We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accommodations and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodations and location!”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Excellent accommodations with all the amenities--sooo comfortable--and right on the beach between The Royal Hawaiian and Westin. Watch the sunsets and surfers from your room and enjoy the delicious food and entertainment in the hotel restaurants, Hula Grill and Dukes, in the open air beachfront setting. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. You can easily walk to popular shops without need of a car or public transportation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Aloha Cathleen60,

Thank you for writing a great review. We are glad you got to experience the sunsets from your room. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next vacation.

Mahalo,

Todd W.
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    1,520
    401
    133
    59
See reviews for
1,453
2,057
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
turrnersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel in general is great. The location is excellent, well within walking distance of many other ammenities. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Overall staff is extremely courteous and friendly. The only black eye to our trip was the activites desk. Our experience was that they will go out of their way to assure that they book you for every excursion that you may be interseted in. They are knowledgable about the trips themselves, but what they do not tell you is that these trip are only enjoyable IF YOU CAN GET TO THEM. The transportation to and from these events leaves much to be desired. Quite a few are staffed by personnel who have limited english language skills and could really care less that they do or do not. We booked (4) activities upon arrival. The first two were disasters as we were robbed of over an hours time at Pearlk Harbor due to the bus arriving late. The second ended with me fighting with the activities desk a 1/2 hour before our dinner cruise was set to sail again due to no transporation arriving at the pick up spot desnigated (We later found out from another couple that the bus was actually a block away from where we were told to be but never walked down to our location. We took a cab for an extra $20 and just made the sailing. After the 3rd. never arrived to pick us up for a sunset fireworks cruise we gave up and cancelled it and the rest (This too was a disaster as the rep (RON) was more interested in trying to pawn us off on the next shift while all the while acting totally unconcerned which further infuriorated us.). Lastly, be prepared to spend allot of money if you have a late departure from the island. By checking out at noon, you basically have two choices. Either have the hotel hold your luggage and take a "community" shower and repack your luggage on the hotel lobby floor, or pay $25 per hour to reserve a room in which to get freshened up before your trip home. Our choice unfortunately was to cough up an additional $150 for this room. This hotel should really offer more of a coutresy charge of MAYBE $50 - $75 TOPS for this service to existing registered guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuntav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Aloha tuntav,

Thank you for letting us know about the activities desk. We have brought your letter to their management’s attention. We apologize that it affected your stay.
As for your comment regarding extending your check out time, we do charge $25 an hour past 12 pm. We also provide private guest room for our departing guests to freshen up and shower before their flight home.


Mahalo,

Todd W.
Guest Sevices Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

What a fantastic hotel! We arrived late at night after a long flight and to our surprise we had been upgraded to an Ocean Front room - fantastic! What a way to start our first holiday in Hawaii. Loved the view and the atmosphere when you opened the doors to the ocean. I got to view my first ever sunset over the ocean from our room - amazing. The hotel facilities were great, loved the pool area and access right onto the beach. The area felt safe at night. Both restaurants were great - loved the chicken at Dukes, not to mention the Hula Pie - you must try it if you love Macadamia Nuts, chocolate and ice cream - yum! Also the fresh pineapple at breakfast - the best way to start the day. Thank you Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach - we will definitely stay with you again when we return - staying a block away from the beach just wouldn't do it for us any more. What a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirl3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Aloha Kiwigirl3015,

Thank you taking the time to write a nice review. We are glad that you appreciate the view from our Oceanfront rooms. We hope you come back and stay with us again.

Mahalo,

Todd W.
Guest Sevices Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Overall the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean. The only thing I did not like was that we had rented a car for our 10 day stay and was unaware of the $25 a day parking charge. I had to pay $225 that I did not expect to pay. I would have like to know this ahead of time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Aloha wolverines1,

We are glad to hear our property and staff has treated you well. We are sorry that you weren’t informed of the parking charges when you made your reservations. Outrigger Waikiki posts our parking charges on our website and we also inform all of our travel agents making the reservations for you. Perhaps you can inform us as to who created your reservation so that we can ensure that they properly advise our future guests. Thank you for your business and the time you took to complete a review for us. We hope you come back to visit us again.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I first visited Waikiki in October of 2009. Upon check-in I was welcomed and I requested a different room since my plans had changed and my son's girlfriend had joined us on the trip. The check-in folks were so helpful in finding me better room for my situation.
Since, that trip, I have relocated to Oahu. Since, I live on the North Shore, I frequently stay in Waikiki and always stay at the Outrigger. Never have I had a negative experience; which is why I decided it was worth the time to write this review.
Travelling is questionable enough; it's always helpful to hear from folks who have experienced the culture. So, I highly recommend the Outrigger on the Beach. From the valet to the restaurant folks, what a great staff! Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Aloha Jocelyn8,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest to us. We like the fact that even if you live on the island, you still choose to stay with us. We hope to keep providing you with good service to ensure you return time and time again.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We couldnt fault the hotel. We were told we had a city view but our room had both a city view and beach view. The room it self was big enough we had 2 double beds as we had our 16 year old daughter with us. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Its position is great, we were right on the beach with the shops on the other, the location is the best, its just so central to everything. The service from all the staff was always friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, they always remembered us by name and we were always greeted with an Aloha and a warm smile. We WILL definately stay there again. FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE, thanks Outrigger for as great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Aloha NicoleG_10,

We are happy to hear that you had a great time while you were here. Our location makes ideal for the guest that want both beach and city life at the same time. We hope that your experience keeps you happy and wanting to return. Till next time.


Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Outrigger Waikiki is unique among hotels. It provides the atmosphere of a home away from home. The excellent staff gives the Outrigger Waikiki customer a sincere feeling of being among people who appreciate your presence on the property. When you combine this with the fact that the hotel has the best beach front location, best mix of restaurants ( Dukes, Chucks, Hula Grill and the Hawaiian sandwich shop snack bar ) and best access to shopping and tourist attractions make it the #1 choice of the entire Waikki area. We have been coming here since the summer of 1977 and hope to continue our visits in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Aloha begull,

Your words make us proud to be Outrigger Waikiki. Thank you so much for your continued loyalty we sincerely appreciate it. We will do our best to keep you returning to your home away from home.

Mahalo
Todd W
Guest Services Manager
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing