We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My mother in a wheelchair and I stayed here for a weekend. I called mid-morning to see if we could do an early check in. We were told that our room would be ready in 90 minutes, which it was!
Valet were helpful in unloading the wheelchair, walker, luggage even if we were just dropped off. In the room, there were 2 double beds, a comfortable sofa, 2 desk chairs, desk, refrigerator, large closet, nice patio to enjoy the view. Since I requested the cheapest kamaaina (local) room, I expected a room on a low floor overlooking a wall or parking lot. Instead, we had both partial ocean view and city view on the 9th floor. Good restaurants, nice pool, beach. Wow!
This hotel is located in central Waikiki. International Market Place was right across the street. Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center is next door.
We really enjoyed our weekend stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha amy a, we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time while staying with us. We are located in close proximity to many shopping and dining establishments. The International Marketplace is a great place to shop for souvenirs to bring back home to friends and family. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and attentive to your needs, especially at check-in. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,604 - 2,610 of 4,857 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are annual visitors to Hawaii and the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and just returned from 17 days in paradise once again. This is our first time since all of the renovations and they have done a great job. The rooms have been sound proofed and even though the walls did not bother us in the past we did not hear a thing this trip. The pool is nice with the changes but I did miss the deep end! I know the changes were made to meet new standards and must say the glass railings and larger pool deck turned out well. As usual the staff was great and assisted us whenever we needed anything. The restaurants in the hotel are an extension of what Outrigger is delivering and they all have great customer service. We are booked for next February once again and can't wait!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha hawaiilovers50, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms during your recent visit to the island. We will be sure to share your feedback to the entire team. See you next February. Until next time, warm island regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Outrigger in Nov 12. This was my 3rd trip to Waikiki and the 1st stay at the Outrigger and it is where I will be staying from now on. We had an ocean view room and would watch people swimming with turtles from our room which was fantastic.. (the turtles would more just surface near them, sometimes people didn't even realise) it was amazing to watch :-) The rooms were lovely, staff VERY friendly. We had breakfast included and LOVED dukes!! Perfect location being just across from the marketplace and central to everything. We were on a high floor so had an express elevator so had no dramas waiting. Just LOVED it!!! Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RandallFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha RandallFam, thank you for your taking the time to comment on your stay. It is great to see all the beach activities from your ocean view room balcony. We are located in close proximity to many shops and restaurants. We are delighted to hear that our team was attentive to your needs. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

No mini bar, No room service what more can I say. I was very disappointed with this hotel. It was a shambles from the get go. Firstly arriving late in the evening hungry & grubby from a long flight to be told no room service available in this hotel was not music to my ears. Plus no mini bar to even grab a snack from.
Then the next day the In-house movies shutdown.
And finally the 3 day they decided to test their fire alarm system.. For hours !!
That was it for me- I had planned to stay for a wk but I checked out after just 3 days.
• the only positives to this hotel was "dukes" restaurant was great & the location/ view was fabulous.
But unfortunately the lack of service/s was not up to par for the great expense outlaid.
4/10

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leezy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Aloha Leezy72, thank you for your feedback. We clearly did not meet your expectations for which we apologize. Your feedback is important to us as it would help us improve our service and product. We do hope to welcome you back soon so we can make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location on Waikiki. Nice beach, great sand! Lots of people! Fun for family and couples. Everything is nearby...restaurants, eateries, shopping. Restaurant bar, shops in hotel also.Nice service all around. Hotel room was clean, could use a little updating, but nice enough. Pool is a little small and jacuzzi was just ok. Lukewarm with weak jets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha margaret215, we appreciate you taking the time in letting us know how your recent stay was with us. Your feedback will be shared with all of our team members. Until next time, warm Island Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We absolutely loved the Outrigger. We stayed 2 years in a row. It is by far the best location, best service, and friendliest place in Hawaii. Shawn, the bartender, at the little bar downstairs is our favorite. We loved looking out the balcony right on to the beach with the band playing straight below us. The rooms are modern and very clean. Anytime we go to Hawaii, the Outrigger will be our first choice.

Room Tip: The only way to go is with an ocean view. It is worth the extra money. Diamond Head and the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha Pam K, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first time in Hawaii, somewhere I have always wanted to visit. First look at the beach from the hotel was "wow". And we were very happy with our entire stay at the Outrigger. Our partial ocean view room was also good, we could see the water just fine. Location is the best, right on the beach, can't beat that. Lively atmosphere, live music in the arvo, cool. The staff in all restaurants, housekeeping and concierge very friendly and helpful. Definitely stay at the Outrigger again. Love all the Duke memorabilia.

Room Tip: High Partial Ocean View rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Aloha Louisa W, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us as a first-time traveler to the island. We are delighted to hear that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
278 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $276 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing