We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If have to be in Waikiki is a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Waikiki would never be first choice in Hawaii but the outrigger is clean and in a great location. Everything is expensive and the beach is small and very crowded. Parking is $35 a day. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Have stayed here twice and would definitely go back if needed to be in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Aloha Laura I, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs. Your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location in Waikiki. It sits directly in front of famous Waikiki beach and within walking distance to every shop, restaurant, and activity you could possibly imagine. The hotel is very well kept, and the rooms are very nice also. Great bang for your buck. We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Waikiki.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room closer to the ocean to reduce the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetspeed219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Aloha Jetspeed219, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fabulous hotel directly on the beach in waikiki. Very friendly staff for every service we encountered. Loved the location as it is very central to everything. The size of the hotel is great as it is not too large so it's easy to get around. We rented the beach umbrellas and ate at Dukes and Hula Grill restaurants. The food and drinks were all very good. We sat at Dukes bar and chilled out and all of this is just a step to the ocean. After we checked out, and later in the day, we were given a complimentary hospitality room to freshen up before our flight. We had a great time and I highly recommend this hotel. When we come back to waikiki we will definately stay at the outrigger waikiki again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNJNalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Aloha CNJNalberta, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've been to Oahu twice now and the second time I stayed here at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach—March 21-March26—and I will never stay anywhere else again. My friend and I, both young adults, absolutely loved our stay. The staff at both the hotel and Duke's are so friendly and helpful; our room was beautiful, clean, and always stocked with everything we needed; our housekeeper, Mia, was the sweetest lady; and we had a killer view for booking one of their cheapest rooms. The location is amazing as it's right on the beach. I highly recommend Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to anyone looking to stay on this island. Best hotel I've stayed at ever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Aloha Nicole J, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the new future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a fantastic Hotel, location was right on the beach, the Dukes Bar, just sensational, the service throughout the complex was the best. If you are looking for THE place to flop and drop this IS the spot. Very friendly staff, we highly recommend a stay here if it's just relaxation you are looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John and Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Aloha John and Sue R, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. You comments will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel for 10 Years and for the last 7 years we have stayed over 40 nights a year. Unfortunately the check-in process and room assignment had been a negative experience almost very time in the last 3 years at least. The guest services staff is not pleasant and we are easy to please people. The hotel seems not to appreciate our loyalty. They always assign is a room with an issue and as I said we are easy to please. We have wonderful relationships with the Valets and Bell staff after all our years coming.
In the past we have repeatedly been given rooms with loud exhaust fan noise from Duke's all day and night. Also a room with loud vibrating pipes next to our bed that kept us up all night. The staff always recognizes the fact that the rooms were assigned to have noise issues. We wouldn't even mind the street noise compared to the other! And if they know its an issue, why don't they repair it! Or at least don't put your loyal guests in these rooms. This time we have a room with a mildew smell. The Oitrigger has done some remodeling and raised they're prices 50% since. The location is great and the furnishings in the rooms are nice but they have a lot of issues to work out. When they are busy, you'll wait FOREVER to use the elevator. I finally started climbing the 12 flights of stairs because waiting 10 minutes is ridiculous! What bothers me the most is their lack of aloha spirit. We have stayed on many hotels, condos and resorts throughout all the islands and unfortunately Outrigger has had the least amount of aloha spirit. We are definitely on a search for a new place to stay for all our visits.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohanatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Aloha ohanatravelers, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty in the past years. Your concerns are important to us as it will help us strive to improve our services and enhance our guest experiences. We do hope to welcome you back soon so we can make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

For a view of the beach and the ocean, this is amazing. It's exactly what you think of when you think of typical Hawaii tourist hotel, nice but not what I would call 5 star. We reserved an Ocean Front room but our reservation was messed up somehow and they ended up upgrading us to a Suite for a "special" price of something like 1/4 the price difference. So, we were paying more than we'd anticipated, but had an lovely, but not spectacular, suite to enjoy. Whatever. We didn't want that to spoil our trip.

The beach was VERY crowded, but we were there for Spring Break and kind of expected that. We had breakfast every morning at Dukes downstairs where they buffet is nice, but was the same every single day. A little variety would have been nice. The pool was on the small side, but that's pretty normal since everyone was on the beach. The chairs around the pool were taken early with "placeholder" towels, which always annoys me. I don't know the proper etiquette for pool-side chairs, but i think if you are absent from a chair for over an hour, it's fair game. The chairs on the beach were pricey, so your options are to pay up or throw your towel down on the sand, which was fine.

The hotel is super central to everything within the downtown Waikiki area if you love to shop and there are shuttles to go elsewhere. I would definitely recommend doing some excursions with a tour group or renting a car to really tour the island and get out of Waikiki to see how gorgeous the rest of the island really is. Parking at the hotel was $35 / night, so be sure to plan to use your car and make it worth it.

The one MAJOR issue with the hotel itself were the elevators. They are HORRIBLE. There are 3 elevators, 4 if you count one around the corner. They are automated with a panel on the outside where you are to punch in your floor number and it tells you which elevator to get in. Once inside, there were no options to punch a floor. People were confused and getting on an off and the elevators were stopping constantly on floors where no one would enter or exit. It was super frustrating.

If returning to O'ahu, I would explore other parts of the island and seek out something a bit more serene less scene. The Outrigger was lovely, but not necessarily a "chill" type of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Aloha Amy B, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. In addressing your concern with the pool policy, you are correct. If chairs with towels on it are left unoccupied for one hour, our pool attendants will re-assign the pool chairs. We do apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with our elevators. With the upgraded elevators, every guest would need to enter their floor destination and will be directed to the proper elevator. Inside the elevator, there is no panel to select the floor as it has memorized your floor when you first entered it. Your concerns will be shared with our team. Should you be on Oahu again that you might give us another opportunity to improve your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $268 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing