We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location in Waikiki”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hubby and I had a lovely time staying at the Outrigger Waikiki, the front entrance looks good (freshly painted cream) and very inviting. It is an older hotel but very comfortable, our room was a good size and the bathroom/toilet/wardrobe was an odd combination but worked fine. The only thing I can say negative is that the sliding doors to the balconies are heavy and when they were opened by the people next door it sounds like a roll of thunder (can be irritating late at night when you want to sleep and the people are in and out constantly). But that's just a small thing. The rest of the experience was great. Duke's Bar on the lower lobby level (beach level) was jumping the night we arrived as it was a major ballgame, people dancing to a live band on the beach ... such a wonderful atmosphere as the sun was setting. The Hula Grill for breakfast was excellent, even if your not staying at this hotel come for the breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElaineMOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha ElaineMOman. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such a delight to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa for painting a wonderful picture of our lively atmosphere and energetic vibe for future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,573
    1,531
    411
    138
    60
See reviews for
1,477
2,074
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for Probowl 2014. The location of his hotel is perfect if you want to be in the center of it all during Probowl weekend. My room was average with a partial view of the ocean of you step outside of the balcony. The hotel has its on beach but what I didn't like is that they didn't have free chairs for guests. You have to pay for the cabanas and everyone can be in the crowded beach. Duke's restaurant is a popular hangout of locals and tourist so its a bonus that its at the hotel. Overall, the hotel is convenient for what we wanted to do during Probowl weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha DTravelDiva. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your ProBowl vacation. Our hotel was located right in the center of the largest ProBowl All-Star block party in Waikiki. Each year, guests and locals look forward to the 6-hour event featuring seven stages of headline entertainment and over 100 food and craft tents. We are so glad you enjoyed our location in the center of it all. We hope to see you at next year's ProBowl event. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is not worth $1800 for 5 nights in double room with city view. We stayed on the 5th floor and very noise even with the door closed. The coffee & tea maker and mini fridge is situates together with the bathroom/toilet which is odd.
Unfriendly and unhelpful check in experience with Alex.
Staffs at Bell Services are very friendly & helpful especially - a gentleman name Skip.
However hotel location is very good which is closed to International brand name shops, DFS , Macy's and Cheesecake Factory and other restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha Chi N. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your comments about our employees, especially your kind words about our doorman, Skip. Please accept our apologies for any disappointments during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We went to Waikiki to celebrate my birthday (and get away from the coldest, snowiest winter in 30 years). We go every year and both agree that the choice of this hotel definitely added to fun. Very satisfied! Reservations, check-in, bell services, room (size, furniture, balcony, cleanliness, LCD TV, refrigerator, coffee....), service with a smile, amenities, pool, spa, restaurants, location, location, location....the Outrigger on the Beach had it all down to a science! The renovations were well done. We appreciate how flexible they were with our check in date as we were flying standby. We enjoyed it all and will visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank PAK_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha PAK_Chicago. Hau`oli La Hanau (Happy Birthday)! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you escaped the snowy weather and enjoyed a fun-filled vacation with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We own a boutique travel company and are constant travellers ourselves. We booked an ocean view room on line through trip advisor. This hotel has by far the rudest staff working the front desk we have ever encountered. My partner and I arrived at the hotel separately. My partner arriving from another country at 6.00am and I to arrive early afternoon. I had requested a possible early check in for my partner in our on line booking but we were not counting on this as we know that it is not always possible. No problem there at all and no grievance.

What we were not counting on was the appalling treatment of my partner caused by her early arrival ahead of me as the registered guest. Even though she had all the booking details and reference she was told that until I arrived she was not able to access the room or use any of the resort facilities until i had arrived and registered. This is in itself is unusual in our experience as we often arrive separately to hotels and have never had this issue before anywhere else.

Although we think that is unusual we are of course very willing to accept the policy of the hotel but what we will not accept is the appallingly rude treatment of my partner in the time before i arrived

After a 12 hour flight she politely enquired if there was somewhere she could store her bag while waiting for me to arrive , The aggressive male person at reception just pointed and showed no inclination to assist in any way or explain where the luggage could be kept. The same thing occurred when she asked where the restaurant was and if she could buy breakfast. Again he was surly and unhelpful. This continued when sh Once this person had established that she was waiting for me and not registered herself his treatment and manner was rude, surly aggressive and unhelpful. A real nasty piece of work.

To make matters worse ( and this is why we are writing) when we were checking out the next day we asked to speak to the manager on duty The person at reception said she was the manager which we later found out to be not true. She said she understood our point of view but showed no real interest or empathy and it was clear she did not care .

We also found other staff working there to be surly and have no service orientation The most notable exception to that were the valet and garage staff who were very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough to assist. We gave them a very good tip despite the disgraceful treatment we received at the hotel Overall the hotel is nothing special and there are many many other options to choose from, There are plenty of hidden fees and charges so make sure you check all the details out. Also I would recommend seeing the room you ordered to make sure that it does indeed meet the standard you requested, eg ocean view, high floor etc.

We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world of all different standards and in both mainstream and exotic locations , we are particularly experienced travellers in the US so we do know what we are comparing this to. We have never ever had to go to the trouble to write a review like this and in thirty years of extensive travel I think I have had to speak to a manager once to rectify a problem which it was. We are not serial complainers or whingers this was out and out appalling treatment. We will be taking every opportunity we can to let this be known

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Slipstream01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Aloha Slipstream01. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry our staff could not check-in your partner when she arrived to the hotel ahead of you, the registered guest. For the safety and security of all of our guests, our hotel policy does not permit unregistered individuals access to any guest rooms or facilities. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any unsatisfactory service she experienced from any of our staff members. Your detailed feedback will be carefully reviewed by our management team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

we recently made the outrigger our home for 7 days and we would rate it overall as a pretty good experience. The hotel is well positioned which makes it easy to shop,eat or chill out on the beach. It is also attached to dukes and the hula grill which services consistently good food and is even a great bar to sit at to sip on cocktail and listen to live music. Our room was of average size (not the smallest nor the largest in waikiki). The queen size bed was more of a double and the bathrooms were definitely the smallest I've ever seen. Having stayed at a few of the waikiki properties and had it not been on sale i'd probably stay at one of the other hotels like the royal since there all about the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsbui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Aloha itsbui. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our position on the beach and our oceanfront restaurants - Duke’s Waikiki and the Hula Grill. We hope you will stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I took our daughter, son-in-law and two teenage granddaughters to Waikiki, Oahu at the end of January, '14.
As we have stayed in this hotel a few times before my wife insisted that we stay here again.
We both feel very comfortable here and we relax as if we were at home.
The hotel and excellent staff have never disappointed us.
Add Duke's Bar & Restaurant, the very close proximity to the beach and the hotel's central location and we envisage a few more visits and stays here.
My earlier reviews describe our previous stays in some detail, so, this review is pretty much just to reinforce our satisfaction with the hotel and to recommend it again to potential travelers to Waikiki.
I read that some reviewers have been disappointed that they did not get sweeping views of the ocean.
Unless you book an Ocean Front room you cannot expect that type of view from pretty much any hotel on the beach.
This hotel is situated between the Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider and therefore cannot offer wide views.
However, as I have stated, there are views and quite reasonable ones in spite of this.
It's all about location and this hotel has that.
Spend the money and you get what you pay for.
See the attached photo taken from our room category.
I also read that some people found their rooms to have a musty smell.
We have stayed here more than once, as I have stated above, and have never found this.
Our family had three rooms on the occasion of this holiday and nobody noticed any smell of any kind.
My wife and I stayed in the Moana Surfrider, in the old building, on a previous holiday and DID in fact notice a musty smell.
My advice is to just see the staff on the front desk and ask them, nicely, to remedy the situation.
We did and received satisfaction.
Be nice and receive nice.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Ocean Front, Deluxe Ocean View, Ocean View, and Partial Ocean View. Naturally the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2ozzietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Aloha 2ozzietravellers. Thank you for bringing your family to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your continued patronage over the years and we are so happy to hear that you feel right at home with us. Your advice to future visitors could not be better stated. Mahalo Nui Loa for posting an informative review from an experienced traveler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,976 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing