We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Edgerton, Oh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a partial view, but it was great. Could see the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was wonderful and everything in it was done well. Had the breakfast package and ate at Duke's. It was well worth it. It was easy to get around. We participated in the Vow Renewal Ceremony and I would recommend it to those who would like to renew their wedding vows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was the elevators were slow-one was being renovated. We were on the 16th floor, so we could use the one that went up to the spa, that saved us some time.

Room Tip: Higher floor were great for view, at either nearer the ocean or nearer the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Aloha Bev313. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and that you were able to renew your vows during your stay. Our elevator upgrade project will be completed in early 2013. When the project is finished, we will be proud to feature state of the art, re-designed elevators to match our newly remodeled guest rooms and corridors. Mahalo for your patience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,370
    1,424
    380
    126
    56
See reviews for
1,336
1,920
104
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful, great view, clean and Duke's in right down stairs. Include the breakfast as part of your stay, it is the best. We would go back anytime. It was the most enjoyable Hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Get atleast a partial ocean view. One that you can see Diamond Head would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kd2956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Aloha Kd2956. Thank you for making a stay with us a must-do on your list! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Duke's Waikiki serves the best breakfast buffet in Hawaii which features assorted fresh island fruits, delicious pastries, traditional breakfast items and a made-to-order omelette station. Guests can even book a room and breakfast package that includes daily breakfast for 2 at Duke's, Hula Grill or Seattle's Best Coffee. Mahalo Nui Loa for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach in November 2012. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The view of the ocean was magnificent! The food, drinks and entertainment at Duke's are awesome.

The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the heart of shops and restaurants.

The only 2 negatives I have are: one of the elevators was still not working and we had to pay $50+ to "rent" an umbrella and 2 beach chairs for the day. When we were already paying over $300 for a room/night, charging for umbrellas and chairs seems excessive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andieo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Aloha Andieo13. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your patience while we were completing the upgrades to all of our elevators. Your compliments about our rooms, views and restaurants are appreciated. We are sorry that we are unable to provide complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Since Waikiki beach is a public area, our hotel is not permitted to set-up seating for guests during their stay. We do, however, provide complimentary usage chaise lounges on our sundecks which face Waikiki beach and are just a few steps away from the shore. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you have been looking at this place for any length of time now you will see the mentions about the elevators. Well they are STILL being renovated. There must be a trade shortage of elevator technicians in Hawaii !!!!! But the ones that are running are excellent substitutes for a lack of a Sauna/Steam room on the premises, also for getting really close to many nationalities in a very tight space.

I am generally a pretty easily satisfied customer when it comes to motels (see some of my other reviews) but I was not impressed by this place. Never really felt the "Aloha Spirit". From the time we walked in, till the time we left. Reception was only interested in getting us to pay more for an upgrade and where not helpful in anyway shape or form. There are lots of tips on here about asking for a higher room on particular side/s. That is all great advice, but if you ask for anything that they haven't already allocated you (including what side of the building your on) - get your wallet out - it will come with a price.

Also if your booking thru Expedia - BEWARE - make sure you are very clear what you are entitled to and what you are getting. in fact I would triple check with Expedia before you depart. The same could probably be said for the other booking agencies. They are quick to hide the fact you have booked a room on what the motel calls "simple saver" rate.

For Australians arriving on the early morning flight - your room might not be ready (ours wasn't till 3 pm), but they have a room for getting changed in and getting squared away. We had to ask to use it, if I hadn't read about it on here I would have been none the wiser because it wasn't offered! In relation to waiting for a room, there is an activities desk on the lower lobby that gives great discounts, only catch is you need to sit (sleep) thru a 90 minute group presentation for vacation packages. But if you have sometime to waste waiting for a room this might be an idea - and you save some money.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and did the complimentary vow renewal, which was great. A guy is there taking professional photographs and you can then purchase them (@ $265), and, like everywhere else in Waikiki, there is considerable pressure to buy.

Rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff very efficient at their jobs. Pretty good view from an Ocean View room (722). Noisy A/C. Light bedding, but if you turn off the AC it gets very warm in the room.

Overall - yes it is right on the beach, and a great central location, but this doesn't make up for the high cost nor the lack of helpfulness - I now sort of understand what women say about men not looking them in the eye, but looking at their chest - I always felt as if the staff were only looking at my wallet as the customer and really didn't care - especially if there wasn't an opportunity for a tip arising out of what they were doing for you.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter how high you go for a Diamond Head side room, the place next door is taller. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mosanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Aloha mosanator. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your 20th wedding anniversary trip to Hawaii. We are delighted that you participated in our complimentary vow renewal ceremony while you were here. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Please be assured that our extensive elevator upgrades will be completed in early 2013. In addition, the Waikiki Plantation Spa located on the rooftop of our hotel will re-open for business at the end of this month. Throughout 2013, we will continue to offer discounted room rates that are very comparable to other beachfront hotels in the Waikiki area. Our guests will also experience an added value of having no daily resort fees imposed on them during their stay. All of our guest rooms have been newly renovated and include free local and long-distance calls to the United States and Canada, free wireless internet, free electronic safe usage and complimentary amenities such as Royal Kona coffee and tea. We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fun hotel with Dukes right there. They have music during happy hour. It is hopping with people. If you want it quiet don't get the rooms above the pool. The hotel has really nice Hawaiian themed decor. My favorite is the hula girl lamps. The location in Waikiki can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WA_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha WA_traveller57. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent vacation to Hawaii. Our hotel is locally owned and we are proud to feature island-inspired decor and authentic Hawaiian artwork throughout the property. We are also proud to be home to Duke's Waikiki, one of the island's most popular restaurants due to its excellent food, live local music and fun atmosphere. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a perfect location on Waikiki Beach! Rooms are newly renovated and spacious, must have an ocean view it's the best and great place to watch Friday fireworks. Restaurants in the hotel are great, and staff is outstanding! Close to all the wonderful shopping of Waikiki and restaurants.Going back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha suttona003. Thank you for your 5-star review. Your compliments about our location, renovations, restaurants and staff are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had a nice 4 night stay here in a really nice suite that had great views. The hotel location is excellent, close to good shopping and restaurants. The beach is great with really good sand. Although the $60 per day charge to use and umbrella and 2 chairs is OUTRAGEOUS. Also the mixed drinks and food at Duke’s is subpar (stick with beer and simple drinks here). All the workers were great.

Room Tip: I accepted an offer to upgrade to a suite at check in and was glad i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha Larry J. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 bedroom oceanfront suites. Our suites are the most deluxe room category in our hotel and they boast the best possible ocean views from two large balconies. They also feature a separate bedroom with a spacious living room, perfect for that home away from home vacation experience. Our hotel does provide chaise lounges on our pooldecks for guests who want to sunbathe just footsteps away from the shoreline, without having to pay to rent chairs on the beach. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing