We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to be on Waikiki!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Place to be on Waikiki!”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

If you want to experience true Hawaiian Hospitality come to the Outrigger. It is a completely different experience than your large corporate hotel chain. The staff treat you like family. We always feel like we are at our home away from home here. Please don't expect stuffy, phony staff who treat you like you are royalty. Expect real people who seem to genuinely care about you. It's not the Four Seasons. However, the rooms are on par with Marriot and Hyatt. In my families opinion even better due to the spirit of aloha! Not to mention for the location, it is quite a good value. Don't come looking for a fantastic pool to hang at all day. Come for a gorgeous beach that has quite a lot of action and for the city life of Waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohanatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    1,506
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,430
2,035
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights in June. Great hotel in a great location. Pool a bit on the small side but I think most hotels are the same due to the fantastic beach right on your doorstep. We didn't book an ocean view room however did have a partial ocean view from the room we were in which was fine. Balcony really small though but not a problem. Only ate in the hotel once in the Hula Grill which was good but eat out. There are some many great restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knotts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

chekout room first ,the first room we where given was noisey ,from aircon units next hotel,sugest a beachfront room, kalia st can be very noisey with buskers ,we had phil collins on the drums till midnight,and the hotel cannot do a thing about it. great local beers in the famous dukes bar ,go easy on the miaties ,they will knock your sox off, say hello to gerry and adam behind the bar excelent service. chuks restaurant is a must ,a table on the balcony overlooking the beach at sunset ,life dosent get much better.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Third time in a row I've had an amazing stay. Excellent service with a smile. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sondralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We love this hotel. It has great location, on the beach, close to everything in Waikiki. The restaurants on the premise are a bit pricy, but if you walk right cross the street there is the International Market Place and you can get all kinds of good for a great price! The free internet is also helpful for us to plan all activities, instead of using these procures. The downside? parking. $25 a day!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JYCaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Spent 7 days with our 15 year old granddaughter on a perfect vacation. Could not find even one thing bad to say about the Outrigger. Everything was perfect. A GREAT place to have a GREAT Vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Best location on the beach and everyone was super friendly. I loved the hotel but...don't bother to upgrade to "partial ocean view". We were located 6 rooms from the street side of the hotel and I felt this was not worth the upgrade. It looks like every room probably had a "partial ocean view". Also, the 16th floor can be noisy at times with the gym upstairs but overall we loved the room & hotel. Duke's Canoe Club & the Hula Grill were GREAT and we had several meals there. The beach was wonderful and I hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMNorman_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing