We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$606
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$686
$589
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$500
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$519
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$609
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$550
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$754
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,158)
Filter reviews
5,158 results
Traveler rating
2,885
1,626
436
144
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,885
1,626
436
144
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshula grillocean frontdukes restauranthula piewaikiki beachlower lobbypartial ocean viewthe cheesecake factorydiamond head sideoceanfront rooma city view roomthe international marketplaceour honeymoonthe royal hawaiianfantastic locationbell staffnorth shore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,409 - 2,414 of 5,158 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in October at the end of our 2 week holiday in Hawaii. The room was very clean with a partial view of the ocean from our small lanai. It was very noisy however, as we overlooked the other hotels and restaurants, and in the early hours of the morning we would hear the crashing of bottles being thrown into the bins and truck deliveries etc. Our room had all the basic facilities of a hotel. Beds were comfortable. Most staff were friendly, just sometimes the Bell staff were a bit rude or less accommodating. Dukes Restaurant serves wonderful buffet breakfasts, but got too busy with long queues and waiting times at dinner time - so get there early! This hotel is in an excellent location - right on the beach at the back and you step right into the main shopping strip at the front! I would recommend asking for a room on the Diamond head side, as had this been the start of our holiday we would have been very disappointed with the noise and position of it. Apart from that - it deserves its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha Ben M. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location, Duke's breakfast buffet and our clean rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa for your constuctive comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach twice in 2006 and enjoyed it. We stayed again just before Christmas 2013 for 3 nights and found it even better after its fairly recent refurb. The Christmas decorations were lovely - we appreciated their tropical theme. Our room was an Ocean View room which gave us a side-on view of the beach and the ocean between our hotel and the Royal Hawaiian Tower next door. Loved the lanai although it would have been better if we had been on the other side of the building away from the air-conditioner noise from the Royal Hawaiian Centre next door, but this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the view and the amazing sunsets from the lanai. We couldn't hear the noise when the sliding balcony door was closed.

The room was spacious with a big bed and a nice big sofa. We liked the fact that the room was not too starkly modern - it had some pleasant Hawaiian touched such as the hula-girl lamp standard and the Polynesian-inspired furnishings and carpet. The bathroom was a total joy - modern, bright, spacious and functional with a combo shower/bath with a neat curtain which kept the floor dry!

We enjoyed breakfasts at Dukes, maitais at The Hula Grill and a dinner at Chuck's Steakhouse and one day bought a fresh-made-while-you-wait sandwich from the very busy little lunch bar between the lobby and the pool. All were very good. The convenience store in the hotel has a good range of things to buy and good wine prices. We bought a couple of wine glasses from the convenience store as that's one thing missing in the room - no wine glasses. Perhaps one could request wine glasses through Hotel Room Service but we didn't think of that at the time.

The complimentary Wifi worked really well and we made full use of it.

The staff are all great and we received very good service on departure for our Pride of America cruise from the Bell Desk who happily stapled our cruise baggage labels and called us a taxi to the pier.

This hotel is in the centre of everything at Waikiki and we think it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed is a Corner Suite, an Ocean Front and an Ocean View room and all are great. Would suggest a room on Diamond Head side if possible but Royal Hawaiian side is OK too, you just get a bit of noise from the Royal Hawaiian Centre airconditioning plant, although it's not too intrusive.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noosafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha Noosafella. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your compliments about our facilities, restaurants, service and staff. On your next stay, please do not hesitate to ask our Front Desk for wine glasses. We will be more than happy to send some to your room. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first time in Hawaii; but, it won’t be our last! We went to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The renewal of our vows on the Outriggers Beach at 7:30 in the morning was breath-taking! Boyana of Nature’s Touch Photography is the “best of the best”! Her expertise, kindness and professionalism were “second to none.” Her photos were great! She has given us some heartwarming memories & keepsakes to last us forever. Overall, our two weeks that we were in Hawaii (including a cruise) was a memory for a lifetime. Thanks to Outrigger and special thanks to Boyana for making our 20th anniversary celebration one we will never forget! Rodney, Susie & Tyree

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank suebee325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha suebee325. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you for celebrating your very special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you participated in our vow renewal ceremony. We have received numerous compliments about the ceremony and we are pleased to offer it to our guests four times a week at absolutely no charge. Your many compliments about our professional photographer, Boyanna, will be shared with her and our management team. Boyanna is a true asset to our `ohana and we appreciate the beautiful job she does of capturing the fondest memories on film time and time again. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the Outrigger in 12 months and we are already planning to stay again for Christmas 2014.

We again stayed in a deluxe Diamond Head oceanfront suite which is perfect for our family of two adults and two daughters aged 12 and 14 as there is a separate bedroom and two full bathrooms. The rooms are impeccably clean and are serviced twice daily by friendly housekeeping staff. In our opinion, it is worth the expense for the oceanfront suite and is comparable to booking two adjoining rooms without the view. It is a bonus having both Dukes and Hula Grill downstairs and we visited at least one of them daily for breakfast, lunch, pupus or dinner.

We again also enjoyed a couple of classes with Wally in the main lobby who is an absolute asset to the Outrigger.

Please read my earlier review for more detail as this visit was just as great as our last and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Griswalds2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha Griswalds2074. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. Our Deluxe One-Bedroom Oceanfront suites are perfect for families who want to make the most of their vacation in Hawai`i. From those suites, guests can wake up to breath-taking views of Waikiki Beach, the Pacific Ocean and iconic Diamond Head volcano. It is wonderful to hear that you participated in our weekly cultural activities taught by our very own Uncle Wally. Uncle Wally is a true Na Mea Ho`okipa (host) who loves to share his genuine Aloha with visitors from around the world. His gentle, welcoming personality helps guests to feel like they are part of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach `ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lively stay here in September 2013, in an Ocean View room. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Service excellent. Visited Dukes numerous times and the Hula Grill for breakfast is delicious and excellent value. Pool and proximity to beach was great for our 11 month old daughter.

The only small downside was the room service menu is very limited, and not much healthy/ vegetarian options (we are not vegetarian but sometimes need veggies!).

Room Tip: Ocean view is lovely - sit and enjoy your takeaway coffee or lunch with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jleonardAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha jleonardAustralia. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you and your family enjoyed a lovely stay with us. Your feedback about our room service menu options are appreciated and will be communicated to our management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews