We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a Mother/Daughter trip for a High School Graduation Present”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a Mother/Daughter trip for a High School Graduation Present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

We are from NW MN and this was a very long trip, BUT well worth it. The Outrigger Waikiki on the beach is a beautiful and clean hotel. I enjoyed getting up every morning at 6:00 AM and watching the sun come up and seeing all the surfers. When we checked in we did upgrade to a total ocean view, but it was well worth it!!! We were on the 4th floor, which was fine, BUT next time I would definately go much HIGHER to avoid the noise and a better VIEW. Food wise, Dukes was fun, BUT the food at the Hula Grill was much better. I also strongly recommend the Shorebird at the Outrigger Waikiki Reef Hotel, there is a coupon when you check in for a full price meal and half off the second, this was actually the least expensive meal we had, and alot of FUN cooking our own steaks on the grill overlooking the ocean!!!!!! Make sure you walk there on the beach, takes 5 minutes, if you take land might be 20 minutes and you may have to ask for directions!!! The International Market across the road and the stores near the hotel were like being in a large city. It was fun to walk the streets at night and shop or walk the beach. You dont have anything to worry about , the beach and streets are VERY safe!!! Would I go back, YES I am already planning my next trip!!!!! PS Make sure you do the Germaine Luau!!!!! Fun was had by all. Aloha my friends!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thiefriverfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,476
    1,497
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,422
2,002
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Mum and I went for a holiday to Waikiki, cost around $4500 for the two of us, and when we got there, we decided to take an upgrade to a Partial Ocean View for an additional $600. This hotel was very costly, but a good choice for my elderly mum who wanted to be right on the beach and hear the ocean at night. The room was quite nice, no complaints at all. The service was rather impersonal as at really big hotels and we did not see anything special or extradordinary about the service in general. The pool is miniscule and when we went down to claim a spot for mum to relax while I swam in the ocean, there were towels and reserved signs on most of the chaises so it was difficult for her to get a swim in the pool. Not much loss, as the pool was icy cold, unheated. There was absolutely no beverage service that we could see and I had to personally fetch mum a cold drink and she had to guard my chaise as it was frequently highjacked. We adored Chuck's Steak House, the food was marvelous, however, trying to get any service out of Duke's was impossible. We weren't young, pretty and boozing our brains out so we were basically ignored. Not a big problem as I took care of mum's every need, except when swimming in the beautiful aquamarine beach just a few steps from the pool chaise area. Mum has since passed away but I treasure this trip with her and the relaxing, luxurious time we shared together.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janievancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Amazing place ... we had a Partial Ocean View Room, magnificent ... staff helpful, friendly, excellent location across the road from the International Market, great bar (Dukes), beach access perfect, cannot find one single flaw with this hotel, just beautiful ... go there !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzchick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Outrigger Waikiki on the beach is a clean and beautiful hotel. The rooms are fairly modern and well decorated. The TV could be updated to a flat screen, but who spends that much time in the room. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. There is all kinds of shopping just out the front door and close to some great restaurants too. I didn't like Duke's restaurant (in the hotel) as it was always crowded and the food was just average.

I highly recommend The Outrigger! The rooftop spa is a great place to get massage.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave6503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

We were on our 10 year anniversary and when we checked in, we were upgraded to a beautiful room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would recommend it anyone that was staying in Waikiki and wanted to stay on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyof2beautygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

I travel to at least one of the islands in Hawaii at least once a year. This hotel has so many attributes going for it. 1) It is on the stretch of Waikiki between the Royal Hawaiian and the Surfrider. This is the sandiest portion of Waikiki (in the water) and at low tide you can walk out about the length of a football field. Because there is no built in wave break like down by the Hiltons (awful location) or by the "ponds" you can take your surfboard out and surf in front of the hotel about 100 yards out. 2) The central location means that on the street side of the resort, you are in the hub of the entertainment scene, shopping, and restaurants. 3) The views are breathtaking even from the "partial ocean view category" (just be sure you are on the side facing the "Cheesecake factory" and Royal Hawaiian. The side facing the surfrider has less impressive views. Ocean Front is obviously fabulous if you can swing the price. 4) The hotel finished a complete renovation about 3 years ago with an "antique Hawaiiana" theme that is perfect. I think another reviewer called it dated but obviously did not understand the look. 5) "Dukes," the most popular restaurant and bar in Waikiki is on the ground floor. Also notable is "Hula Grill" a restaurant on the second floor. Both have great views and excellent food (particularly Hula Grill). 6) Much is said about thin walls here. Look everyone, Waikiki is noisy, it is a place to be part of the action. If you want a tranquil experience go to the Big Island (where I am off to for my next trip) or Kauai. Or even stay on the windward side of Oahu. Waikiki is noisy, energetic and fast paced; be part of it. And as an FYI, the Royal Hawaiian and Surfrider have very noisy plumbing due to their age and smaller rooms in many cases. 7) My spouse had a birthday during our trip and received a box of Hawaiian goodies (complimentary from the hotel). Little touches like this make this hotel special. 8) The serenity spa is on the 17th floor and is a full service day spa. Look down at Waikiki from 17 floors above the water and take in a Lomi Lomi massage. The fitness room is also on this floor (other side) and has a fantastic ocean view.
I could go on and on, but this hotel is the best in Waikiki (and I have sampled many) before declaring this "our hotel for Waikiki." I highly recommend it and will go back again and again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrojanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed here in 1992 on our honeymoon and it was great then. Fast forward to March 2009 and now our family is four (kids 5 & 13). Again, it’s a great hotel and best location. Here’s the details:
Room: We upgraded to partial ocean view (room #1118) for $45 bringing to total to $200/night. A little dated décor but clean. Free internet, safe, fridge, coffee maker, decent tv and nice lanai. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was updated and spacious with a great shower. Most Diamond Head facing rooms will be looking directly into the next hotel (see photos) so be aware of that. We had no problems with noise or thin walls.
Facilities: Dukes and Hula Grill restaurants have good food and beautiful views of the pool and beach. The pool was usual empty and a little cold but clean. No shallow kid’s area so watch your kids. Free towel service. We didn’t check out the fitness room but heard it’s in the penthouse. Parking for my moped was only $5/night. (yeah I rented a moped for 24 hours which was a great way to check out Waikiki and surrounding areas; but be careful of sketchy moped rental guys). All the staff were great, efficient, fast and friendly; no complaints at all.
Location: without a doubt, the most convenient and central location in Waikiki. A few ABC stores within a two minute walk.
The beach: it’s right there! no crossing the street to get to the ocean! The beach was a little crowded but fun for people watching. Move up or down the beach and there’s lots of room. You can get loungers and umbrellas, surfboards, lessons, catamaran rides, etc. The beach is also nice and safe to sit around at night.

Nearby restaurants: I did research on the ‘net and found lots of cheap restaurants within walking dist. A couple of japanese places in King’s Alley, Lulu’s near Kapahulu, ABC of course, lots of noodle places and a dim sum in the Hyatt. Roy’s nearby (pricey but unbelievable service and delicious), Lots of places on Kapahulu which is about a mile northeast.
Activities: Mom and kids did free hula lessons and lei making in the lobby. Dad went surfing daily (I rented a board from the guys near the police station up the beach. They were organized and friendly. Only $10/hour; I didn’t take lessons but recommended if you’ve never surfed)
Rental Car: We rented on the last day so we could drive directly to the airport after checking out the North Shore. I used Thrifty which I will never use again as they made many mistakes (forgot child seat, gave me only half a tank of gas, were rude). An unfortunate ending to an otherwise perfect vacation.
Other details: free shuttle to Ala Moana Shopping Ctr ($2 to get home) with p/u by the police stn; There’s a hot tub; there’s a band playing by the beach on weekends.
When we go back to Waikiki, I will stay here again or if I have a bigger budget, I may try the Moana or the Royal Hawaiian which are right next door and just reno’d.
Feel free to email me if you have questions. Thanks. AlKamino

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALKamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing