We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Wallet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you have been looking at this place for any length of time now you will see the mentions about the elevators. Well they are STILL being renovated. There must be a trade shortage of elevator technicians in Hawaii !!!!! But the ones that are running are excellent substitutes for a lack of a Sauna/Steam room on the premises, also for getting really close to many nationalities in a very tight space.

I am generally a pretty easily satisfied customer when it comes to motels (see some of my other reviews) but I was not impressed by this place. Never really felt the "Aloha Spirit". From the time we walked in, till the time we left. Reception was only interested in getting us to pay more for an upgrade and where not helpful in anyway shape or form. There are lots of tips on here about asking for a higher room on particular side/s. That is all great advice, but if you ask for anything that they haven't already allocated you (including what side of the building your on) - get your wallet out - it will come with a price.

Also if your booking thru Expedia - BEWARE - make sure you are very clear what you are entitled to and what you are getting. in fact I would triple check with Expedia before you depart. The same could probably be said for the other booking agencies. They are quick to hide the fact you have booked a room on what the motel calls "simple saver" rate.

For Australians arriving on the early morning flight - your room might not be ready (ours wasn't till 3 pm), but they have a room for getting changed in and getting squared away. We had to ask to use it, if I hadn't read about it on here I would have been none the wiser because it wasn't offered! In relation to waiting for a room, there is an activities desk on the lower lobby that gives great discounts, only catch is you need to sit (sleep) thru a 90 minute group presentation for vacation packages. But if you have sometime to waste waiting for a room this might be an idea - and you save some money.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and did the complimentary vow renewal, which was great. A guy is there taking professional photographs and you can then purchase them (@ $265), and, like everywhere else in Waikiki, there is considerable pressure to buy.

Rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff very efficient at their jobs. Pretty good view from an Ocean View room (722). Noisy A/C. Light bedding, but if you turn off the AC it gets very warm in the room.

Overall - yes it is right on the beach, and a great central location, but this doesn't make up for the high cost nor the lack of helpfulness - I now sort of understand what women say about men not looking them in the eye, but looking at their chest - I always felt as if the staff were only looking at my wallet as the customer and really didn't care - especially if there wasn't an opportunity for a tip arising out of what they were doing for you.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter how high you go for a Diamond Head side room, the place next door is taller. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mosanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Aloha mosanator. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your 20th wedding anniversary trip to Hawaii. We are delighted that you participated in our complimentary vow renewal ceremony while you were here. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Please be assured that our extensive elevator upgrades will be completed in early 2013. In addition, the Waikiki Plantation Spa located on the rooftop of our hotel will re-open for business at the end of this month. Throughout 2013, we will continue to offer discounted room rates that are very comparable to other beachfront hotels in the Waikiki area. Our guests will also experience an added value of having no daily resort fees imposed on them during their stay. All of our guest rooms have been newly renovated and include free local and long-distance calls to the United States and Canada, free wireless internet, free electronic safe usage and complimentary amenities such as Royal Kona coffee and tea. We hope you will come back and stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,782 - 2,788 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fun hotel with Dukes right there. They have music during happy hour. It is hopping with people. If you want it quiet don't get the rooms above the pool. The hotel has really nice Hawaiian themed decor. My favorite is the hula girl lamps. The location in Waikiki can't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WA_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Aloha WA_traveller57. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent vacation to Hawaii. Our hotel is locally owned and we are proud to feature island-inspired decor and authentic Hawaiian artwork throughout the property. We are also proud to be home to Duke's Waikiki, one of the island's most popular restaurants due to its excellent food, live local music and fun atmosphere. Mahalo for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a perfect location on Waikiki Beach! Rooms are newly renovated and spacious, must have an ocean view it's the best and great place to watch Friday fireworks. Restaurants in the hotel are great, and staff is outstanding! Close to all the wonderful shopping of Waikiki and restaurants.Going back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Aloha suttona003. Thank you for your 5-star review. Your compliments about our location, renovations, restaurants and staff are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had a nice 4 night stay here in a really nice suite that had great views. The hotel location is excellent, close to good shopping and restaurants. The beach is great with really good sand. Although the $60 per day charge to use and umbrella and 2 chairs is OUTRAGEOUS. Also the mixed drinks and food at Duke’s is subpar (stick with beer and simple drinks here). All the workers were great.

Room Tip: I accepted an offer to upgrade to a suite at check in and was glad i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha Larry J. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 bedroom oceanfront suites. Our suites are the most deluxe room category in our hotel and they boast the best possible ocean views from two large balconies. They also feature a separate bedroom with a spacious living room, perfect for that home away from home vacation experience. Our hotel does provide chaise lounges on our pooldecks for guests who want to sunbathe just footsteps away from the shoreline, without having to pay to rent chairs on the beach. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the third time staying at this location. Great location right on the ocean. Just have upgraded the rooms but the rest of the hotel is still the same. Only 1 elevator running for all of the guest, thaking very long time to change floors or go up or down. Had to many times wait as elavator was full :( bad news. Maybe they should have finish the the rentovation before reopening. Lots of guess upset.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 15 or 16 floor and on the west side of the building. This elimates the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha robert p. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry for the delays you experienced with our elevator service. Our elevator renovation project is in its final stages and we expect to have all of our lifts fully upgraded by the beginning of 2013. Mahalo Nui Loa for your patience. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon for a fourth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, November 15-20th. We booked online with Expedia, and ended up with a room including breakfast, king bed, ocean view on the 12th floor.

The included breakfast was great as you had 3 options to choose from daily: menu at Hula Grill, buffet at Dukes', or coffee/muffin at Second Cup (I guess if you have an early flight or something and the other restaurants weren't open?).

Overall the hotel is excellent. Service everywhere in the hotel was outstanding (bell desk, valet, restaurants, towel man - Ray), the guestroom was recently renovated and the hotel is clean.

The location is also excellent. Right in the heart of the action, newer stores and restaurants. Awesome beach directly in front for swimming/surfing, or supping, great pool, small hot tub, choice of free chairs by pool/patio, or rent them on beach (yes, this was a bummer to have to pay.)
They had poolside service for food and drinks. Duke's is an excellent happening spot all the time. Great little sandwich shop (makes awesome custom made sandwiches) located on one far side of the shops level.

We had a very large newly renovated room, king bed, nice sized lanai with 2 chairs, sofa, safe and mini fridge. Even though it was an "ocean view", we looked directly across at another building and in reality only had a "partial ocean view".

The only Con's/Beef's I had were:
- Parking. Very expensive valet parking ($35/day) no other self-park options there.
- Room. Bedding was terrible. No king sized pillows, just small little pillows on a king bed. We tried requesting, but they don't have?!? Also, no duvet. Just a lightweight waffle blanket that looks/feels like a dish towel. Very bad bedding for the high price we paid for this room.
- A/C. The air conditioning only goes as low as 65 degrees. That's usually what we heat our house at during the day. Too hot = no sleep.
- View. Again, paid for oceanview, got partial.
- No recycling baskets in the room?

If the hotel were to fix some of these above issues, we would definitely stay there again. We love the location, service and dining options at the Outrigger Waikiki!!

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room, and try to include the free breakfast. Buffet is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaimekelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha Jaimekelowna. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you found our service to be outstanding and that you enjoyed our room and breakfast package. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the air-conditioning temperature, lack of recycling baskets, uncomfortable bedding, linens and pillows in your room. Your comments will be reviewed by the General Manager for consideration of future improvements. Unfortunately, due to the large urban population of Waikiki, parking space is very limited at all hotels. While there are self-parking garages nearby, the cost of using those garages overnight exceeds the discounted charge of $35/day which we extend to our hotel guests for on-site valet parking. We hope you will choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at The Outrigger for a night prior to going on a cruise. This is a great location on Waikiki with everything you could want within walking distance. The staff was friendly from the doorman right through check out. This is the only hotel that I know of on Waikiki that anyone has spent a nickle on in twenty years. There was an extensive remodel completed this year and it shows. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and had a coffee maker which is a plus. Two notes of caution: The service at Dukes is horrible. We walked out after sitting for over ten minutes without getting a menu. This being the famous "Dukes" I guess you are supposed to be thankful they let you in the door. We ate upstairs at the Hula Grill for both dinner and breakfast and had nice meals with a great view from the second floor. Also, try to get a room on the 14th floor or higher as there is an express elevator for those floors. The other floors are serviced by three elevators but one was broken down while we were there and it made service problematic at best. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Aloha Matt P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki prior to your cruise. We are glad you noticed our recent renovations which included upgrades to all of our guest rooms, lanais, corridors, swimming pool and pool deck. We are sorry that you experienced delays in our elevator service during your stay. The final upgrades to all of our elevators is in the process of being completed by the beginning of 2013. Once the upgrades are installed, all of our elevators will be running more efficiently and smoothly. Your comments about Duke's will be communicated to their management team for improvements to be made. Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $268 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing