We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location right on Waikiki Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Hotel is in a great location, right on Waikiki Beach with access to large sandy beach. We had a view of the city as well as side ocean view which was nice. I would not recommend spending more money for oceanfront as most of the rooms have balconies on the side of the property with partial ocean views. This hotel was always crowded because of the shops and restaurants in lobby area and it is downtown. Need a room key to access guest floors, which was a nice safety feature of the property. Duke's is a great place to eat- right in hotel. The bell staff and valets were super friendly and helpful with local advice. Hotel is within walking distance of many shops, bars, restaurants, convenience stores. Our room was nice and clean, but on the small side. Bathroom was a bit dark. Room was big enough for the 2 of us, but could see how it would be tight for a family. Location of the property beats out the room size.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelmutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,129 - 4,135 of 4,857 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2007

We had a stop off here on our round the world ticket. We decided to stay 2 nights as most likely it would not be a place we would choose to travel too again.
Outrigger was recommended to us and we heard that Duke's was the place to hang out so we decided to stay here.
We had a partial sea view room which was nice and big and clean but in need of some modernisation. The bar was a nice place to hang out in the evening watching the sea. Altho there are a lot of other places to hang out too. We did not manage to use the pool either day and it was very noisy and full of children.
We found it to be Very American - yes i know it is part of, but it is the place were even Americans go on holiday, we didn't meet any other nationalities.
There were alot of groups of teenagers and then you also had your very over friendly college student waiting on your table being over nice to get a bigger tip.....we found it all abit too much and in your face.
Hawaii over all was a nice beach resort, the hotel was fine, nothing special. They did give us early check in which was great but i can't see us returning to Hawaii anytime soon.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

I was a bit reluctant over this hotel. It was the first stop for 3 nights on our honeymoon but I cannot praise the hotel enough.

We booked a partial ocean view but managed to upgrade at a cheaper rate when we checked in to an ocean front room and boy was it worth it (see the pics!). The view was amazing.

I realise that some people had trouble with thin walls/noisy rooms but I have to say that at one point I thought the rooms next to us weren't occupied until I physically saw people coming and going....we didn't hear a peep! We were on the 14th floor though and I know Lonely Planets review of this hotel said to get a room on the upper floors for the best views and the 'quietest' digs.

We only ate at Dukes the once - it was pleasant enough, plenty of choice.

The location is superb, right in the centre of Waikiki so close to everything. The staff were wonderfully friendly and the hotel is clean and well kept - we couldn't fault it at all. Chip on the door is a great guy too :)

I would recommend this 100%

p.s. Whilst we were in Oahu we went on a Movie Location Tour with Kos Hummer Tours which we would fully recommend. We also went to Pearl Harbor and had surfing lessons which were great fun (first timers too)!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Squiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Just finished another stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach(Our Wedding Annniversary), We had a ten night stay at the hotel and had a wonderful time, the hotel staff was great and very professional. There are 3 Places to eat on the hotel grounds, all three have excellent Food and Drinks! I would highly reccomend this hotel for your stay on Oahu, Its so close to all the shopping, and the nightlife in Waikiki.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank rickChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki for 5 days at the end of May. We booked the hotel through Expedia, finding a much better deal on that site than booking through the hotel's web site, which was slow, and confusing. Expedia allowed me to combine discounts that the hotel reservations didn't offer. Our package included free breakfast every day, which was terrific, and a car, which we wished we had skipped. The hotel staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful, including the valet guys and bell staff. Service was always prompt. The property was very well maintained. Our room had an ocean view, with a very small balcony. The room was large, with space for a couch and a desk with 2 chairs. The hotel provides free calling anywhere in the US, something I have never found anywhere else and free wired internet access. Most higher end properties charge for these services, and I have never stayed in a hotel with free toll calling.


There are 2 problems with this hotel--a very small beach and poor soundproofing. We met an elderly lady who was badly sunburned. She said you had to be on the beach by 8:00 am to get an umbrella on the beach. There is a small strip of land and a small deck. If you come down later in the morning, you're basically out of luck, but judging the size of other hotels on waikiki, you're probably out of luck everywhere by that time. However, with a strong tropical sun, unless you're already deeply tanned, you won't be able to spend much time without shade. The water is great, with a sandy shallow area, followed by a deeper dropoff for about 50 yards and then a sandy shallow reef. You can swim or paddle out to the reef on a raft and float around through the waves.

Breakfast was great. We really enjoyed eating in the open air restaurant every day when it opened at 6:30.

We rented a car, but wasted our money doing so. There is transportation everywhere you would want to go. Parking is valet only for $25 per day. There are plenty of places to rent cars for the day or two you might want to drive somewhere else on the island.

We went to the luau at the Sheraton Royal Hawaiian, the Pink Palace next store. It was expensive, but the food was good and the show was great.

The only real downside to the hotel was the terrible soundproofing. I am a light sleeper and was awakened twice late at night by the sound of the couple in the next room making whoopee, and by the sound of the guests using their bathrooms at other times in the night. We could also hear muffled conversations in the adjoining rooms in the morning. I have usually found that hotels in this price range are pretty quiet. This one needs some work to cut down on the sound intrusion in the rooms. That said, I would stay here again, but bring soft ear plugs.

The restaurants have free music, including a live band on the beach side deck on the weekends, which draws a lively crowd.
The bar has a very good happy hour. The bartenders are first rate. Watch out for the Mai Tai. When they warn you about them, take heed.

Meal prices on the hotel are good for Waikiki. To save money, go one block over to Kuhio Ave, where the less expensive restaurants are, or take the bus to Ala Moana shopping center, a few blocks away. Also walk up to Kapiolani Park a few blocks toward Diamond Head. We found a little festival on the weekend, with music and local food vendors, including one selling Hawaian food.

Yes Waikiki is overdeveloped, crowded and touristy. But swim out to the reef, look toward Diamond Head, and have breakfast on the veranda watching the rainbow through the clouds and the surfers on the reef and you'll know why this you came.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank johnsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Well firstly I booked another hotel the Resort Quest for our trip to the pro bowl, however 5 days before we departed I had a letter stating they were overbooked and we had been upgraded to a 4 star hotel..
We arrived ar our Hotel really pleased as the outrigger is in the centre of the main street.. right in the thick of it..
Sadly I don't know if this was cos its pro bowl week but we had paid for a ocean view and only got partly one.. we mentioned to the staff but of course they were booked out.. We were also next to the ice machine!! Very loud!
Those however are the only 2 negatives regarding the whole trip.
We got free breakfast every morning at the self service DUKES.. Being english and very fussy I was worried but I didn't have to be the choice was fantastic and everthing seemed really fresh, As a massive bonus the restuarant is on the beach front so you could watch the early morning surfers as you eat..
Me and my husband are saving to go again however if you are flying from England I recommend a short stop , we didn't and after a trip which took 23 hrs including stops the jet lag was so so bad..
I also suggest to all doing some trips we managed 2 one whale watching which was fab and also a trip in the rainforest..

I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pompeybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We loved this hotel. It is located right in the middle of everything you would want to do when visiting Waikiki. We were on the 14th floor with a partical ocean front room. The room was large enough and we were very satisfied with all the amenities offered. The free long distance calls and interenet service were a plus. We didn't find it excessively noisy-the walls are a bit thin and you do hear the AC-but we are light sleepers and this didn't bother us a bit. In fact, the beds are so comfortable that we slept like babies each night. They were out of king beds so they put the 2 doubles together to make a HUGE bed-we loved it! We ate at Dukes and the Hula grill-both very good. There are a lot of stores in the hotel-we loved that too. It is hustle and bustle here-but we loved it! If you want a quiet hotel with not a lot going on then don't choose this Outrigger but if you want a hotel with a great beach, plenty to do and very accomodating staff then this is the place for you. We would choose this hotel hands down for our next visit to Oahu.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mommmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $276 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing