We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waikiki gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently returned to the Outrigger on the beach after their renovations. While they were not as extensive as we thought they would be, it is still on of our favorite places In the world. If you want a first class view, spring for the suite with a view of Diamond Head. You might never leave the room. The view of the beach, the ocean, and Diamond Head are all you need to relax. They have added a spa on the roof top, but I was relaxed enough. Be sure to eat at Chuck's Steakhouse.

Room Tip: Want a room with ocean view, Diamond Head side the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judgepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Judgepam, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us in our deluxe oceanfront suite. The deluxe oceanfront suites are very spacious and comfortable...you definitely will not want to leave your room because you can enjoy the view from your room. The suites have spectacular views of Diamond Head and the ocean. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    1,506
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,430
2,035
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room layout is ideal for families. A walk in closet provides privacy for storage and dressing. Rooms are quite large. Ours had 2 dbls and a sofa bed.
While we had no view but a roof, the location right on the beach was very convenient. Duke's is a popular hangout with live music each night. Delicious fish tacos. The pool is nothing special and is difficult to see the water view through the beach chairs set up by a vendor. We enjoyed lounging on our towels in the sand for a day and traveled to the North Shore to see the Surf Competition the 2nd day..The 90 minute sunset sail with (free) sticky drinks was totally worth it.
If I was to repeat the experience I might stay a few blocks off the beach to save $$ and walk over. However, we did enjoy the spacious room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha gigiparis, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. As guest comfort is important to us, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few days during our visit to the Hawaiian Islands. The room was spacious and comfortable. Very clean. The only issue we encountered was we couldn't figure out how to open (unlock) the sliding glass door to our balcony. The bellman even had problems. Seems it is a two-part lock - which was shown to us within minutes of house maintenance arriving and demonstrating it to us. Not complicated at all - we felt silly afterward. That speaks a lot to their security at least. We visited the Pearl Harbor museum late in the morning of our last day. Outrigger more than accommodated us by holding our luggage for us after we checked out. When we arrived later to pick it up, the bellman had it to our car within minutes. Great service! The only caution I would advise is about dinner at one of the two restaurants - get there early! The breakfast restaurant, while a tad expensive, has a very good spread for the buffet.

Room Tip: If you get a ocean view room, you will see the ocean - and like us, maybe even Diamond Head. But und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarefreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Aloha CarefreeAdventurer, we are happy that our team was attentive to needs during your stay us. As guest comfort is important us, we are delighted that our team met your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Outrigger Team, at all their hotels, is the best. The hotel rooms are spotless. All the staff greets the guests ... from the bell staff, to the front desk people, to the housekeepers and maintenance technicians.

It is always a pleasure to stay at an Outrigger.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Steve M, thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We wanted to spend our last few days in Oahu on Waikiki Beach and decided upon the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for our memories of dining at Dukes and the central beach location. We had been at a resort on the west shore getting our rest and relaxation for several days and decided it was time to get out and have some fun.

We had reserved a Deluxe Ocean View room but hubby had us relocated to an Ocean Front room for an upgrade charge. The difference is worth the price as the view was amazing from the 15th floor and we could see a large stretch of the beach as well as amazing sunsets. We had a bonus of being there during the Honolulu Festival and enjoyed the fireworks display directly off our balcony.

The rooms are dated but clean. Beds are reasonably comfortable with basic linens. All service persons were friendly and helpful. The room we were moved to was supposed to have a spa tub however that was not the case and wasn’t important to us. We wanted the location and view which was delivered.

We dined at Dukes and Hula Grill and enjoyed both. Other options from adjoining hotels are an easy walk and fun to try. Prices considering the area were reasonable compared to where we had been staying where the restaurants were between 30-40% higher. Parking was the typical $35 per day which seems to be the standard on the island. The valets were very efficient each time we arrived or called to have our car retrieved.

We enjoyed our time and would definitely consider a return stay next trip.

Room Tip: Reserve an Ocean Front room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha AnnaAZ, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and attentive your needs. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent three nights at the Outrigger after disembarking from a cruise. Since ships have you out very early, we arrived at the hotel by 9:15am. The lovely man at reception, Reuben, not only greeted us warmly but apologized that our room with a king bed wasn't ready yet. He said if we would be interested in taking a room with 2 double beds he could accommodate us immediately and upgrade us to a room with a better view. We said yes and were checked in by 9:30.

It was a large room with a couch, desk, fridge, safe, and large bathroom with extra closet space. Small but nice lanai with a great view. Unlike many Waikiki hotels there is no added usage charge for beach access and wi-fi and phone calls to the mainland were complementary.
The lobby is a bit sterile with little seating but it's a minor point. Duke's can be noisy at night but we found the room well insulated (we were on the 7th floor and near the restaurant) so the sounds didn't bother us. The food is only OK but that's not why people go there.

The only annoying thing we found was that downstairs at the far end of the concierge desk there is a time share rep who, at least while we were there, was relentless in cutting into conversations and trying to sell her product. It made asking the concierge anything a pain and a distraction.

Perhaps in the future we might opt for a quieter spot on the beach but we have no complaints about the Outrigger and our stay there. It's in the center of the action and a welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good place to stay on Waikiki without breaking the bank. Our room overlooked the sea and was large and clean. Hotel was right across from the International Market which was a fun place to stroll around and purchase inexpensive gifts. The hotel's restaurant terrace was lovely and we had a wonderful breakfast there each morning. Would stay there again without any hesitation,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing