We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Waikiki on the beach-It's Paradise...Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outrigger Waikiki on the beach-It's Paradise...Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Best vacation experience ever, waking up to breathtaking views from our hotel room balcony of Waikiki beach and Diamond Head Crater was like a dream. The Outrigger service and rooms were clean and spacious. Dukes bar served up some delicious food fresh seafood Mahi-Mahi and tasty cocktail drinks. On Fridays there is a live band playing music and mixing with folks from around the world made it great. The hotel is right on the beach so you can relax, learn how to surf, take a catamaran ride and enjoy a sunset on the ocean. You have shops within walking distance and across the street is the International Marketplace for shopping. They have a pick-a-pearl kiosk. Here you can open an oyster and find a pearl inside, then select a setting and have a keep sake treasure to take home with you. It's a really neat thing to do. There are plenty of tours on the island and you must go to a luau while there. Meeting the local Hawaiian people is a treat. They love to share their culture and can tell you of places to explore on the island. This place is great for couples and families too. Can't wait to go back. Aloha!

Room Tip: Select the ocean view and book it for the month of May and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citychic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Aloha citychic31. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted to have contributed to your best vacation experience ever! It is wonderful to hear that you had a great time meeting the local residents of Hawai`i. Our staff members are all local residents from multi-cultural backgrounds such as Hawai`i, Guam, China, Korean, Japan, the Philippines, the U.S. mainland, Thailand, Serbia and Vietnam. Like the locals you have met, they are more than happy to share where they are from, what is unique about their native culture and tips on the best things to explore on their beloved island home. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back soon for another wonderful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    1,543
    411
    139
    60
See reviews for
1,497
2,080
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Partial ocean view is same as city view (have had both.) Don't pay the extra for partial ocean.

Busy but fun atmosphere.

Plenty to do in town.

As all the beach side hotels there is immediate access to the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zachulhaq
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Aloha Zachulhaq. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you have stayed in both our City View rooms and our Partial Oceanview rooms. While the rooms in both of those categories are located on the either the east or west facing sides of our building, the Partial Oceanview rooms are situated closer to the ocean and offer better views of the beach. In addition, many of our City View rooms are located on the lower floors and are smaller in size than our rooms in the higher categories. For more information on the differences between our room types, please call us at 808-923-0711. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Being my first time in Honolulu, I had no idea what to expect from the city's hotels. Our airport shuttle dropped my wife and I off outside the Outrigger on a busy touristy street before noon. The Outrigger doesn't offer much in curb appeal, as it seems to blend in with the row of other hotels and shops along the street. When we went to the front desk to check in we were informed that our room was not ready but their bell service could check our bags for us while we got lunch and used their beach and pool.
The Outrigger is in prime location as we were able to shop and grab lunch right across the street at the International Market. After lunch, we used their beach and pool for a majority of the afternoon. The beach is great and has a spectacular view of Diamond Head. There are many activities right on the beach including, snorkeling, canoeing and catamaran tours. The pool is a good size and has drink service.
After walking into our oceanfront room, we were absolutely blown away! I couldn't decide whether the ocean views or the jet tub was better. The room was immaculately cleaned and the balcony was a perfect size. We were happy to sleep with the balcony door open listening to the ocean throughout the night and waking up to the sun rise of Diamond Head. This may very well be the best hotel room I have ever stayed in!
The Hula Grill and Duke's restaurants also offer great food, drinks, and a truly authentic Hawaiian feel. I cannot say enough good things about this place and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsuke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Aloha tsuke23. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first visit to Honolulu. It is such a compliment to hear that one of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms may very well be the best hotel room you have ever stayed in. One of the best ways to enjoy a vacation in paradise is to soak in the room's jacuzzi tub while listening to the sound of the waves and watching the sun rise or set. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IL
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 8 days. We loved that it was right across from the international marketplace and we could be on the beach in minutes. Bell services and concierge were outstanding. We used the sandwich shop and gift shop several times. Maid service was good, rooms were nice sized and we had a partial view of the ocean and a balcony. Refrigerator but no microwave, used room service several times. My only complaints were the elevators were very slow and I didn't care for the bedding. There was a undersized blanket between two sheets and every time we turned over the comforter slid onto the floor. I would stay here again if the price were right.

Room Tip: Ocean view will not get the sound of the waves as the noise is drowned out by the A/C unit in an adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgal143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha travelgal143. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be fabulous. We hope you enjoyed our room service meals. Our hotel does provide microwaves for use at no charge. Guests just need to request a microwave from one of our staff members and it will be delivered to the room. Please come back for another stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Dennys IS Nearby For More Reasonable Food Prices. Pool And Hot Tub, Three Different Restaurants In The Hotel.Great Views From The Ocean Front Rooms. More Noisy Than Maui, But Noise From People Having Fun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha BJSimmons. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were surrounded by people having fun. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We always choose this hotel for its location and great atmosphere. The location fronts the best stretch of Waikiki Beach and it is worth the price for that reason alone.
Of course Dukes is always a hit with the family.
The only negative is that we found the wi-fi reception very poor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha K2GO. Thank you for always choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are honored to have loyal return guests, such as you and your family. Your feedback about our wireless internet will be used for future improvements to our property. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful shores of Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My first time in Hawaii was wonderful at this resort. The resort was everything I thought it would be. Duke's food was great. Staff was always helpful. Very very clean. I have no bad things to say about the resort. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdjeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha tdjeva. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first visit to Hawai`i. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and nothing bad to say about our property. Please come back for another great vacation in paradise. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,014 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing