We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$337
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,248)
Filter reviews
5,248 results
Traveler rating
2,945
1,650
442
144
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,945
1,650
442
144
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshula grillocean frontdukes restauranthula piewaikiki beachlower lobbypartial ocean viewthe cheesecake factorydiamond head sideoceanfront rooma city view roomthe international marketplaceour honeymoonthe royal hawaiianfantastic locationbell staffnorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
2,629 - 2,634 of 5,248 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We received excellent service prior to our stay at the hotel from Garrett who was one of the concierge staff. After emailing a few times back and forth with our requests he recommended the best tour companies.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, one of the best on the strip. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and I had informed the hotel and asked for a high floor if possible. We arrived earlier than check in but our room was ready and to our amazement we were given a side ocean view on the twelfth floor. Also, a few minutes later, champagne was delivered with a congratulations card. We were also surprised to see our name in the newsletter again offering congratulations. It wasn't long before we were sipping champagne on the balcony overlooking Waikiki beach!
The room was spotless, large and the layout was excellent with the wardrobe and dressing area off the bedroom which led to the bathroom. The toiletries were replenished daily and the shampoo and conditioner were the best quality I have ever used at a hotel, even the hairdryer was powerful. There were lots of plugs to charge phones, cameras etc.
The pool area was small and there was not much room in between the beds, nor were there any brollies, this is my only gripe. The brollies on the beach were $60 per day.
We had breakfast at the Hula Grill and Dukes but actually preferred Dukes as the variety was excellent and the food very good especially considering it was buffet style. The waiters were lovely and the service was brilliant. We always asked for an outside table as the views of the beach and Diamond Head were worth it and to be honest we only waited a few minutes for a table.
In all we had a fantastic stay andI cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank p999hug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Aloha p999hug. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o - Happy 35th Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are honored that you have chosen to stay with us and we are glad to have made your visit a memorable one. Your positive comments about our concierge, Garrett, will be passed on to him. Mahalo Nui Loa for highly recommending our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A clean hotel, lovely people working there. 3 restaurants were terrific with Duke's having a wonderful breakfast. The Deli downstairs was amazing too, they work so hard but with big smiles, not to mention Seattle's Coffee shop was great. The valet parking staff were amazing, they seemed to be there 18 hours a day. I saw one worker start before 6am and was still there at 9pm, amazing effort by them all. I would stay at this hotel again, we had a city view hotel but could see the beach as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tutankarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Aloha tutankarm. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are so happy that you loved your stay here. Mahalo Nui Loa for your lovely compliments about our staff, restaurants, cleanliness and views. Please come back soon for another great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just came back from Honolulu today and stayed at this property because it is beach front and in a good and convenient location. It is a bit pricey for the rooms but I guess any hotel in Waikiki, especially the beach front ones would be just as much. I liked our room's cleanliness, it had been recently renovated, the bathroom is really nice and clean. The only thing that was not satisfactory was the fact that they had provided no umbrella around the poolside chairs, and the sun can be quite scorching during the day.
The restaurants attached to the hotel are not particularly outstanding, especially Dukes, their breakfast buffet are quite limited in choices. Hula grill upstairs is a much better restaurant.
However, if they put some umbrellas next to the chairs around their pool I will go back.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms are cheaper.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classygalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Aloha classygalVancouver. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you noticed our recent renovations and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. Our General Manager is currently in the process of reviewing possible shade options for our pool decks. Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Waikiki. Everything about it is good, excellent location, staff friendly and helpful, and it has a good ambience. We stayed in an oceanview room which did not disappoint. Our room was spacious and clean and it was lovely sitting on the balcony gazing at the beach. Really enjoyed the pool area, although it is in urgent need of a bit of shade. Loved that it is right on the beach. Drank and dined at the three excellent restaurants. All in all a wonderful stay and we will definitely be staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taskatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Aloha taskatarina. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are so happy you loved this hotel! Your compliments about our friendly staff, excellent location, enjoyable pool area, spacious Oceanview room and our 3 excellent oceanfront restaurants are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were 2 couples who spent 4 nights here from the 7th - 11th. We purchased 2 ocean view rooms, cost $350 plus per room per night and would not recommend as I believe any room on the floor we were on (16th) would get same views as what we did for a lot less. Rooms are pretty basic, balcony's small on the City side yet the diamond head side where our friends were had a large balcony and good ocean view. Staff not overly welcoming and friendly upon our arrival and we did not have much to do with them during our stay. We ate at the front of Dukes on 2 nights and the food and service was great. Did not use the pool or spa at all due to being on the go heaps, and also the beach is at your door step was a big plus. The people that organised tours etc. were great and we done a snorkelling tour, Laua (paradise cove) and also hired a car through them. They are near your elevator. Used laundry which was a big plus as had not used it during mainland stay. Hotel great location for everything.

Room Tip: if you want great views go with ocean front but don't waste money on ocean views as they are basic and cost heaps, go with the cheaper options that will get the same views for loss $$$, if possible get Diamond head side and not city side, diamond head side you get good ocean views, watch turtles etc. don't upgrade from basic to ocean view you will waste your $$, get high up if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Aloha Andrew M. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your friends and family. We are sorry to hear that you did not see the benefit of being in an Oceanview room. While we have rooms in different categories located on the either the east or west facing sides of our building, the Oceanview rooms are situated much closer to the ocean and offer excellent views of the beach. For more information on our different room types, as well as photographs, please visit our website at www.outrigger.com. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews