! It's not the size that I'm complaining about, it's the fact that when the two beds are pushed together the lamps that are mounted to the wall are no longer positioned on the side of each bed, but right above. The hotel was VERY lucky that I did not hit my head on it while getting up (otherwise they would have a lawsuit on their hands). And on top of that, only one lamp worked! One bulb was burnt out and the socket was loose (again, the hotel was VERY lucky that a fire didn't start). In addition to this, you can totally feel the gap between the two beds making it an uncomfortable sleeping arrangement. Not only was the bathroom/shower area small, but dangerous as well. The shower curtains were sheen, allowing water to splash on the floor and soak though bathmat that was on the floor. In addition to this the air conditioner dripped water onto the floor over the course of the night creating a puddle (hotel was VERY lucky that I did not slip and fall). Valet employees do not do a good job of directing pedestrian traffic (accidents just waiting to happen) and they even left my boyfriends truck unattended with the keys in the ignition and vehicle running (they said to leave it like that) for over 5 minutes. In Waikiki it's not a matter of IF an unattended vehicle will get stolen, it's WHEN. Not a nice way to spend a birthday weekend. As a resident of Hawaii the quality of this hotel and its staff was poor and does not exemplify the "SPIRIT OF ALOHA" or create a feeling of being in "paradise." It's no wonder why the hotel industry is continuing to suffer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Localg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Localg55,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Birthday weekend with us. We try to accommodate all of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Sometimes due to occupancy we are unable to accommodate all of the guest requests. We do appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience. Mahalo Todd W Guest Services Manager Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I previously stayed next door in a much more expensive hotel, but found myself having breakfast, and cocktails at the Outrigger. The price was very competitive (I did book way in advance) to the special conference rate at another hotel. Love the bar at Duke's. Relaxed, friendly, but attentive service. Nice relaxed fun clientele as well. I will be oging back next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpinJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Aloha SpinJames,

Thank you for letting your fellow travelers know of the great deal you got by choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you got to enjoy Duke’s restaurant which is right on the beach. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays! Todd W Guest Services Manager Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed very shortly at the Outrigger. During our stay the staff were above and beyond friendly and more than helpfull. Our room was clean and had an amazing view. The restaurants in the area were great. We found ourselves eating also at the hotel which had a great selection. We are more than excited about returning to your hotel and enjoying ourselves all over again!!!
I have recommended you to several family and friends, nice job!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Aloha Vacationlover088,

Thank you for such a great review. We would also like to thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to see you in your next heartbeat. Happy Holidays! Todd W Guest Services Manager Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it has never disappointed us!
The staff are very friendly and the service and cleanliness of the rooms is to a very high standard. The beds are extremely comfortable, the buffet breakfast excellent (especially the fabulous omelets cooked by a lovely guy who gave us a flower every day for our hair) and made even better by the fact the tables overlook Waikiki beach, the ambiance was unbeatable. This hotels central location makes it very easy to walk, catch a trolley or bus to anywhere and with Duke's bar downstairs you are right in the middle of all the action. We stayed in the city view room from which we could see the water as well as seeing what was happening in the street and we really enjoyed that aspect. On the negative side it was quite noisy a couple of the nights this time as there is construction work going on next door but we sort of took the Hawaiian favourite saying to heart 'hang loose' and didn't let it bother us too much. We will definitely be back, highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kendoll17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Aloha kendoll17,

Thank you for staying with us again. We are happy to hear that you have had many good experiences every time you come to stay with us. Our location is only going to get better as we have some new vendors coming in to offer even more shopping choices. We hope to see you soon! Happy Holidays! Todd W Guest Services Manager Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I hate that our travel agent did not forewarn us regarding the construction noise....We did not travel to Hawaii to hear piercing backup beepers and loud slamming and banging at 6am in the morning!!! PLEASE if you are staying at this property. CANCEL your reservation and go to another island that does not have construction going on! You will be soo glad you did. Trust Me! I was woken up by the hellish noise an hour a go and decided to warn others so your vacation will not be RUINED.
However, if you are a deep sleeper than the Pros about this property are the friendly waitstaff, the good food at Duke's and the restaurant with a view of the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripchic40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikikinokaoi, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2010

Aloha tripchic40s,
We are happy to hear that the manager on duty was able to help you get situated in a room that was more to your liking. Being that the Outrigger Waikiki is situated between the main thoroughfare of Waikiki (Kalakaua Avenue) and the beautiful Pacific ocean it can sometimes be a bit hectic. We sincerely hope that despite these obstacles you were able to enjoy your trip to Oahu. We are proud to have Duke's restaurant in the Outrigger Waikiki and are happy that you enjoyed their service, food and the fantastic view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews