We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we picked this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So glad we picked this Hotel!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have thought about staying at this hotel every time we have been to Honolulu and have always talked ourselves out of splurging on the ocean view rooms for one reason or another.This time we had an ocean view room on the 15th floor and it was fantastic. Having stayed here we are spoiled for staying anywhere else in Honolulu! The hotel is steps from the ocean and the beach access is right through the lobby. We rented a beach set -umbrella and lounge chairs and basked in the sun, took dips in the water and went up to the barefoot bar for lunch and snacks (great ahi sashimi and fish tacos) They have drink service at the pool, not on the beach but the bar is so close and casual that you don't need it. This is a very friendly and casual hotel and although very elegant,not snooty at all. The perfect mix for a beach holiday. Lots of fun shops and restaurants right out the front door,as well, for when you get bored of all that relaxing!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get an ocean view room, nothing beats waking up to that view or picking up some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha RandPEdmonton. We are so glad you picked the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your recent trip to Oahu. Our Oceanview rooms are priced affordably and maximizes the Hawaiian vacation experience for guests. While we are one of only several hotels to have a prime oceanfront location on Waikiki beach, our service and atmosphere remains casual and comfortable. Please stay with us again on your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,539
    1,519
    401
    133
    59
See reviews for
1,448
2,053
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place has the best location. Beach out the back door, International Markets out the front. We are a family of 4 and all of us are so glad that we decided on this motel. Considering we didnt have an ocean view room we had a fantastic outlook over the beach in one direction and birdseye view of the buskers on the street. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Southern side or "odd" number rooms had the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Nicmacc. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your family holiday. We also believe that our hotel has the best location in Waikiki. It seems there is something for everyone right around us. There is a shopper's paradise on Kalakaua Avenue, a surfer's playground in front of the property and a sense of Hawaiian culture permeates the building everyday through live Hawaiian music, dance and decor. Mahalo for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second trip to Outrigger & we stayed from 5th - 17th October. We had ocean views and stayed on the 6th floor on the East side. Lovely room though would ask for a room with no adjoining door next time due to fairly noisy kids next door for part of the holiday. All staff were friendly, helpful and kind. Housekeeping staff kept our room spotless and well equipped. Although they were working on the lifts we had no problem with them. We had complimentary breakfasts each morning and ate at the Hula Grill overlooking the glorious Waikiki beach. - very busy but staff were friendly and hard working. Plenty of lounge chairs on the lower deck but sometimes needed some shade so umbrellas would be a nice addition. Thank you to all staff for a very relaxing holiday from an older couple. We will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Waikiki in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha Elwyn D. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. Our hotel is suitable for both the young and the young at heart. We offer comfortable and clean accommodations, a variety of dining options and new facilities designed to make the most of our remarkable beachfront location. Our guests can even enjoy a relaxing Hawaiian holiday without having to leave the property. Mahalo for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii to celebrate our 25th Anniversary September 2012. Our first 3 nights we stayed on Oahu so we could see Pearl Harbor before heading to Maui. Our stay at the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach was amazing. We had a rental car and as soon as we pulled up we were greeted by the friendliest Valet i have ever had. These guys are awesome and i cant say enough about them... they greet you by name, give you directions and on our way back home at the end of our trip we stayed one night and had a 4.a.m. pick up with our airport shuttle. (Roberts Hawaii highly recommend) A valet stood outside with us and visited with us while we waited. (I wish i could remember his name). We stayed in an ocean view room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, nice big bathroom, big screen t.v. (that never got turned on) wonderful view of Waikiki Beach, we could see the ocean from our bed. This Hotel is clean and the staff is wonderful. From check in to check out. The location is great, anything you want or need is within walking distance. The International Market Place is across the street its a great place to pick up some gifts.We ate at Chucks two out of 4 nights and it was two of the best meals we had our entire trip. We ate at Hula Grill one morning and the pineapple coconut pancakes were wonderful.! We loved our stay here and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had a ocean view room on the 15th floor and it was very quiet. There is also an express elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha dallasestes. Happy belated Anniversary! Your many positive comments about our service, rooms, restaurants and views are truly appreciated. Our valet staff are one of our greatest assets. They provide all of our guests with a first and last impression of the property and are always looking forward to interacting with everyone. We will pass on your compliments to each of them and let them know that you and your husband will definitely be back for another visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent customer service. Best views of the ocean. Staff were friendly, helpful and rooms were clean. In the heart of everything in Waikiki. My husband and I stayed here after a long journey from Australia and we have such wonderful memories of this hotel. Back and home now and missing this hotel and Hawaii soooo much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha jane s. We are very honored to be a part of your wonderful memories of Hawaii. The combination of our friendly staff, clean rooms and unbeatable location helps us create a fantastic holiday experience for our guests. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope to see you and your husband again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here 2 years ago and it was just as I remembered it. We booked an ocean view room but we were not happy with the one we were given, however, we were able to change without any fuss. Also, our room was available at 9.30am - such a bonus when we had travelled overnight from Australia. The coffee machine was a real bonus, and the empty fridge very useful. Our only comment was the balconies are quite small, with a really large table - why such a big table? It made using the balcony a little tricky.

Dukes was as busy and buzzy as usual. Someone recommended the fish tacos as the best item on the menu, we tried them and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose Diamond Head side for ocean view, not so hot and away from air-conditioning from hotel next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAddictnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha TravelAddictnumber1. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the first room you were assigned, but we are happy to know that we did relocate you to a room that meets your satisfaction. We try our best to make our guests' stay a comfortable one by providing useful room amenities such as a refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and even a microwave upon request. Your comment about the size of our lanai tables will be reviewed by our management team for future improvements. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki from October 1 through October 15 and thought the upgrades were great, although not substantially changed from the many other stays we have had there over the years.

The pool was completely redone, and it is shallower and a little smaller, but I think more people were using it that I have ever seen before. There were a few more lounge chairs available but there was never a problem getting one at any time of the day. They did put up a glass surround around the pool which kind of seemed to knock of the wind down some on very light wind days, which we had the first week we were there.

Everything else was great as always before. Front desk and check in service efficient and friendly. Maid service friendly and efficient as always before. Very friendly and helpful pool service. Bell desk guys are great and they are the only thing that is old after the renovation. One of those guys says he has been there since 1967 !! I recognize most of them after many years of staying there.

We went to Dukes and Chuck's Steakhouse and the food was very good along with attentive service and great views. We had a "city view" room on the 7th floor but our beach and water view was very nice, and we enjoyed afternoons sitting and looking at the water and watching for turtles.

Room renovations are very nice and we had very little noise problems. But, we have never had noise problems in the past either, so maybe we are just not as sensitive as others. They do indicate that they have improved the sound proofing so they are sensitive to some of the complaints. It's never been a problem for us.

All 3 elevators were working and they were not an issue, even though there were signs that one of the 3 might be under renovation at some times. We never had an issue.

So, again we loved our stay. The General Manager, Robert McConnell came around the pool a couple of days as did his assistant, Shae Gallardo. They took time to visit with people around the pool and listen to our inputs on virtually everything. Nice of them to take the time for that. and everyone wanted to speak to them.

So, once again a great stay at the Outrigger Waikiki. We look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank placebets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha placebets. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are extremely proud to be your favorite after all these years. Most of our staff can boast that they have provided more than a decade of service at this property. Their commitment to exceptional guest service, combined with the continual upgrades to improve the property, provide our guests with an `Ohana and a relaxing home away from home in Hawaii. Mahalo for your many compliments. Our General Manager will be especially delighted to hear that his poolside visits are well appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,292 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing