We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best location in Waikiki and a good value to boot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best location in Waikiki and a good value to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

There isn't a better location for a hotel in Waikiki. It shares ocean frontage on the most prime real estate in Waikiki with the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Surfrider but is $100 or more a night less than a comparable room at either of these 2 Grand Dames of Waikiki. Now that the renovation is complete, except for the never-ending elevator upgrade, this is one of the top hotels on the central Waikiki strip.

I have stayed here 4 times in the last year including both pre- and post- room renovation. The Outrigger did a great job on the rooms. The new rooms are decorated with upscale, modern furniture that I have started calling "island chic". The medium brown furniture is accented by non-tacky island decor. The new doors really cut down on the noise from the hallway, and the RFID door locks make entry much easier with full hands.

The location can't be beat. The newly renovated pool is still small but the expanded deck seating provides plenty of places to sit and watch Waikiki Beach pass by. Nights in the lobby area are hectic when Society of Seven and Hula Grill patrons are waiting, but during the day, the lobby is nice and quiet. Duke's and Hula Grill are always busy but worth the wait.

My only complaint about the renovation is they skipped over an upgrade to the entertainment and Internet systems. All the channels are in standard definition. It's really hard to watch SD on a television designed for HD programming. The Internet is pretty slow. Wi-Fi is designed to cover common areas. Wired connections are provided in the room. The plans were obviously solidified before tablets became a standard travel companion.

I haven't been in a room yet that didn't have an ocean view from at least the lanai. All the rooms are good size (over 300 sq. ft.). City View room lanais on the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center are a bit loud due to the Shopping Center air handlers but when the lanai door is closed, it provides nothing more than a little white noise. The extra view of the city makes up for the extra noise (the other side overlooks the Moana Surfrider's high rise.

Room Tip: rooms ending in -00 are the smallest and only have a queen bed. Numbers above -17 are going to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tulanecpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha tulanecpt1. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your detailed and informative review shows that you know our property inside and out. We are delighted to hear that the recent renovations noticeably improved our guest rooms, furnishings and pooldeck. While our renovations have been completed, we are always seeking ways to improve the overall experience for our guests. Your comments about our entertainment and Internet options have been reviewed by the management team. Please look forward to enhanced technological features at the Outrigger Waikiki in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,370
    1,424
    380
    126
    56
See reviews for
1,336
1,920
104
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is perfect with the international markets across the road and the Cheesecake Factory next door. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are spectacular being right on the beach, and there was always some sort of entertainment going on. The only reason I have give it 4 instead of 5 was because we had trouble getting on to our hotel transfer company the day before we left and when I asked the staff to help me they told me that they wouldn't and it was up to me to do it myself. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a bit dated, but the view from the balcony was very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cattscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Cattscan. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family holiday to Hawaii. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Your feedback about our staff is appreciated and will be used to improve the quality of our guest service. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night in October 2012 before boarding our cruise ship and the hotel is fabulous.

We upgraded our room to a sea view on arrival and were not disappointed, amazing room with a fantastic view of Waikiki beach.

Breakfast buffet worth doing, sets you up for the day and the restaurants in the evening are well worth staying at the hotel for.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, could not have asked for more, made our stay in Hawaii even more special.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kats53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Kats53. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach prior to your cruise. We appreciate your compliments about our amazing rooms, affordable restaurants and friendly staff. We hope you will be back for another visit soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here early December with a friend. We upgraded and got the most unbelievable room on the 16th floor (1625) - views from Diamond Head to the end of Waikiki beach. The room was spotless, comfortable and it was very quiet. You could hear the band playing in Dukes or from the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. From the 14th floor there is an express elevator - which was great as hotel was pretty busy. We ate at Dukes and the Hula Grill - both were reasonable and the food was delish. The location can't be beat. Stay here - you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprinkles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha sprinkles21. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your decision to upgrade to one of our Oceanfront rooms was an excellent one. From those rooms, guests can fully experience the best views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean. On Friday through Sunday, they can even sit on the lanai to enjoy the music from Duke's Waikiki's live music performances by renowned local recording artists. Mahalo Nui Loa for recommending us. Please come back for another magical visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

You will be greeted by beautiful Lei girls, wearing muumuus and plumeria in their hair,and "Aloha." Overhead Royal Palm trees sway in the tradewind breeze. The doorman wears a white uniform with gold epaulettes. Porters take your luggage and guide you up the wooden stairs to the Registration Desk. Along the way you pass happy people in conversation, texting on Ephones, reading newspapers. Served in exquisite fashion by staff dressed impeccably in white and pink clothing, all wearing white gloves. Looking through the building you see the magnificent Pacific Ocean, The soft sands of Waikiki and Sun Goddesses and Sun Gods everywhere.
Splendid sailing yachts and huge ocean freighters create an awesome sight.
Now the real luxury of the hotel begins. Perfection in every detail. Aloha

Room Tip: The ocean view will never be forgotten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueyes144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha Blueyes144. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed by the appearance and atmosphere of our property. We strive to offer the best of both worlds in Waikiki - luxurious accommodations and service amidst a relaxing, oceanfront location. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please stay with us again for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Outrigger based on reviews on trip adviser. Everything from check-in to check out was excellent. On check-in, the room offered was on the 2nd floor. I requested a higher floor. Mai was so polite and accomodating, offering a higher floor and an upgrade for a small fee. I did not bargain for a lower fee. The room offered was an oceanfront on Waikiki Beach on the 10th floor; a premium room with a huge Jacuzzi! The view was magnificent of the beach,ocean, and Fountainhead.The bed was very comfortable as the hotel just underwent massive renovation and decoration. The room was clean, ready, and completely furnished. We never had to request anything. Yes, one elevator is still not running. Perhaps the hotel was not full, but I never encountered any delay of the working elevators. The lobby is beautiful, the staff was polite and helpful at all times. There is a small store in the building that has most last minute items and snacks. There is also an ABC market across the street. This hotel is located in the middle of everything. Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The Pink,Green,Red trolley stops right in front. Speedyshuttle was prompt and knew the area, able to answer questions and recommend restaurants. Dukes is in the lobby, a Hawaiian must stop with excellent Mai Tai's, food and service. And you can get served right on the beach, no need to change out of a suit. I do recommend a bathing suit coverup for walking through to the beach; it's just nicer. I really can't say enough nice things about the hotel and its staff. They were also pleased that when we checked out, we were heading for a sister property on Maui. I don't know if they called ahead, but when we arrived in Maui, they greeted us by name coming through the front door. I hope the hotel manager reads this review. If there has been recent "personnel training efforts" it shows. the staff was super. While in Honolulu we went to Pearl Harbor, an absolute must see. It was also Dec 7, and they held the 2nd annual parade that goes right in front of the hotel. Friday night there are fireworks on a neighboring beach. And Sat Dec 8th, Santa arrived on the beach in an outrigger canoe! All this and never having to go anywhere to see it. This hotel is a great choice location!

Room Tip: My 10th floor room on the oceanfront with a Jacuzzi, 1024, was wonderful. If you can afford it, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha vicki c. Thank you for being a TripAdvisor user and for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our superb and helpful staff has been reviewed by the hotel manager. We are delighted that you were able to stay in a Deluxe Oceanfront room. This room category is perfect for vacationers who travel as a couple. All of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms feature the best possible water views from a spacious lanai with glass railings. The room interior has a king sized bed and Jacuzzi tub for after-the-beach relaxation. Mahalo for sharing the details of your wonderful experience. We hope to you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul,Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very short trip in Hawaii before going back to Korea from LA, 4 years ago, My friend took
me to this hotel bar for dirinking at night. I remember Outrigger. it seems to be a little bit expensive for staying alone like me.. even Breakfast not included. but hotel location is just perfect for everything. along the street, Macy's and other shops are open until 11PM. you can also buy anything you need from ABC Mart just across the street. Hotel beach is beautiful.
Luckily I booked the city view room. but they upgraded my room to Partial ocean view room in
11th floor. it was great !!!
other hotels can let you in earlier before Check- in time. but Outrigger waikiki
didn't let me in even at 2 PM. I had to come back at 3 PM to get the room key.
but overall, I really loved staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Aloha sunmin. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your short visit to Hawaii. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and newly renovated rooms. While our check-in time is at 3pm, we do try our best to accommodate arriving guests into their rooms as soon as they become available. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back soon for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing