We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The first impression of this resort is the wonderful atmosphere and the very helpful staff. Its position was perfect and central to shopping and restaurants. The beach was amazing and the access from the resort was great. All public transport was right out the front and easy to get on. All our pre booked tours ran without any problems. The drinks and food at dukes were fantastic and the free poor was unreal. Overall it was a great place to stay and we will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street are a little noisy so I would recommend a higher floor at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kyms69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Aloha kyms69. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is a pleasure to hear that the helpful staff and wonderful atmosphere of our property created a lasting first impression. We are so glad you had an overall great time here and we look forward to your return. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

We splurged and got an oceanfront room on the eighth floor. The Outrigger even offered a military discount. Before we even arrived, the staff at the hotel exceeded our expectations. Keith helped us with our resevations and later with a package that we had to have delivered. We rented a car on Oahu and were constantly in and out of the hotel, and the valet guys were so friendly and always offered us some local advice. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shops from the hotel, and especially loved having Dukes in the lobby. We also really appreciated the fruit flavored water that was always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank suzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Aloha suzkal. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Outrigger truly is grateful for the service provided by the men and women of the military. As a token of appreciation, military personnel qualify for available discounted rates on rooms booked directly on our hotel's website or through our reservations office. We are glad to have exceeded your expectations. Mahalo Nui Loa for your military service, your five-star rating of our property and your compliments about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have stayed at the outrigger waikiki for 4 years in a row, each time for 12 nights. Our family loves this hotel, the staff, location everything about it is great. Rooms are always clean with friendly housekeeping staff who are always smiling. We prefer to stay on the diamond head side of the hotel as the side that faces the Cheesecake Factory is loud from the restaurant fans. The location is perfect, you can walk everywhere or grab a cab from out front. There are no resort fees at this hotel either, wifi is generally good and they have a Hula Grill and Dukes restaurant on site. We are excited and looking forward to our next winter holiday!

Room Tip: We prefer the diamond head side of the hotel, partial ocean view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tendermeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Aloha tendermeat. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is our honor to have been your hotel of choice for 4 years in a row. We try our very best to bring guests back by providing clean comfortable rooms, friendly service, popular amenities and exceptional value for their stay. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

First stop in Hawaii on a 2 week whirlwind tour. I'd absolutely consider it again if the price was right.

I wanted a hotel directly on the beach and this one fit the bill perfectly. Note that all hotels in Waikiki are not necessarily situated on the beach, so make sure you know what you desire. Walking distance to anything you want, from beach rentals to tours, from shops to restaurants. Also I found that the rest of the island was extremely accessible by car from the general Waikiki area.

Because maximum occupancy is 4 per room, we needed to book 2 rooms for our family of 5. They were connecting, well-appointed and clean. Lovely (albeit small) patios were also tidy and offered comfortable seating. I do have to say that the area was quite noisy, but that was only a nuisance when we left the patio doors open and basically nonexistent when they were closed, as we were on a nice high floor.

Finally, the staff was noticeably hardworking and pleasant. Checkin was seamless and friendly, as was the bell staff and the parking attendants were superb. Well done Outrigger!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank jonfromcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Aloha jonfromcincinnati. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you chose to stay with us and were satisfied with our location, rooms and service. Throughout the year, we offer special discounted rates on our website or through our reservations office. We hope to welcome you and your `ohana back in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very well located right in the middle of Waikiki. The restaurants were great especially when you were too tired to go far. It was all happening with entertainment on the beach and right in the middle of the shopping precinct. The staff were helpful & courteous. We also were not far to catch the colored buses for shopping or touring around which is highly recommended at a cheap price.
The rooms were roomy but a bit noisy if near the road.

Room Tip: Do not get near the street end as the road is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Aloha Jill G. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our centralized location is perfect for enjoying the beach, the many nearby shops and restaurants and the available transportation options for exploring the attractions on Oahu. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back for another excellent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff are friendly, the bed is comfortable. The prices pretty good. The view is to die for. The best thing about Waikiki is the clear and beautiful ocean with all it's colours. The toiletries are good. We ate in all the restaurants. Pai's Deli does the best milkshakes we've had in years. dukes was average, chucks also,average. Stand out best place for all meals was Hula,Grill.
Our room was on 9 th floor which cut down noise, and ocean side. Still heard the pool,side bands. Great location to enjoy all tourist stuff, and pick up tours. Arrived at 11.30 am and got our room, even though check in is 3pm. Checked out and paid bill night before the flight to reduce delays.
Hint: the only sour note is booking your excursions. We were misled on two of them. You can get it better and cheaper by booking the, yourself. If not, do your homework and be really explicit about what you want. Ask lots of questions and double check. In my excitement I didn't do this and we got disappointed. Plantation spa was good massage and facial in penthouse

Room Tip: Waikiki is a tourist place,lots of activity and noise. Get a room high up and Oceanside to reduce no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank illana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Aloha illana15. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you ate at all of our restaurants and enjoyed a good massage and facial at our rooftop Plantation Spa. We are sorry you were disappointed with two of the excursions you booked. Please be assured that our experienced concierges are always ready to assist guests with any questions they may have. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were greeted by a very rude young lady who gave us the impression that they were doing us a favour by letting us stay there . After we checked in we went thru to the bar and restaurant which was busy ,so while we waited for seating we went to bar and was told again quite rudely to stand in line . The room was cramped with two outdated double beds with hardly enough room for our luggage .
We spent the previous three weeks on the US mainland at a number of hotels from Comfort inns to the Bellagio in LV this was the worst hotel by far.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Aloha Owen J. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room and the service you received. Providing the best service and quality of accommodations is very important to us. Your feedback will be utilized to improve our training efforts in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $268 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing