We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our Hawaii Trip Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made our Hawaii Trip Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

This Hotel is what defines staying in a place called a "home away from home" from the minute the Valets take your car to the Bell hop services (they are the best i have every experienced) to the easy, relaxing ,super friendly registeration personel. you know your entire stay is going to be special and wonderful. the hotel is very clean, open and airy. everyone from the boutique staff to all of the restuarant staff are always fun, pleasant and ready to help. The rooms are awesome and the Housekeeping staff does a top notch job with keeping them that way for your entire stay. Dukes is a great eatery and Jerry at the bar will make you laugh and is always on top of his game. this seems to be the theme through out the whole hotel. we will alwya make the Outrigger waikiki on the Beach our #1 hotel to stay at when staying on the Island of Ohau. One final note. make sure you go and utilize the quest services and tour dseks.. the people there are very knowledgeable and add that much more to your Outrigger stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slick70gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Aloha Slick70gto,

We are so happy that you had a great experience with us. We hope to remain your number one choice year after year. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Mahalo
Todd W.
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,476
    1,495
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,421
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

From the moment of arrival in the lobby to hesitantly leaving early in the morning on departure day, I experienced nothing less than world class service. Every single aspect of my stay and the service I received complemented my stay in paradise.

Always friendly staff willing to help and accommodate my needs. Beautiful room with ample space to "make home" for my 10-day stay. Gorgeous peek-a-boo-view of the ocean even though I was not staying in a "view" room. Very clean room with lovely bath products. You literally step onto the beach just by exiting the hotel. I will gladly stay here again and highly recommend the Waikiki Outrigger on the Beach to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeAway57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha TakeMeAway57,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our services and amenities during your stay. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. The staff is very friendly. You must go to Duke's on sunday for Henry Kapono, great time. Like spring break for older folks. The only concern with the hotel is the lack of sound proofing in the rooms. Noise from other rooms is very evident. Overall great hotel and location for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha runrs,

We are glad you were able to enjoy Mr. Kapono. He is a musical legend here in the islands. Thank you for letting our future guests know what to enjoy during their stay. We hope to see you again.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I were drawn to the fact that at the time we booked our vacation (in January), the Outrigger Beachcomber had the most affordable rates. We also were recommended by family friends who visited the property several years previous and they said the hotel was lovely. The fact that this hotel was located right on the beach was a selling point; no need to pack flip flops!

Yes, the hotel lobby is lovely and so is the location. The rest is a different story.

The first room we had was on the highest, 16th floor on the corner (near the service elevator and staircase) and right below the gym. We specifically requested a quiet room away from the elevator at the time of booking and in addition, I called them the day before arrival to confirm, we still received this room because we arrived at the hotel as a late check in. Despite the hotel's signs stating to gym patrons not to drop weights, there were some guests who would repeatedly do so in the middle of the night (2am to 3am). The room layout was also horrible for this room: you can't open the door fully because the door hits the bed but there was this outrageous amount of space dedicated to the sofa and living area. Further, the door for this particular room let in light from the hallway and since the bed faced the door, the light shone right in your eyes. So imagine this, you are trying to sleep and you hear someone dropping weights right above you and the light from the hallway shines in your eyes; is it worth the expensive rack rate you paid??

So we requested a room change after one night and met Sharon at front desk. Sharon either had a bad week or she should consider working in a different industry. The so called service we received from Sharon was one of indifference. She couldn't have cared less. She told us that there isn't any availability and for us to keep checking back each morning. Our luck would have it, she was on duty the next day and repeated the same line "no availability". It wasn't until day 4 into our 8 day stay that we managed to move to a different room.

We looked into 4 different rooms: 3 of which smelled like cigarettes (even though the hotel firmly insisted that they have a no-smoking policy) and all the rooms had chipped bathtubs. Are 4 star hotels supposed to have chipped bathtubs? So we settled for the last room which smelled decent but came with a chipped bathtub.

Then we discover the neighbours next door who was adjoined by a door (parent/kid rooms). The family that stayed there was extremely noisy and had other family members who went in and out constantly. Luckily, they quieted down at night time but I'm not quite sure why the hotel wouldn't have put the families next to each other.

The saving grace of this hotel was the location. The sand outside the hotel was the best and it was nice that we didn't have carry more than our snorkeling gear to swim in the waters. It is also across the street from International Village and there are great shopping to be had by the hotel, and close to the Cheesecake Factory. The hotel also offered some interesting activities such as lei making, which was pretty well attended and a vow renewal ceremony (held at Outrigger Reef) which was complimentary to guests of Outrigger.

We also ate at Duke's and Hula Grill; Duke's served average food (slow at lunchtime) but Hula Grill was quite pleasant. One particular dish that stood out at Hula Grill was the Loco Moco which was served with the mushroom gravy. Definitely delicious!

We also used the gym on the 17th floor which had a good view of the ocean if you were on the elliptical machine and there are two TVs to catch up on news/tv shows while you worked out.

The Outrigger Waikiki is in definite need of a renovation as the decor looks tired. I presume other guests of Outrigger Waikiki stay here because of the location. My recommendation is pay a little more and stay at Outrigger Reef (sister property and recently renovated), Royal Hawaiian, Halekulani, or Moana Surfrider. Otherwise, save yourself some money and stay across the street at Ohana Beachcomber (which was recently renovated).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholicinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha Shopaholicinvan,

We apologize for the service you received when you stayed with us. We are currently replacing our TVs with LCD and will be completed by December. We are happy that there were many things that made your hotel stay pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve for our future guests.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Having read previous reviews on this hotel I have to say I agree with some comments. The main public areas are lovely and the location great, right on the beach with the international market place and wide selection of shops on its doorstep. The room was ok a bit tired looking in places but the bed was comfy and it was very clean. We had a room on the 6th floor with a partial ocean view its just a shame you cant sit on the balcony or have the door open as it is too noisy (due to the air conditioning units on the roof of the hotel next door). I appreciated thought that the hotel cant do anything about this, and we had the air con on when we were in the room. Also as previous guests have noticed you can hear the adjacent rooms toilet flushing etc and people in the corridoor.
The hotel has a lovely pool and 2 sun decks were you can get a sunlounger and enjoy the beach and view. There are 3 resturants / bars and they all serve a similar menu, great food and service. The staff are all friendly and we especially enjoyed Dukes.
Overall I would probably stay here again as the location made up for any short comings in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha Sunsw1978

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of changing out our comforters, TVs and drapery. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services during your stay. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

When we arrived the bell service staff took care of our luggage immediately. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. He offered us an upgrade special which was an ocean front room. We took it. The room was awesome!! We had a full view of Waikiki Beach. Our bags arrived in our room 5 mins after us. So efficient.
The room had a whirlpool tub with a full shower. Kingsize bed and a view to die for.
We were on the 16th floor. Elevator service was great. The service throughout our stay was
excellent. We had free breakfast with our room and the 3rd night free. We ate at the breakfast buffet at Duke's and one morning we were leaving for a tour at 6:15am so we used the coffee shop for a quick breakfast. They open at 5am. The coffee shop and
the rest of the restaurant in the hotel accepted the tickets for the free breakfasts.
So convenient. The hotel is also centrally located. Right across the street is International Market. The concierge helped us with what bus to take to get to Diamond Head. So easy. Don't forget to get the transfer slip for the way back.
My husband is not a bus person but he found this so easy to do.
We had such a great stay here that I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livinglifeover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha Livinglifeover50,

We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our upgrade special. Our location is very convenient with all the shopping and shuttles within walking distance. We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

I had read a LOT of reviews on the hotel we chose for our 9 night honeymoon in Oahu. we ummed and ahhd about staying next door at the Moana Surfrider - and are very glad we stayed at the Outrigger, because it was everything we wanted, and taking into consideration some of the negative feedback from other posters (but all helpful) we were pleasantly surprised.
when we arrived, I was not in the best of moods as the airlines had lost my luggage and I had absolutely nothing with me.(NOT ideal on a honeymoon!) but the front desk people were lovely (esp Jaimee & Pam!). We were booked into a partial ocean view (5th floor) but the lady offered us a room on the 14th floor if we waited a few hours - well worth the wait, room 1402 was fantastic.
When we got inside, (after a delicous fish & salad meal at Dukes) the room was cool and immaculately clean. the bathroom was big enough and there were lots of large towels (which Im a stickler for). the bed was comfortable, there was room for suitcases, and while the lanai (balcony) was pretty tiny - hey, thats all you need when there are only 2 of you. the view / sound of the ocean outside was amazing.
My bag arrived on day 2, around 4pm, the bell services were great about letting us know right away, so big relief there!

We never had any issues with thin walls, noise from air con, adjoining hotel noise etc.
beware of: sort of slow lifts. Didnt really bother us. The pay tv is really pricy - $16.99 plus tax for a dvd I think. The internet price is ok. Pai's deli was fantastic, we used it several times. The pool is small-ish, but deep and nice, we always got a chair also.

Dukes is so good! the staff are lovely and earn their tips everytime. If you dont reserve a dinner table, yes you will usually wait. But so what? we had a drink at the bar, or a quick walk on the beach to pass the time. (IF you have any room after your meal, you should try to Hula Pie - but it is big enough for 4 people!!) yummo!

Highly recommend: North Shore Shark Adventures - something you wont forget. Wet N Wild was good, as was Ala Moana Shopping Centre for lots of souvenir shopping.
The cheesecake factory!! amazing value for money, but beware - go with an appetite, and dont expect to get a table for dinner anytime between 6-830pm. massive rush of diners, so keep in mind and prepare for a wait for about 50 mins, but its worth it!

If we could, Outrigger Waikiki would be re-visited every year. but that is wishful thinking. But I will have our amazing memories! Mahalo, Julie & Michael.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules4Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Aloha Jules4Mick,

Thank you for such a great review. We will be sure to thank Pam and Jaymee for making you feel welcomed. We are happy that you choose us for your honeymoon. Congratulations! We hope that all your wishes come true and you can come back to stay with us again.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Service Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing