We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
114
Reviewed May 13, 2005

we stayed at the outrigger main- for our 4th anniversary and had a fabulous time- they upgraded us to an ocean front room with a whirlpool in the room - amazing!- the place was very clean and even had turn down service. It would get noisy in the evenings because of the club downstaris and the bands, but it was a very first class place with excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,792)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,295 - 4,301 of 4,792 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, Nevada
121
Reviewed May 10, 2005

My wife & I got there at 6:45 A.M. on May 5th. We were greeted by the valet staff, unloaded our bags & was directed to the front desk where we encountered Michelle. I asked Michelle if we could check our bags so we could eat & play the tourist thing, & she asked if we wanted to check-in to our room first. Being so early in the a.m. I didn't think it would be ready, but it wasn't only ready, she immediately upgraded us to a partial ocean view. When we got to the room (#1429) Michelle called & had another upgrade with a king bed on the 3rd floor, but we stayed on the 14th, because you could take the express elavator up & down instead of the local. Duke's buffet was very good & the view is excellent. Also, Steve, one of the morning waiters was fantastic. Yee-San was our maid, & she did a fantastic job. Just ask for extra towels. The room was spacious & clean.
We played tourist & took 3 tours. Do Pearl Harbor...it's a must. Then that night we did Germaine's Luau, again, great time. The next day we did the island tour...120 miles & 13 stops...unbelievable!!! Roberts Tours train their drivers to do an excellent job. We had cousin Steve for Pearl Harbor, cousin Spencer drove to the luau & cousin Mark directed us & had us meet practically everyone else on the bus. Then we had cousin Mario (don't call him Luigi) for the island tour. These guys make it fun, enjoyable & you want more. Great job. The next days we were on our own. Dunkin' Donuts is a great pick me up stop. Always have loved their coffee. Intl. market place is nice, but if you want the same stuff for a lot less, go to the flea market at Aloha stadium. I did, & it was well worth it. Hula grill has very good food & reasonably priced for being on the strip. Cheesecake Factory was awesome. Kings Market has 50's store, great memoribilla, but food stinks. Don't bother to rent a car unless you're goin to do a lot sightseeing on your own. I left the car in valet the first three days, at $15.00 a day. Buses & trolleys run constantly. The strip in front of the hotel is like Fremont St. here in Vegas at night, all the street performers are out there. Don't jay walk, cops have a sub-station 2 blocks up the road, & they're all over the place.il

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Feasterville, PA
19
Reviewed May 2, 2005

The Outrigger was fabulous. From check in to check out our stay was perfect. We reserved (3) rooms for a family of 12. All rooms had an exceptional view of the ocean. Location (across from International Marketplace) was ideal; especially for teens. Clean and spacious rooms; friendly maid service. Great location on beach to enjoy canoe races. Duke's Restaurant located in lower lobby was excellent and very reasonably priced. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2005

The location of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is one of the best on the island! We had a wonderful room with great views of the ocean.. The staff were all wonderful and polite!
With this property I cannot stress the importance of having an ocean view room. At the very least, a partial. The only thing that I would say about this particular location is that it can be loud at night, for the most part it was fun to be able to go out on the deck and hear the music from the International Market Place and the band below at Dukes. Great Experience, we will be back

Stayed: April 2005
9  Thank Seattle_WASunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oahu, Hawaii (Waikiki)
114
Reviewed May 1, 2005

We had a marvelous time at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach! We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room because I mentioned our anniversary. Then we heard some fans that night and mentioned it in the morning to the front desk clerk. He moved us to an ocean view. IT was an absolutely beautiful room and the view was gorgeous. The man didn't give us a hard time. He was very willing to help.

This hotel is close to everything you want to do. You don't even need a rental car. Just bring a good pair of walking shoes and that's all you need. This hotel has location. It's right on the beach so you can lay out and then go up the elevator to your room. They have a terrific night show and Duke's is a great place for drinks. This is the place to stay. The view from Duke's is awesome! Terrific views and a beautiful hotel. I would definetly stay here everytime if it were available. Can't wait to go back!

The hotel was renovated and it is resort like. I am proud that I stayed there. Nothing to complain about. This place has it. Close to shopping, tours, diamond head, the big mall, etc. I would give this hotel 5 stars. Terrific experience!! Can't say enough about it.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We had read mixed reviews of the hotel .Our room was a ocean view room 621 it was more like ocean front. We really enjoyed the society of seven show. We would recomend this hotel to anyone

9  Thank luvtotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We arrived on Tuesday 04-19 at 1pm at the hotel. we automatically got an upgrade to a partial ocean view, not bad. the rooms are clean and updated, i thought the maids did a great job as well as the rest of the staff.

Some of our friends arrived on Wed and we hung out at the pool and at Duke's. Great time by the hotel with excellent beach access. The beach is very crowded, but you can venture in to the pool area and grab a ice-cold water or relax in the hot tub. Pool staff was a little slow, as was Dukes. Good food and drink though. Massages on the beach too, we opted for a massage 2 blocks away in King's Village shopping center at Pluma, it was okay.

Dinning on our trip. 1. Went to Tiki's, good food but slow service, moderate price, had portugese sausage and clam dish which i liked, but my stomach did not shortly after. 2. Cheeseburger in Paradise, good for a reasonable and quick bite to eat. 3. LuLu's overlooks the beach for a nice view of the ocean, had a great philly steak sandwich. 4. JR's China Buffett in the International Market Place, they are advertised in all the coupon mags, save your money and go to somewhere else. I like most asian foods and was excited to try more authentic dishes but was rather dissapointed by JR's and the other food vendors in the market. 5. Chart House by the bay. I liked it a lot, expensive, great service, known for steaks and seafood. 6. Royal Hawaiin Lua, they offer a Lua every Monday with a buffet, $90 per person for the show and food, 3 drinks included, here i got a more authentic taste of the food on the island, great tasting pig and salmon salsa dish. 7. Zippys for lunch, had the Surf Pac and chili-rice. I enjoyed it and it's a local favorite, ate Spam and did not even know it.

Adventures - 1. Defeintely go to Pearl Harbor, in and out in a little over 3 hours, you may wait for 1-2 hours before taking the boat to the Memorial, but the museum portion is great and very interesting, operated very smoothly.
2. Hike Diamond Head. Great views and a little rough if not in shape, bring water.
3. Haunama Bay. Great Snorkeling, saw 4-5 foot sea turtles right next to you and eels too. plan to spend 3 hours, peak time seems to be 9 - 1pm. Parking lot was full one time we went.
4 Catamaran Ride. spent $25 a person for all you can drink 1.5 hours boat ride. Every one on the boat was in great spirits, well narrated by the local crew. Dolphins swimming right next to us, boat can be shaky.
5. Royal Hawaiin Lua. Good time with our group of 10 people, food was well prepared, dancers i liked and fire thrower. the DJ of the lua had the worst jokes.
6. Cruising the island by car. went along the east coast one day and saw some great short board surfers with big waves. north shore offers more relaxed beaches, went to Sandy beach and sharks cove for snorkeling (very rocky and high tide but fun). stop for a shaved ice with ice cream at the bottom for a treat.
7. Walking the srip at night. Some interesting sights on the streets at night, thats all i'll say. Parents, make sure your kids stay together at night, travel in groups.

The highlight of our trip was our friends wedding at the Mandarin Resort on Friday night. The most beautiful setting, quiet and reserved from the hustle of Waikiki. Dolphins and sea turtles in their pools. Our friends said they were treated like royalty at the hotel, but paid the price too.

All in all a great time for a group of 12 cheeseheads in their late 20's. Definetly plenty to do. If i ever go back i want to travel to the other islands but Waikiki is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MNelsonWauwatosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $272 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing