We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You just can't beat this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“You just can't beat this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here year after year with my family growing up in the 90s and it was amazing. Coming back almost 15 years later, it's still amazing. You cannot get a better location anywhere in Waikiki imo. The rooms are clean and in great condition (maybe reno'd in the last few years. All the pics you see are accurate as to what to expect. If you have an oceanfront room (we did) you can sit on your balcony every night and listen/see the live music downstairs at Dukes. My favorite part of this place hasn't changed from when I was a teenager: You go swimming in the ocean, you walk right off the beach to rinse off your sandy feet and jump right in the pool to desalt yourself before laying on your lounger. It's a beautiful thing.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azarbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha azarbrook, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. The view of the beach from an oceanfront room is spectacular. We are centrally located to many shops and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,476
    1,496
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,422
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location was the best in Waikiki, central to everything. Hotel was nice and clean, rooms were large and well maintained. It can be a bit noisy but it was not a problem to me. Pool was a bit too small. Breakfast was very good. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha youngmcdonald, thank you for your time in providing us with feedback on your stay. We are centrally located to many restaurants and shops. We are pleased to hear that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. Your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Outrigger Waikiki on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place has everything you need. It's on the beach so seconds away from surfing, cocktails served to you at your cot on the lanai, and fresh fish tacos at famous Duke's restaurant. Yum!! Quick and helpful service, clean, and lovely rooms with comfy beds. Forget the high-end ritz of the Hilton (it is like living in a compound a bit removed from the beach.) I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and found myself disconnected to the beach and distracted with all the sales and marketing pitches. Instead, relax and be yourself by staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. You will love it!!! I did.

Room Tip: Get a partial view of the ocean so you are inspired to go to the beach as soon as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha Rosanne M, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The beach within couple steps from the hotel is a nice place to sit and relax while watching the waves wash to shore. Duke's have many great food and drinks for everyone. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We love this hotel. Our second family visit in 3 yrs. we book a city view room, but get views of beach both times. Recently renovated, friendly, perfectly located. What more could u ask for? I love the central location & being across the road from international market place. Have just recommended to friends & they booked straight away. Look after them! Will definitely stay on our next trip to US and your great state

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Austrav2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha Austrav2565, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your return stay with us. The International Marketplace located across from the property is a great place to shop. After a whole day of fun-filled activities, you can return to your newly renovated room to relax, and enjoy the view of the outdoors. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, I have been to hotels elsewhere in the world that have been called "on the beach" and they have been no where near it, this however literally is!! From the pool which is very small! its about 5 meters to Waikiki beach. At the front of the hotel its Waikiki drive absolutely perfect....
The room its self was very nice but we weren't in it for very long, slept in it then we were out, why go to Hawaii to stay in your room????
Would recommend it to anybody, the only downside is the food and drinks, although top notch were very pricey!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Brybentley, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is relaxing to go to the beach in front of the hotel and enjoy the outdoors. We are happy that you had an adventurous time while on the island. At the pool area, we also have pool chaise lounges for our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a really good place to stay if you like to be in the middle of the action. Lots to see and do right outside the door. International Marketplace,the beach, all the fancy shops! Really enjoyed our stay. We love Dukes the food is good and staff are super! The rooms are nice and big. Need a little work on the cleaning though I had to dust the dressers and the lamps but the bathroom was clean. Didn't notice any noise from the outside once the doors were closed. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper ocean view any side is ok. City view can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha Lana M, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are centrally located to many shopping and dining establishments. Please accept our apology for the cleanliness of the room as we will share the feedback to the appropriate department. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, excellent location. We stayed in an ocean view room which was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent with a beautiful beach and Duke's Restaurant has excellent food and is the place to be for afternoon Pupus' and cocktails.

Room Tip: No Resort Fees and free Wi-FI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourgalmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Aloha tourgalmn, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest comfort and cleanliness is important to us and we are glad that our team was friendly and attentive to your needs. Dukes restaurant have a wide variety of food items during breakfast, lunch, and dinner for everyone to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back in the near future on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing