We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,160)
Filter reviews
5,160 results
Traveler rating
2,887
1,626
436
144
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,887
1,626
436
144
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshula grillocean frontdukes restauranthula piewaikiki beachlower lobbypartial ocean viewthe cheesecake factorydiamond head sideoceanfront rooma city view roomthe international marketplaceour honeymoonthe royal hawaiianfantastic locationbell staffnorth shore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,008 - 3,013 of 5,160 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a perfect location on Waikiki Beach! Rooms are newly renovated and spacious, must have an ocean view it's the best and great place to watch Friday fireworks. Restaurants in the hotel are great, and staff is outstanding! Close to all the wonderful shopping of Waikiki and restaurants.Going back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Aloha suttona003. Thank you for your 5-star review. Your compliments about our location, renovations, restaurants and staff are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had a nice 4 night stay here in a really nice suite that had great views. The hotel location is excellent, close to good shopping and restaurants. The beach is great with really good sand. Although the $60 per day charge to use and umbrella and 2 chairs is OUTRAGEOUS. Also the mixed drinks and food at Duke’s is subpar (stick with beer and simple drinks here). All the workers were great.

Room Tip: I accepted an offer to upgrade to a suite at check in and was glad i did.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha Larry J. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 1 bedroom oceanfront suites. Our suites are the most deluxe room category in our hotel and they boast the best possible ocean views from two large balconies. They also feature a separate bedroom with a spacious living room, perfect for that home away from home vacation experience. Our hotel does provide chaise lounges on our pooldecks for guests who want to sunbathe just footsteps away from the shoreline, without having to pay to rent chairs on the beach. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the third time staying at this location. Great location right on the ocean. Just have upgraded the rooms but the rest of the hotel is still the same. Only 1 elevator running for all of the guest, thaking very long time to change floors or go up or down. Had to many times wait as elavator was full :( bad news. Maybe they should have finish the the rentovation before reopening. Lots of guess upset.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 15 or 16 floor and on the west side of the building. This elimates the noise from the street and music
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha robert p. Thank you for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry for the delays you experienced with our elevator service. Our elevator renovation project is in its final stages and we expect to have all of our lifts fully upgraded by the beginning of 2013. Mahalo Nui Loa for your patience. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon for a fourth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, November 15-20th. We booked online with Expedia, and ended up with a room including breakfast, king bed, ocean view on the 12th floor.

The included breakfast was great as you had 3 options to choose from daily: menu at Hula Grill, buffet at Dukes', or coffee/muffin at Second Cup (I guess if you have an early flight or something and the other restaurants weren't open?).

Overall the hotel is excellent. Service everywhere in the hotel was outstanding (bell desk, valet, restaurants, towel man - Ray), the guestroom was recently renovated and the hotel is clean.

The location is also excellent. Right in the heart of the action, newer stores and restaurants. Awesome beach directly in front for swimming/surfing, or supping, great pool, small hot tub, choice of free chairs by pool/patio, or rent them on beach (yes, this was a bummer to have to pay.)
They had poolside service for food and drinks. Duke's is an excellent happening spot all the time. Great little sandwich shop (makes awesome custom made sandwiches) located on one far side of the shops level.

We had a very large newly renovated room, king bed, nice sized lanai with 2 chairs, sofa, safe and mini fridge. Even though it was an "ocean view", we looked directly across at another building and in reality only had a "partial ocean view".

The only Con's/Beef's I had were:
- Parking. Very expensive valet parking ($35/day) no other self-park options there.
- Room. Bedding was terrible. No king sized pillows, just small little pillows on a king bed. We tried requesting, but they don't have?!? Also, no duvet. Just a lightweight waffle blanket that looks/feels like a dish towel. Very bad bedding for the high price we paid for this room.
- A/C. The air conditioning only goes as low as 65 degrees. That's usually what we heat our house at during the day. Too hot = no sleep.
- View. Again, paid for oceanview, got partial.
- No recycling baskets in the room?

If the hotel were to fix some of these above issues, we would definitely stay there again. We love the location, service and dining options at the Outrigger Waikiki!!

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room, and try to include the free breakfast. Buffet is excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaimekelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha Jaimekelowna. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you found our service to be outstanding and that you enjoyed our room and breakfast package. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the air-conditioning temperature, lack of recycling baskets, uncomfortable bedding, linens and pillows in your room. Your comments will be reviewed by the General Manager for consideration of future improvements. Unfortunately, due to the large urban population of Waikiki, parking space is very limited at all hotels. While there are self-parking garages nearby, the cost of using those garages overnight exceeds the discounted charge of $35/day which we extend to our hotel guests for on-site valet parking. We hope you will choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at The Outrigger for a night prior to going on a cruise. This is a great location on Waikiki with everything you could want within walking distance. The staff was friendly from the doorman right through check out. This is the only hotel that I know of on Waikiki that anyone has spent a nickle on in twenty years. There was an extensive remodel completed this year and it shows. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and had a coffee maker which is a plus. Two notes of caution: The service at Dukes is horrible. We walked out after sitting for over ten minutes without getting a menu. This being the famous "Dukes" I guess you are supposed to be thankful they let you in the door. We ate upstairs at the Hula Grill for both dinner and breakfast and had nice meals with a great view from the second floor. Also, try to get a room on the 14th floor or higher as there is an express elevator for those floors. The other floors are serviced by three elevators but one was broken down while we were there and it made service problematic at best. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Aloha Matt P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki prior to your cruise. We are glad you noticed our recent renovations which included upgrades to all of our guest rooms, lanais, corridors, swimming pool and pool deck. We are sorry that you experienced delays in our elevator service during your stay. The final upgrades to all of our elevators is in the process of being completed by the beginning of 2013. Once the upgrades are installed, all of our elevators will be running more efficiently and smoothly. Your comments about Duke's will be communicated to their management team for improvements to be made. Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews