We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location was great, beachfront right in the middle of Waikiki and walking distance to everywhere. My only gripe is I did expect sun lounges on the beach - there are ones in front of the hotel but at $60 a day I don't think so. Both the Westin and the Royal Hawaiian on either side have these for guests and I know both are more expensive but I did expect these for a beachfront hotel. Other than this I thought the rooms were a great size, standard & quality and the views were great. Would consider staying again but did not 'love' it enough to not consider other properties also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Aloha Tanya B. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family holiday to Hawaii. We appreciate your compliments about our location, views, room size and quality. While we are situated right on Waikiki beach, unfortunately, the laws of the City and County of Honolulu do not permit our hotel to provide services outside of our property line. We do, however, provide sun lounges on the spacious pool decks within our property, just steps away from the shore. For guests who prefer to lounge on the beach, there is a vendor called U.V. Rays Hawaii right in front of our hotel that rents loungers and umbrellas at a reasonable price. As an added benefit, guests of the Outrigger Waikiki are allowed to charge services from U.V. Rays directly to their room account. Mahalo for your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    1,520
    401
    133
    59
See reviews for
1,453
2,057
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We moved to this beachfront hotel after staying one night across the street. So glad. Great service, nice amenities, fantastic ocean/beach view from the 11th floor. A little pricey, but worth the $ if you are staying in the area. One negative was the pillows were stiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if the view is important. Palm trees will block the view from the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Aloha MSPS1958. Thank you for choosing to relocate to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent visit. One of the best benefits of staying at our hotel is the beachfront location. With the shoreline only footsteps away from our property, guests can enjoy the convenience of going from their room to the ocean in less than 5 minutes. In addition, we have spacious pooldeck areas facing the beach, perfect for sunbathing and lounging everyday. Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very friendly staff, Rooms were very clean. Our view was spectacular of Diamond Head and the ocean. Told front desk when we booked Hotel and they gave us the floor and view we requested. The Hotel was close enough to walk to restaurants & shops. Would definitely book this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, You will also want to book a Partial or ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Aloha Eddie A. Thank you for your positive comments about our friendly staff, clean rooms and spectacular ocean views. We are glad you contacted us before your arrival to communicate your special requests. Our employees always try their best to accommodate guests' requests whenever possible. Please come back again for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here with our two small children for two weeks. The kids loved the pool and the heated jacuzzi. The hotel is right on the beach which was amazing. Duke's is always excellent and they supply the poolside food. Beds are very comfortable and each room has a pretty roomy lanai. Staff were always helpful and fast.
The music from Dukes did not disturb us at all. Close to everything and if you enjoy the vibrant Waikiki this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Askamamma. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent family vacation. Our newly renovated swimming pool is now kid-friendly due to a reduced depth of 4-feet throughout the entire saltwater pool. Children of all ages enjoy the lively atmosphere of Duke's and the large variety of menu items the restaurant has to offer. Mahalo for your positive comments about our staff and rooms. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel deserves better reviews. Our room was on the first floor and we never heard noise. The Hula Grill and Duke's are wonderful. No problem checking in on a Wednesday at 3:00. Nice room, clean in the center of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Downhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Downhill2. Thank you for your 5-star rating of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. While we are located in the heart of energetic Waikiki, our guests can still enjoy a relaxing stay in any of our 524 rooms. Our recent renovations included a sound-proofing upgrade to all of our rooms, thus the amount of noise that can be heard from inside each room has been significantly reduced. We are happy you enjoyed dining at Duke's and the Hula Grill. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I have recently returned from a holiday to Hawaii. We stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach Waikiki. The hotel and the staff were absolutely wonderful. On arrival we found that we didnt have a booking as the agent had cancelled it and the reception staff (Keith) did everything in his power to ensure us a room immediately. The rooms and every aspect of he hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff and service was of a very high standard. We loved our experience here and would highly recommend this property and their staff. Food was great, shopping was fantastic and the hotel is centred right in the walking distance to almost everything. We will return and stay again at the Outrigger

Room Tip: we stayed in a partial ocean view room on the 7th floor and we could sit on our balcony and see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha lynne S. We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic holiday while staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Thank you for your compliments about Keith, our valued Guest Service Representative at the Front Desk. On occassions, there are problems that occur upon arrival or during a guest's stay. Our employees have been trained to anticipate the needs of our guests and are more than willing to assist in resolving issues as soon as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your Partial Ocean View room, and we truly appreciate your high recommendation of our property and staff. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst NSW Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Coming from Australia you arrive at your hotel before the usual check in time and I presumed that we would have to wait a few hours before we could get into our room however when we checked in we were advised that our room was ready which was a wonderful surprise. We were in a partial ocean view room with the most amazing view of the beach and the sunset each night and then we could see the city light up. The room was newly renovated and had a walk in wardrobe which was so handy for us shoppers & a very compact but functional bathroom. The hotel is right in the middle of the beach and is just so handy for anything that you want to do during your stay. This was a girls trip so we wanted to be able to go to restaurants and shop with ease and this hotel enabled us to do that. Loved having a Macy's store right across the road. Enjoyed breakfast in Duke's each morning looking at the beach & our server Cam was great. For variety we tried the Hula Grill one morning which was not nearly as nice so quickly went back to Duke's for the rest of the time were were there. The lifts in the hotel are being upgraded and this caused a few problems with having to wait for a lift but I am sure that once the new system is in place it will be fine. Did not have any problem with the pool as we were always able to find a sun bed but I can imagine it would get crowed in peak time. Cannot wait to return and hope I get room 1133 again.

Room Tip: Our room on the 11th floor was perfect - the higher the floor number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Joylane. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your girl's trip to Hawaii. We have a lot of International guests arriving early each day and we are happy to get everyone settled into their rooms as soon as they become available. Our location is ideal for a fun-filled holiday as shopping, dining and entertainment options are conveniently nearby. We are glad you enjoyed going to Duke's and we will pass along your compliments to Cam. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing