We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$372
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$420
$336
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,241)
Filter reviews
5,241 results
Traveler rating
2,941
1,648
441
144
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,941
1,648
441
144
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshula grillocean frontdukes restauranthula piewaikiki beachlower lobbypartial ocean viewthe cheesecake factorydiamond head sideoceanfront rooma city view roomthe international marketplaceour honeymoonthe royal hawaiianfantastic locationbell staffnorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
2,243 - 2,248 of 5,241 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger with 12 other members of my husband's family for our first ever destination family vacation. We had 8 adults and 6 kids ranging from not yet 2 years old to a couple of teenagers. We stayed for 2 nights before flying to the Big Island. Typically, my husband and I avoid hotels altogether, opting instead for more inexpensive and/or alternative travel accommodations but we were limited in part by the size of our group.

Pros: The beach is literally right in front of the hotel and though it was rather crowded, had a beautiful stretch of sand with a nice beach, especially for kids. It's great for swimming as it's almost completely devoid of rocks, both close to shore and further out, and you can swim a good distance out to get to bigger waves without it getting very deep.

The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, and we had the basic amenities in our room (soap, shampoo/conditioner, coffee pot, blow dryer, etc). We had a balcony with a partial ocean view, which was nice, though we spent almost no time on it.

You can rent boogie boards from several different shops right on the beach. One was $5/hr while another was $10/hr so don't be afraid to shop around. The guy at the $5/hr place stayed open an extra 1/2 hour for us just so we could get our full hour, though he was pretty gruff about it. Surf boards and outriggers were also available for rent on the beach, though both were a bit spendy. Outrigger rides were $25/person for an hour at one shop where we stopped.

Cons: Customer service was poor. We arrived a couple of hours before the rest of our family since we flew in from a different state, but when we tried to check in, we were told it would be best to wait because we had to make sure each room had the "correct" number of kids and adults per room as it affected the price of each room. Rather than just allowing us to check into one of the 4 rooms reserved for our group and moving our things later, we had to kill 2 hours to wait for our family. We were told that if we went back downstairs, someone there would take our bags and watch them until we checked in. We went back downstairs and checked them in with a gal who seemed personally offended that we asked her to take our luggage for a couple hours.

We hung out at Seattle's Best downstairs (yeah for Seattle's Best coffee, but it was the most expensive coffee of our entire 10 day trip in Hawaii). When our family arrived and we all checked in, it was a mess because the 4 rooms weren't adjoining and were actually on different floors. My mother in law straightened it out and at least got us rooms on the same floor, but not adjoining, and we had to give up our room on the 14th floor with the better view. Not a huge deal but bummer they didn't put us all on that floor.

Then there's the elevators. So totally lame! You have to swipe your key card to even access the elevators, which are always busy/full during daytime hours, and they don't offer convenient stairs if you either don't want to wait for multiple groups of people to fill an elevator or if you happen to not have your key card. Lame, lame, lame. Is security really that much of a problem?

The pool is super small and very shallow, again mostly aimed at kids, and is right next to the beach and restaurant so there's no privacy. We spent most of our time at the beach or elsewhere.

If you're traveling with little kids and want the convenience of a sandy beach close by, a kiddy pool, and a restaurant on site, this might be the hotel for you. Duke's Waikiki is the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel; we had dinner there one night and the customer service was excellent, as was the food, though that's for another review!

Room Tip: As previous reviewers recommended, I'd recommend an ocean front room if it's not too much extra and a room on one of the upper floors, both for better views and to avoid noise from Duke's Restaurant on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoSmallPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Schmairb. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your destination family vacation hotel. We appreciate the list of pros and cons you have provided for us and other TripAdvisor users. Our staff members do try their best to keep groups of guests who are travelling together in rooms on the same floor. This is not always possible due to instances of high occupancy or when specific reservation requests, perhaps for bedding or location in the building, may not be honored in order to keep the rooms together. We sincerely apologize for the poor customer service you experienced. Guests should never feel less than welcome by our employees at any point during their stay. Your feedback will be used for our future training efforts. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger for 5 nights in June. Coming from Kauai, Waikiki was a culture shock. The Outrigger was in the middle of everything in Waikiki. The valet staff was quick and friendly. Our room was clean and a decent size. We had a partial ocean view and it was more than enough. Our room was right next to the elevator so it could get loud at times. Luckily we were on the 1st floor since sometimes the elevators could be quite full and take a long time. The pool was also tiny and right where people could watch you swim while they were eating. The beach was crowded and not relaxing at all. We enjoyed eating at Duke's and the Hula Grill. We probably won't go back to Oahu, but not because of our stay at Outrigger. Waikiki was too crowded for our liking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Lauren T. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach this summer. While we are sorry to hear that Waikiki was too crowded for your liking, we are glad that you found our rooms and service to be satisfactory. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights in June 2014, was skeptical after reading some of the reviews on here. I observed most of what people didn't like to varying degrees, eg lifts, noise etc but it wasn't all that bad, and in some cases wasn't as fantastic as what the good reviews said.
My experience is summarized below;

- Location is amazing, right on Waikiki beach with access straight to beach. That said, due to the location this place gets so busy during the day, and can be noisy at night. We could hear noise from the street from the 16th floor!!
- Value for money is OK
- Most of the staff were super friendly and helpful, but found that when we asked for a couple of small things (e.g. cutlery, knife, fork or spoon to maybe eat a yogurt with) that the staff made no effort to assist, just a no we don't provide that and that was it.
- Lifts are a problem, especially when it is busy
- Free WiFi also a problem when its busy, there were a few times late in the evening when I couldn't log on due to too many people already being connected which was annoying.
- Concierge seemed a little pushy and used pressure of "you have to book now or you'll miss out" in order to sell tours etc.
- We stayed 6 of 8 nights in a "partial ocean view" room on 16th floor, 2 nights were in an ocean view room on the 15th floor. We were moved as we had noisy neighbors that we heard come in between 2.30-4am every morning. One of the issues was due to the rooms were adjoining rooms separated only by a locked door. Security and management at the Outrigger were very responsive and resolved this situation to our satisfaction.
- Having spent time in both rooms, I would recommend spending a little more if you can to get the ocean view room, the view is spectacular especially from a high floor, that said we could hear noise from Duke's even from the 15th floor.
- The general decor and feel from both the hotel and the rooms is very 70's. That said the rooms and hotel were clean, it just has a dated style and while it has recently renovated.. it really could do with a makeover to make it a little more modern.

Room Tip: High floor on beach side (ocean view, or ocean front recommended) Avoid rooms with an adjoining room Expect noise, this is the heart of Waikiki and it is not a quiet place Pack your patience if visiting during peak periods
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Nada J. Thank you for spending 8 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The summary of your experience with us is very informative and useful for our management team. Please accept our apologies for the noisy neighbors you encountered during your stay. We thank you for notifying security and allowing us the opportunity to relocate you to a different room. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This review has been pending for 6 months.
We arrived Sunday morning from India at 7am (16th December 2013)...but we didn't get the room.till 3pm.
We were in Hawaii for just 3 days. And...once we got the room I ebded up sleeping till 9 pm.
The day was wasted...and sleep pattern was pretty lousy the entire time.

I wish you could do something about the check in policy.

My other problem was that via concierge. .in the reception we took a tour for pearl harbor.
This lady told us to carry our id's...as Pearl Harbour would want to see it.
Saldy we were the only two people with jackets...and it was pretty uncool.as noone needed to see the passports. Would be good, if the concierge knew what is needed where fir sure.

Other than that..99/100.

This was my 2nd visit..my 1st visit was in 1999 for my honeymoon.
Back then outrigger had a Voyagers Club..it was indeed pricey--but it had breakfast and was something exciting.

Missed that.


Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Z R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Z R. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach in December of 2013. The guaranteed check-in time for our hotel is 3:00pm each day. Guests who have a very early flight into Honolulu and would like to be guaranteed a room upon arrival are encouraged to book their room for the night before their arrival date. This will eliminate any waits for room availability and allow guests to make full use of their precious vacation time. We appreciate your comments about the tour you took to Pearl Harbor. Since Pearl Harbor is located on an active and highly secured U.S. military base, all entrants may be required to show a form of identification when asked. While you were not asked to present your passports that day, our Concierges are required to advise guests to carry their identifications in case it becomes necessary. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I can't say it was bad but I we'll say I have stayed at better. There was nothing special about it. My biggest disappointment was hotel lobby seating. There was no place in the lobby to sit and look at the beach. The choices we're sit in the restaurant or on the beach in the sun. One last problem they did not clean the rooms great and I mention it to the front desk with no change. Again ok but not great.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Acguydcouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Acguydcouch. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to disappoint you with the lack of lobby seating that directly overlooks the beach. Many of our guests are happy to enjoy the spectacular ocean views from our spacious poolside sundecks, either one of our three beachfront restaurants or from their private room balconies. Your feedback about our Housekeeping service will be reviewed by our management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews