We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've just returned from 10 nights at this hotel and I really couldn't fault anything! The location was amazing in between the Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider! The beach was perfect on our little stretch, further up and down it was a bit rocky! The rooms were a decent side with enough space for luggage,walking in wardrobe, great pressure in the shower! we were on the 14th floor with a partial ocean view on the Diamond Head side and the views were great. The staff were helpful and friendly. Across the road is an ABC convenience store and a few metres down the road is the Cheesecake factory! everything is at your doorstep. They also have washing machines if you need to do some washing and drying at $3 per machine. I would come back here in a flash!

Room Tip: I would aim for a high floor we were on the 14th floor (I think there are 16 floors in total) we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Bec2302. Thank you for spending ten nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our great value, amazing location, perfect beach, spacious rooms, great views and helpful staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location in the heart of Waikiki. Rooms are large and comfortable and All rooms have balconies. If you are planning to stay at the hotel I suggest keep checking their website for great deals as we booked ours on a deal and got a great deal. I would definitely return to this hotel but it's more adult friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ENDLESSPOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha ENDLESSPOSS. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. All 524 of our guest rooms feature private balconies for guests to fully enjoy our oceanfront location. Your recommendation to check our website, www.outrigger.com, is an excellent one. Throughout the year, we offer discounted room rates and special packages for stays at our property or any of Outrigger's worldwide locations in the Hawaiian Islands, Australia, Thailand, Fiji, Guam and Mauritius. Our website features full descriptions of each resort as well as photographs of their different room categories, amenities and concessions. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

It would have to be positioned right in front of the best part of Waikiki beach and yes with that you have to pay the price also of being in the heart of sardineville....Honestly we were like sardines on the beach trying to find a tiny piece of sand to lay our towels on. One time I was lying on my towel sunbaking and some man crossed his arm over my legs!!! I yelped and he apologised. Outrigger was a pleasant stay we were on the 8th floor POV Diamond head side.(make sure you book above 7th floor you get better views of water and Diamond head side is quieter. Rooms were spacious clean and comfy but I think all bed linen should be white to brighten the room up a bit current bed linen looks dark and drab.
Dukes was ok for casual dining (very loud) and chucks steak house was great with excellent views . The Hula pie was a disappointment it was just a big piece of icecream with some cream on top and I wouldn't be calling that a pie! I went to this hotel thinking I would be using their beachfront pool every day but to be honest I never used it once, it was small, crowded with kids and just uninviting. The beach was just beautiful thought....
The Outrigger is a very busy hotel and has an awful lot of foot traffic. People from neighbouring hotels and resorts use it as a thoroughfare to get to the beach and to be honest hotel staff had no idea if we were hotel guests or not.. We were there for 7 nights and no one knew who we were the entire time, there is no personal service here and that was kind of sad :-(
Overall great spot to stay but would probably book elsewhere next time,
I also disliked the way hotel staff would always try and talk you into attending time share presentations for a cheap free breakfast on a daily basis...shame on you Outrigger!!!!
Make sure you visit factory outlets for some great bargains we got heaps!!

Room Tip: diamond head side and above 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenbeestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha shmolly. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for taking the time to share your opinions about our location, beach, rooms, restaurants and service. We hope you will decide to stay with us during your next visit to Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,W.A
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just stayed for 6 nights in an ocean front room. had booked ocean view but decided when we got there to upgrade. This was now our 3rd stay at this hotel and just love the location, right on the beach. Each time we have now had ocean front and although a little pricey, was truly worth it. They sound proofed the rooms with the last renovations which were finished in July 2012.we arrived then just as they finished and much better to the first time. LOOOOVE the rocker chair on the balcony and we had the 7th floor so the noise from Dukes downstairs wasn't too bad. Once you closed your balcony door, you could hardly hear a thing. Beds are super comfortable and really nice fluffy clean towels. Pool attendants were very friendly and helpful thou make sure you get a "new" beach towel as there are some thin old ones lurking around. Had breakfast at Dukes one morning, not bad but think you pay for the amazing views. Only saw one turtle this year which was very disappointing as the last 2 times, saw them very regularly from our balcony. Had a little problem with our Air conditioner being too cold, mentioned to front desk but wasn't fixed. Ended up sleeping with the doona but the manager was so apologetic to us when we checked out. Would go next door to the Moana for my coffee ,Honolulu coffee company, great service there and really nice fruit and yogurts, and yes, alright, nice banana bread too. Ate at Chucks but my steak was really tough, bit disappointing. Love the Cheesecake Factory right next door so overall Outrigger Waikiki is a superb location. The new swipe first card to use the lifts is a new idea since we were there last but once you got the hang of it, it was fine. Good to see they are looking after the security issues in this hotel. One word of advice, be aware of the Wyndam free present. The guy we spoke to did not mention anything about time share, but we got a free breakfast at the Outrigger Reef and a $125 MasterCard to use which we had breakfast at Dukes and a meal at Chuck's. ah well, one of life's experiences I suppose. Would highly recommend the Outrigger but don't expect the furnishings in the room to be ultra modern. they have furnished it with tradition but super clean and when we walked into our room, it smelt absolutely beautiful. Do try the little sandwich bar downstairs, fresh and fantastic service.

Room Tip: defiantly ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Pip1413. Thank you for spending 6 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you decided to upgrade from an Oceanview room to an Oceanfront room upon check-in. During our extensive renovation in 2012, all of the balconies in our Oceanfront rooms were restyled with glass railings to give guests a completely unobstructed view of the beach, perfect for lounging while watching the ocean activity below. Mahalo Nui Loa for your many positive comments and continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

First time visiting Hawaii, my family and i stayed at this hotel for about a week. Very good service, The staff was very nice, no complaints about this hotel whatsoever. A defiant must is to eat breakfast downstairs at dukes, amazing breakfast all you can eat buffet with the beautiful beach view. This hotel is also located on the major island shopping strip where very high end stores are located such as chanel, as well aside from high end stores the international market is across the hotel, lots of cool stuff in there. Hawaii has got to be the best place iv ever traveled to in the world, i highly recommend anyone to come here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Any room is good but obviously beach view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Melisa C. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first visit to Hawai`i. It is such a compliment that our island home is the best place you have ever traveled to in the world. Mahalo Nui Loa for letting our staff and property be a part of your wonderful memories of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days after travelling around before we went home, rooms are big and comfortable, we stayed on 12 floor with slight water views which was more then expected.
Cleaning staff are very friendly and also other staff. Next time I come to Hawaii I would stay out of town a bit as it is very busy. Swimming is great. The only thing is u have to pay for all extras like chairs or lounges on beach which normally is included. But stay was great and place is in a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Brooke E. Thank you for spending ten days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy you had a great stay with us to commence your lengthy travels away from home. Please come back soon for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

My niece recommended Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Perfect place to sit back and soak in the wonderful atmosphere of Waikiki. Dukes downstairs provides an amazing venue to watch the sun set over the beautiful beach with a cocktail in hand. Central to everything, comfy beds and wonderful service. Would definitely go back. Refill of tea and coffee supplies was a little lacking. Small thing though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Lucinda R. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach at your niece’s recommendation. The combination of our spectacular oceanfront location and three of Oahu's most popular restaurants on-site makes us the perfect place for guests to take in the beautiful Hawaiian sunset with a tropical cocktail in hand and live music in the background. We hope you will return for another relaxing visit in the future, and when you do, please do not hesitate to let our staff know if you need any of your in-room amenities replenished during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing