We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, location, service = Amazing honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location, service = Amazing honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Hawaii, I usually stay in the Waikiki area for its convenience to shopping, restaurants and the beach. When I do want to spend a bit more, this hotel ranks at the top of the list.

The location is literally in the heart of Waikiki, with the International Market Place directly across the street, the ocean steps away from the lobby and walking distance to numerous shops/restaurants. The service at the hotel is always impeccable; from the front desk, to the cleaning service, valet and restaurants. Both on site restaurants are fantastic (although wait times can be horrendous at times) and the Society of Seven is definitely worth catching if you enjoy musical revues.

On a side note, I would recommend renting a car during your stay to explore the island and get a true taste of Hawaii. Waikiki is very touristy, which I don't mind, but the island has so much to offer outside of Waikiki.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emsmkivgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha emsmkivgolf. Ho`omaika`i (Congratulations)! Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your Honeymoon. Being in the heart of Waikiki makes us an ideal spot for all types of vacationers. Since you are a frequent visitor to Hawaii, we are honored to be your hotel of choice for convenient beachfront location, impeccable service and excellent dining and entertainment facilities on-site. Please come and stay with us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,476
    1,496
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,422
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 9 glorious nights at this awesome hotel. The location is ideal and the staff is the best. They are all very attentive and make your stay as pleasant as possible. The accommodations were wonderful. The linens, housekeeping, restaurants, shops, swimming pool and hot tub were all exceptional. Looking forward to our next stay. Mahalo !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slwasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha Slwasik. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your recent visit to Hawaii. Your many compliments about our property, location and staff are a pleasure to read. We are also looking forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menangle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Could not get a better location. Restaurants were good value and not over priced and stuffy like some on the beach.Dukes is awesome- food entertainment and views- everything we wanted in an island hotel. Service fantastic and rooms well kept and staff amazing and always smiling. Elevators being serviced but no inconvenience to us. Cannot wait to come back. We had originally booked a beach view room and on checking in we asked to upgrade to beachfront room and just paid the difference. Tour desk in hotel were great and found it very easy to get around with staffs advice. Am highly recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Go the beachfront rooms- awesome views everyday!!!!! Noise from beach is minimal - we were on 7th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha Michelle C. Thank you for your high recommendation of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very happy to hear that every aspect of your stay was beyond satisfactory and that you had a great experience in Hawaii. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had a wonderful 3 days in Waikiki staying at this hotel. Couldnt fault it in any way.
The friendly service from all the staff was exceptional
The first room they put us in was too close to Duke's and the music (our room was on the 4th floor) so without us having to ask, just mentioned that it was noisey, they moved us up to an identical room on the 13th floor! How's that for service?
The room was great, beds and mattress extremely comfortable, the ocean view was a dream and the room had everything one could want.... a great bathroom too. Only slight complaint was no proper tea making facilities only coffee, but then we were in the US so cant really complain about that.
If we are fortunate enough to get to Hawaii again, we wouldnt stay anywhere else. Its fabulous.

Room Tip: If you dont like listening to a band when its time to sleep, make sure that you ask for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha bjay42. Thank you for your 5-star review! We are most delighted to read your compliments about our exceptional staff, comfortable rooms and friendly service. Thank you for speaking to us and giving us the opportunity to move you to a quieter room on a higher floor. We appreciate feedback from our guests and strive to make their stay a memorable one. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just finished a stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. This property has the famous restaurant Dukes which is always great and has wonderful views. The rooms have been renovated and have great decor, mattresses, and a beautiful bathroom. The amenities include large tubes of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion all having a wonderful coconut scent. They are in the process of redoing the elevators (which are in desperate need of help), so they only have 2 working. We waited for over 15 minutes for an elevator to arrive only to find it totally crammed with people and luggage. They had gone to the lower level from check-in to be sure and get on the elevator. They have a self-service laundry outside on the way to the pool area. The breakfast buffet at Dukes is wonderful. The location which is just across the street from the International Market Place, and just a short walk to the Kings Village where they have a changing of the guard each evening at 6:15pm. There is the best place to get Gyozo's located there. The restaurant is called oh sono's - downstairs by Kentucky Fried Chicken. The fried gyozo's are a mouthful of heaven. All in all, a good beachfront hotel, in a great location with easy access to shopping and eating, just put on your patience hat for that elevator!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the ocean front rooms, they are spectacular with soundproofing which blocks out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uttravellady29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha uttravellady29. Thank you for noticing the many in-room upgrades we have implemented during the renovation process. All of our rooms now feature brand new wallpaper, mattresses, carpet, televisions, electronic safes and bathroom amenities. The only major upgrade we have to finish is the interior of all of our guest elevators. We are happy to report that this project is in progress and should be completed very shortly. Your patience is truly appreciated. Please come back and stay with us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was excellent, our room on the 16th floor was spacious and very clean and the staff really friendly and helpful - the bell hops particularly need a mention as they went out of their way to be welcoming and sort out any transport issues; The buffet breakfast and that served in the Coffee Shop were both extremely good as were dinners in Duke's and Chuck's Steak House.
We could see the sunset from our balcony but sitting outside was rather spoilt by the noise of the air conditioning units on neighbouring buildings - infact the air conditioning units could be heard in
our room with the window shut! We also felt that the hotel restaurant and swimming pool were not really of a suitable size to cater for all the hotel guests - a minumum 45 minute wait for dinner at Duke's - parasols for the sun loungers? There are many comments on Trip Advisor about parasols and many responses from the manager but where are they?

Room Tip: Ask for a Partial Sea View Room as near the front as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Aloha Cookie081. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your recent holiday. Your positive comments about our friendly staff and clean rooms are appreciated. Our bell hops will be delighted to hear about your special mention of their exceptional service. The hotel's General Manager and management team review all TripAdvisor comments for constructive feedback on how to improve the overall guest experience. We are still in the process of implementing some of those suggestions, so please look forward to continual upgrades in the future. Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Enjoyed another spectactular stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach - enjoyed the new decor, fluffy towels, extraordinary staff, ocean view from the "city view" room, lunching every day at Duke's (try the grilled cajun chicken sandwich WITHOUT the bread - SO good!) - everything was perfect, except for the saggy mattress on our king bed - I awoke every morning with a terrible backache! Hindsight says that we should have asked for a different room, but, oh well...certainly won't keep us from returning again next year.

This hotel is in the perfect location - surrounded by excellent shopping and restaurants on one side and by the most incredible ocean-swimming/playing water experience you can imagine. Loved "body surfing" in the waves - best spot is right in front of the Royal Hawaiian, in between the reef. Be sure to look for turtles - we saw one this visit & it was magical... Chaise lounges plentiful & comfortable; in between our water play, enjoyed walking along beach in either direction. Rented car for the day through Enterprise, right down the street & around the corner, for drive around island - huges waves on North Shore - enjoyed our mandatory shave ice at Matsumoto's (rootbeer with ice cream on the bottom).

Room Tip: Look for turtles in the reef from you balcony - you're sure to see them, regardless of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Aloha Christine Too. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for another spectacular stay! We are very sorry to hear that the mattress in your room was uncomfortable. Our friendly Front Desk staff are available 24 hours a day and would have been more than happy to assist in finding you a different room. Please do not hesitate to let them know if there is anything you need during a future stay. It is a great relief to hear that the rest of your experience was perfect and fun-filled. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the wonderful shores of Waikiki next year. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing