We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A beautiful hotel, so wonderfully located. We were lucky enough to have beach views even though we booked a city view room.

The room was excellent, beds very comfortable. The bathroom with separate area for clothes and bags really good.

Breakfast very morning at Duke's was breathtaking. We only stayed 3 nights but will definitely be back.

Recommend dinner at Duke's as well, the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightongirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Aloha brightongirlSydney. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your family vacation in Hawaii. Our property is located right on the beach, which allows guests to catch at least a glimpse of the beautiful Pacific ocean from the lanai of any of our rooms. From our three oceanfront restaurants, such as Duke's, guests can even have a full beachront view of the water while dining on delicious island-inspired cuisine. It is wonderful to hear that you will definitely be back. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,795)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 4,797 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't complain... The price for this beach hotel is so affordable when compared to the neighboring hotels. Its a small hotel which doesn't have many amenities, but who cares... You're in WAIKIKI!!!

This hotel was under renovation when we were there in April 2012, but we didn't hear anything. The day we left Hawaii, the entire floor of our hotel was being emptied. All the furniture were being taken out since they were probably getting ready to renovate our floor.

The location is super ideal. Its right across from the International Market, right next door to all the nice fancy shops, lots of restaurants around to choose from, and of course... its right on the beach. There's also a Duke's right inside the hotel. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Aloha vicky855. Thank you for your positive comments about our location and value. The renovations and upgrades to all of our guest rooms are complete. Our hotel now features an enlarged pool deck, a newly re-designed salt water swimming pool, 524 rooms with new furnishings and sound-proofed walls throughout the floors. These upgrades and still affordable prices without any resort fees, make the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach the very best place to stay in Waikiki. Mahalo for being a loyal return guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Unbelievable ! We stayed for 2 weeks and we couldnt have asked for better. We upgraded to a corner suite on the 12th floor which had an oceanfront balcony as well as a diamondhead balcony and the views alone were worth the money ! Trust me, don't pass on this option if you can help it ! Dukes has the best view and atmosphere you could ever ask for. Ten steps out of the water, grab your towell and grab a seat at the barefoot bar for lunch. No shirt, no shoes, no problem ! Watch the sunrise over an omlette, watch it set over a lobster tail, Dukes had the perfect view either way.The customer service is more than excellent. The maids personally thank you when you leave a tip, the bellmen would jump in front of a cab just to get it for you. How can you beat the location, steps away from highend shopping and world famous restaurants. Street permorfmers right outside your door.

Room Tip: Corner suite - very spacious, 2 balconies, 3 seperate balcony doors (1 in bedroom, 1 in living room...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Aloha Chris C. Thank you for your 5-star review! The Diamond Head Oceanfront Suite is the very best room category in the hotel and we are so happy to hear that you chose to stay in one of our suites during your recent vacation. We are especially proud of the employees who play a big part in making our guests stay a memorable one. Your compliments about Duke's are appreciated and we will make sure to pass them on. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well let me start by saying that this hotel lived up to it's expectations. My wife and I arrived on a Sunday after traveling what seemed to be an "all day" event. We picked up our rental car and drove to the hotel. Valet parking was relatively an easy task and we tipped the valet personnel. They were very courteous as well. The hotel is a very nice hotel with very nice views and Waikiki beach right out the back of Dukes. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to deluxe ocean view which was pretty nice. If you have the funds try to get an ocean front room well worth it. We had still had a great view from our room with a view of the ocean. Overall I had a great time at this hotel and it is centrally located on the strip with plenty of shopping and cheesecake factory next door. You can't go wrong with choosing this hotel. Met alot of nice people from Australia, the UK and different parts of the U.S.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor to avoid noise from below and so you have a better view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Aloha Wally1218. Congratulations! Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your Hawaiian Honeymoon. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to meet our delightful melting pot of guests who visit us from all over the world. We hope to welcome you and your wife back very soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have thought about staying at this hotel every time we have been to Honolulu and have always talked ourselves out of splurging on the ocean view rooms for one reason or another.This time we had an ocean view room on the 15th floor and it was fantastic. Having stayed here we are spoiled for staying anywhere else in Honolulu! The hotel is steps from the ocean and the beach access is right through the lobby. We rented a beach set -umbrella and lounge chairs and basked in the sun, took dips in the water and went up to the barefoot bar for lunch and snacks (great ahi sashimi and fish tacos) They have drink service at the pool, not on the beach but the bar is so close and casual that you don't need it. This is a very friendly and casual hotel and although very elegant,not snooty at all. The perfect mix for a beach holiday. Lots of fun shops and restaurants right out the front door,as well, for when you get bored of all that relaxing!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get an ocean view room, nothing beats waking up to that view or picking up some...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Aloha RandPEdmonton. We are so glad you picked the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your recent trip to Oahu. Our Oceanview rooms are priced affordably and maximizes the Hawaiian vacation experience for guests. While we are one of only several hotels to have a prime oceanfront location on Waikiki beach, our service and atmosphere remains casual and comfortable. Please stay with us again on your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place has the best location. Beach out the back door, International Markets out the front. We are a family of 4 and all of us are so glad that we decided on this motel. Considering we didnt have an ocean view room we had a fantastic outlook over the beach in one direction and birdseye view of the buskers on the street. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Southern side or "odd" number rooms had the better view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Aloha Nicmacc. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your family holiday. We also believe that our hotel has the best location in Waikiki. It seems there is something for everyone right around us. There is a shopper's paradise on Kalakaua Avenue, a surfer's playground in front of the property and a sense of Hawaiian culture permeates the building everyday through live Hawaiian music, dance and decor. Mahalo for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second trip to Outrigger & we stayed from 5th - 17th October. We had ocean views and stayed on the 6th floor on the East side. Lovely room though would ask for a room with no adjoining door next time due to fairly noisy kids next door for part of the holiday. All staff were friendly, helpful and kind. Housekeeping staff kept our room spotless and well equipped. Although they were working on the lifts we had no problem with them. We had complimentary breakfasts each morning and ate at the Hula Grill overlooking the glorious Waikiki beach. - very busy but staff were friendly and hard working. Plenty of lounge chairs on the lower deck but sometimes needed some shade so umbrellas would be a nice addition. Thank you to all staff for a very relaxing holiday from an older couple. We will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Waikiki in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Aloha Elwyn D. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. Our hotel is suitable for both the young and the young at heart. We offer comfortable and clean accommodations, a variety of dining options and new facilities designed to make the most of our remarkable beachfront location. Our guests can even enjoy a relaxing Hawaiian holiday without having to leave the property. Mahalo for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $273 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing