We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“25th Anniversary”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii to celebrate our 25th Anniversary September 2012. Our first 3 nights we stayed on Oahu so we could see Pearl Harbor before heading to Maui. Our stay at the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach was amazing. We had a rental car and as soon as we pulled up we were greeted by the friendliest Valet i have ever had. These guys are awesome and i cant say enough about them... they greet you by name, give you directions and on our way back home at the end of our trip we stayed one night and had a 4.a.m. pick up with our airport shuttle. (Roberts Hawaii highly recommend) A valet stood outside with us and visited with us while we waited. (I wish i could remember his name). We stayed in an ocean view room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, nice big bathroom, big screen t.v. (that never got turned on) wonderful view of Waikiki Beach, we could see the ocean from our bed. This Hotel is clean and the staff is wonderful. From check in to check out. The location is great, anything you want or need is within walking distance. The International Market Place is across the street its a great place to pick up some gifts.We ate at Chucks two out of 4 nights and it was two of the best meals we had our entire trip. We ate at Hula Grill one morning and the pineapple coconut pancakes were wonderful.! We loved our stay here and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had a ocean view room on the 15th floor and it was very quiet. There is also an express elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha dallasestes. Happy belated Anniversary! Your many positive comments about our service, rooms, restaurants and views are truly appreciated. Our valet staff are one of our greatest assets. They provide all of our guests with a first and last impression of the property and are always looking forward to interacting with everyone. We will pass on your compliments to each of them and let them know that you and your husband will definitely be back for another visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,593
    1,543
    411
    139
    60
See reviews for
1,496
2,080
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent customer service. Best views of the ocean. Staff were friendly, helpful and rooms were clean. In the heart of everything in Waikiki. My husband and I stayed here after a long journey from Australia and we have such wonderful memories of this hotel. Back and home now and missing this hotel and Hawaii soooo much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha jane s. We are very honored to be a part of your wonderful memories of Hawaii. The combination of our friendly staff, clean rooms and unbeatable location helps us create a fantastic holiday experience for our guests. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We hope to see you and your husband again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here 2 years ago and it was just as I remembered it. We booked an ocean view room but we were not happy with the one we were given, however, we were able to change without any fuss. Also, our room was available at 9.30am - such a bonus when we had travelled overnight from Australia. The coffee machine was a real bonus, and the empty fridge very useful. Our only comment was the balconies are quite small, with a really large table - why such a big table? It made using the balcony a little tricky.

Dukes was as busy and buzzy as usual. Someone recommended the fish tacos as the best item on the menu, we tried them and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose Diamond Head side for ocean view, not so hot and away from air-conditioning from hotel next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAddictnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha TravelAddictnumber1. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the first room you were assigned, but we are happy to know that we did relocate you to a room that meets your satisfaction. We try our best to make our guests' stay a comfortable one by providing useful room amenities such as a refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and even a microwave upon request. Your comment about the size of our lanai tables will be reviewed by our management team for future improvements. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki from October 1 through October 15 and thought the upgrades were great, although not substantially changed from the many other stays we have had there over the years.

The pool was completely redone, and it is shallower and a little smaller, but I think more people were using it that I have ever seen before. There were a few more lounge chairs available but there was never a problem getting one at any time of the day. They did put up a glass surround around the pool which kind of seemed to knock of the wind down some on very light wind days, which we had the first week we were there.

Everything else was great as always before. Front desk and check in service efficient and friendly. Maid service friendly and efficient as always before. Very friendly and helpful pool service. Bell desk guys are great and they are the only thing that is old after the renovation. One of those guys says he has been there since 1967 !! I recognize most of them after many years of staying there.

We went to Dukes and Chuck's Steakhouse and the food was very good along with attentive service and great views. We had a "city view" room on the 7th floor but our beach and water view was very nice, and we enjoyed afternoons sitting and looking at the water and watching for turtles.

Room renovations are very nice and we had very little noise problems. But, we have never had noise problems in the past either, so maybe we are just not as sensitive as others. They do indicate that they have improved the sound proofing so they are sensitive to some of the complaints. It's never been a problem for us.

All 3 elevators were working and they were not an issue, even though there were signs that one of the 3 might be under renovation at some times. We never had an issue.

So, again we loved our stay. The General Manager, Robert McConnell came around the pool a couple of days as did his assistant, Shae Gallardo. They took time to visit with people around the pool and listen to our inputs on virtually everything. Nice of them to take the time for that. and everyone wanted to speak to them.

So, once again a great stay at the Outrigger Waikiki. We look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank placebets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha placebets. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are extremely proud to be your favorite after all these years. Most of our staff can boast that they have provided more than a decade of service at this property. Their commitment to exceptional guest service, combined with the continual upgrades to improve the property, provide our guests with an `Ohana and a relaxing home away from home in Hawaii. Mahalo for your many compliments. Our General Manager will be especially delighted to hear that his poolside visits are well appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Yes, if you want to stay right on the beach, with a lovely pool, bar, restaurant right at your hotel this is the place. We had to make 2 separate bookings as they didn't have the room we wanted for our whole stay (our fault) Our first room was partial ocean view - was on the 8th floor so when you had your balcony door open it was very noisy with the air con on the roof next door. However when we changed rooms to an ocean view it was simply superb, we were then on the left hand side of the hotel (facing beach) which is what I would recommend to anyone. My only complaint was that there is no shade around the pool, which for someone who doesn't want to lie in the sun it is a little hard. It was explained to me why there are no umbrellas, which was fine, but I do think they could put up some sort of small shaded area. I also think the check in staff could do with a course in customer relations! They really were not very friendly. However Heather on the tour desk could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, so she more than made up for the others across the lobby!
However it is a fantastic hotel, in a marvelous location - have already booked for June 2013, birng it on!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baxlougus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha Baxlougus. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your recent visit to Hawaii and for your upcoming vacation next summer. Your suggestions about adding shaded areas to the pooldeck are already being considered by the hotel's management team. We are currently in the process of reviewing many different shade options and products. Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 3 yrs ago, & definately wanted to come back. I was NOT disappointed. Couldn't image that something so great, could get better!! The service is the best, especially the convenience room provided to change into beach-ware when the room was not ready - WOW!! The beach, Duke's & all the easy walking access to shops, food - etc.....absolutely perfect. This is an absolute must stay - so worth the money (& I don't usually spend that, but for this hotel - it's a no brainer)!!!!!

Room Tip: Would recommend the extra money for an ocean balcony. The view, and listening to the water - really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsfan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Aloha sportsfan_10. Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We appreciate that you have returned to stay with us and we are proud that we delighted you once again. One of the most well-liked services we provide to our guests is the complimentary use of a Hospitality Room. This is an unoccupied room that we allow guests to use for the purpose of a shower and change during their day of arrival should they arrive before check-in time, or departure when they have a later flight and want to freshen up after spending a final day at the beach. Mahalo for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second visit and again the Outriigger did not disapoint. Is it the flashiest around-no, has it got the b best pool - no, does it have the best street foyer - no But what it does have is the best Beach frontage, the best layed back feeling and a revamped 'Dukes' restuarant. we understand that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment but to be honestwe found the existing room is excellent condition and a extremely high level of cleanliness. All In all another enjoyable stay and would recommend it to all and sundry.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean viwe room on the Diamond head side of the building and it was wonderful looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Aloha Vladimir57. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. It is true, our hotel does have a unique personality of its own. Our restaurants are casual and energetic. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. Our staff are friendly and always willing to assist. Everything comes together to provide our valued guests with all they need to truly experience a fun, relaxing holiday on Waikiki beach. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing