We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunsets and rises!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great sunsets and rises!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The first skyscraper hotel I stayed in at Waikiki. The service was energetic and happy. I had a great view of Diamond Head and Waikiki' beach. Also, eat at the outrigger restaurant, the best sunset I ever saw! Aloha oē!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tikiinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha Tikiinkona, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice experience while staying with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here because we were in Honolulu for one night at the beginning of our trip. We expected to dislike the Waikiki area and the hotel as too crowded, too noisy, too touristy, and were surprised to find that we enjoyed walking around the area and found the hotel completely pleasant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha LexTraveler01, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Waikiki can be a busy and congested area. Being at a centralized location in Waikiki, our guests love the convenience of walking to the many stores and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel was first class and also is in a good location and the staff we very friendly. They had a few restaurants on the ground floor naming Dukes, The Barefoot Bar also on the 1st floor there was Hula Grill.

Room Tip: You pay more for a ocean view room but we had a city room view which we liked because we weren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aloha Lee M, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Be assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is positioned straight onto the beach. The hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The food is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The choice is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel staff are excellent . I will definitely be coming back to this hotel. Great facilities

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen room which was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalfordSalfordred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha SalfordSalfordred, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were friendly and attentive to your needs. Your feedback will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our fav hotel in Hawaii. Perfect location, center of beach! Awesome shops on lower level. Great Deli, for a quick bite on our way to the beach. Dukes Canoe Club is in on property, and had nightly entertainment. An abundance of Chaise lounges around the pool and on a side deck. Bed was outstanding. Location is perfect, walking distance to awesome shopping and great restaurants. It doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: We paid extra and did ocean front and didn't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prankstermary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aloha Prankstermary1, we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We will share you feedback with our team. We hope to see you in the near future on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jermyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger on our way over to Australia and on our way home. We were very pleased with the hotel, its staff, amenities and restaurants. The hotel has been remodeled recently and the staff were absolutely wonderful to us. On our first stay, we arrived about 5:00 pm and the girl at reception moved us to a room on the 8th floor, close to the front of the building. It had an excellent view of the beach and Diamond Head as well.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was setup with the vanity seperate from the WC and the shower. The room had free WiFi. We ate at Duke's restaurant for lunch and dinner and we were very happy with our meals and service. Just keep in mind that Duke's starts to get busy between 6:00 pm and 7:30 pm. The Hula Grill, on the 2nd floor, serves more authentic Hawaiian food and is less crowded than Duke's. But both are very good. The only downside was that the elevators were a bit slow during the busy times (mid-morning and dinner time) and the fitness center was small.

On our return trip, we arrived at 9:00 am and we were able to check into a room, even closer to the front of the hotel. It wa an upgraded room, but we were given a discounted upgrade price and we were able to enjoy the full day.

We have only great things to say about the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAtrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha PAtrekkers, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay close to the beach and shopping and dining this is the hotel for you! Lovely room and amenities were great. Dukes was a yummy place to eat with ocean views. Nice strip of Waikiki beachfront! Would stay again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aloha Lyn a, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing