We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel set in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel set in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in late October with my husband. Hotel is in a great location right in the centre of waikiki and right on the beach. The rooms are clean, my only complaint was the noise of the aircon from the Royal Hawaiian Centre however it did not dampen our holiday at all. Next time I would probably pay the extra for the ocean view room instead. Great selection of restaurants in the hotel and seems like a place to be. If you want to be right in the action this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliecanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha elliecanne. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful Hawaiian holiday. Our centralized location does provide a lot of action in paradise, as many vacationers visit our property for the best beach, the best restaurants and the best variety of shopping options nearby. We hope you will return for another visit soon. If you prefer to stay in a room on the east side of the building, away from the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center, please do not hesitate to let us know after you have made your reservations. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been staying here several times a year for work/leisure since 2002. It has just went through a major room upgrade that has improved inter-room noise. The restaurants are great, and I love the breakfast buffet at Dukes...make sure to tip the omelette guy, he deserves it. The Hula Grill has, in my opinion, the best happy hour prices for food and bar menu that can be found on Waikiki. Finally, it says something that I find staff still working here that I met on my first trip, and I respect a business that retains employees. Great new pool too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank GratefulMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha GratefulMo. It has been our pleasure to be your hotel of choice for both business and pleasure for the past 10 years. At the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, return guests will always find a familiar face to welcome them back. Many of our loyal employees, in various departments, have decades of service to the company to boast about. They are our valued Ambassadors of Aloha and they are the providers of what we are most proud of - clean rooms, well-maintained facilities, safe surroundings and warm, friendly service. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks in September, it was my fourth visit and I am booking for October next year. I would not stay anywhere else. The hotel staff are so friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, value for money is outstanding. You are right in the middle of Waikiki, walk out the back of the hotel to the pool and then a couple of steps and you are on the best part of the waikiki beach. Walk out the front and you are opposite Macy's, across the road The International Market Place, Cheesecake Factory to your left, Jimmy Buffet's a step away. The shopping close by is outstanding. You can visit the Premium Outlet and get bargains to your hearts content or visit Ala Moana which has 400 shops and is only 20 minutes away by trolley. I would never stay anywhere else. You get a view of the city and the beach from your balcony, what more could you ask for. Mahalo nui loa to the Outrigger management and staff. See you all again next year..

Gwenda Warfe Erdman
Bendigo, Australia

Room Tip: Whatever you do stay at this hotel, if you want fun and a vibrant location this is for you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha Gwenda E. Thank you very much for your 5-star review and the many positive comments about the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your thorough description of our property, services and the surrounding Waikiki area is very informative. As we strive to provide the best experience for our guests, your continued patronage is our biggest compliment. We truly look forward to welcoming you back in October 2013. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel! We traveled with our 2 year old daughter and staying at this hotel was perfect. Staff are fantastic and go out of their way to see to it that you are getting everything you need! Great location that is close to EVERYTHING you need. Beachfront is fabulous and surf lessons are a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicacycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Aloha Jessicacycc. We are happy to hear you had an awesome family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. A large number of our guests travel with their children and it is our goal to give them an inviting family-friendly experience. In fact, we just renovated our swimming pool to accommodate more children with a reduced depth of four feet throughout the entire pool. We provide baby cribs and microwaves at no charge upon request, and Duke's restaurant features a kid's menu for children under age 11. Mahalo for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Outrigger and it will always be our hotel of choice in Honolulu. There is no better location than the Outrigger. The rooms are wonderful. We stayed in an Ocean View room and had wonderful views over Waikiki. Direct access to the beach is wonderful. You can stroll straight from your room and have a cocktail by the beach, go for surf lessons, we even swam with a turtle right out the front of the hotel with 100's of other swimmers. The staff at the tour desk are very helpful and assist with planning any other tours or activities you want to do. We hired a car and drove around the Island, which I highly recommend. Afternoon drinks at Duke's watching the sun set each afternoon is the ideal place to be. On weekends there is also a band at Duke's. If you like shopping, the hotel is in the middle of all the shops on the Main Street. Everything is within walking distance or a quick hop on the trolley. This won't be our last trip nor the last time we stay a the Outrigger.

Room Tip: We were really happy with the Ocean view. Wonderful views over Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkgreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Aloha kkgreen76. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. There is no greater compliment than your continued patronage and recommendation. Everything you experienced, from swimming with the Hawaiian Honu (sea turtles) to afternoon cocktails at Duke's and colorful sunsets, is what we are proud to offer our guests each day. Please come back soon for another fun-filled stay in paradise. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked this hotel last minute for a one night stay.That being said it far surpassed any of my expectations! The Ocean View room was perfect.It had a king sized bed and large seating area.The best part of the room though was the lanai.We opened the doors to a breath-taking view of the ocean and Diamond Head.Listening to the waves crash as you fall asleep is great,but waking to that sound is heaven.It also has restaurants and a coffee shop located within it's walls.Waikiki Beach is right there...just steps away!Left there wondering how fast can I get back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Aloha Staci K. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your very short visit. Being in an beachfront property makes a big difference as guests can not only see the ocean, they can hear the moving of the waves and even smell the salt air. We hope you can get back soon for a long, relaxing Hawaiian holiday. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki in 1999 with my family in high school, and was just there 2 weeks ago with my husband, and it was even nicer than I remember it being (and I thought it was super nice back in '99!)! Anyway, the staff is friendly, the rooms are beautiful and updated, and they are right on the beach! Cannot go wrong. They also have some great inhouse shops and awesome restaurants (the famous Duke's). If you're planning a trip to Oahu, this hotel will not let you down!

Room Tip: There really aren't bad rooms as they all face the beach. Obviously, the closer the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LO_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Aloha LO_SD. We are truly honored to be called a "genuine Hawaiian gem". Thank you very much for choosing to return to the Outrigger Waikiki. It is wonderful to hear that we are a part of both your childhood and adult memories of beautiful Oahu. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing