We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was my third stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. I continue to return to this hotel due to the very central location right on the beach. I enjoy the hotel restaurants: Hula Grill, Duke's and Chuck's Steakhouse; all of which have nice views of the ocean. Breakfast at the Hula Grill is always lovely with a view of the light changing over Diamond Head.

They are just finishing up a renovation of the guest rooms and elevators. I can't say for sure, but maybe they did some more sound proofing of the rooms, as this visit I didn't hear anything from either room next door. In the past, one of the main complaints about this hotel was the room sound proofing.

I reserved an ocean view room and got 931 which is on the side facing the Royal Hawaiian mall. Others have complained about the noise from the Royal Hawaiian fans but they never bothered me. Yes, they do create white noise if that sort of thing bothers you.

I always enjoy my stays here and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Aloha Miramar. Your continued patronage is truly appreciated. We value our loyal return guests and look forward to seeing you again soon. Our renovations will be fully completed by the end of the year. A very noticeable improvement is that all of our guest rooms will be sound-proofed like the one you recently stayed in. Other major refurbishments include brand new carpet and furnishings in guest rooms, a renovated salt-water swimming pool, increased seating and new shower facilities at the pooldeck as well as upgraded elevators. Mahalo nui loa for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the way to a Canadian holiday in september. The hotel is right on the beach and central to the shopping heart of Honalulu. We had a partial ocean view room and the view was great, we did not spend much time in the room so the view was rearely looked at. You can walk from the hotel right onto waikiki beach and the hotel is always the centre of eating and drinking on the beach. Plenty of beach walks available. the rooms were spotless and the staff always helpful and friendly. We tried all the hotels estaurants and it was especially magic on the 1st floor balconny overlooking the beach at sunset. The meals were great and the service first rate, thoroughly recommend this hotel and will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnJCanberraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Aloha AnJcanberraAustralia. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and to share the experience you had during your short visit. We are especially thrilled to read your comment: "..the rooms were spotless and the staff always helpful and friendly." Our team of employees strive to do an excellent job at all times and we will proudly let them know that it shows. We will all be looking forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. We absolutely loved it. The location is great, right on the beachfront of Waikiki. We booked an ocean view room and it was definately worth paying the extra money to wake up to that view each day. We travelled with our 2 boys aged 13 & 10 and the room was a great size. There were 2 double beds & a double sofa bed, which were all really comfortable. The bathroom was big and it had a large walk in wardrobe & plenty of drawers to store clothes in so we didnt have to live out of a suitcase. The room was really quite, with no noise from other rooms. The air conditioning worked well & was really quite. The room had a fridge, a safe & a hairdryer.
You can hire surfboards & body boards on the beach in front of the hotel. The pool is fairly small, but with the crystal clear water at the beach, most people tend to sit on the beach. The deck chairs around the pool are really comfortable & some face out towards the beachfront.
We ate breakfast at Dukes each morning, which was great food and a great outlook overlooking the beach, it gets packed in the afternoon for drinks & dinner.
You walk out on the street side of the hotel and you are right in the middle of the main shopping area, with plenty of restaurants & shops in walking distance. The Cheescake Factory is excellent and PF Changs just down the road has great food too.
There is a trolley stop right out the front of the hotel, which is a fun way to get around waikiki. Its about a 20 minute ride to Ala Moana shopping centre, which has hundreds of shops to visit.
I would definateley recommend this hotel if you want to be in the heart of all that Waikiki has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Aloha BellieS. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach on your recent Hawaiian holiday. We are a family friendly hotel with many rooms large enough to accommodate up to four guests comfortably. All three of our oceanfront restaurants are also loved by children of all ages as they feature excellent food at reasonable prices in casual, lively and open air surroundings. We are delighted that you and your `ohana were able to experience all that Waikiki has to offer in the week you were here. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here 6 nights with our baby. The hotel is superb! It's on the beach and centre of waikiki so you can shop anything til late. We stayed in partial ocean view room and we're very happy with this decision. We sat in the balcony and looked over beautiful beach, Royal Hawaian Hotel, Mountain and city view and we felt like we got all views! The room is spacious with sofa and the service was great. The hotel has many activity like ukulele lessons, vow renewal which I joined and it's good memory:) Duke Bar & pool were great and we will definately stay here again!!

My family stayed at Moana Surfrider which is next to our hotel and I visited their rooms. If you are willing to pay a lot, you will enjoy ocean front room which is very beautiful, modern and spacious. But if you are tight on budget and chose city view room there, I sugguest you to chose Outrigger Waikiki on the beach with partial or ocean front view room. The city view room at Moana Surfrider was quite compact and no balcony and it's more like business hotel rooms instead of resort. I am very happy with my beautiful and spacious room at Outrigger:)

The shuttle bus to/from airport stops at Outrigger so it's really convenienet,too.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room on top floor was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momotarokawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Aloha momotarokawaii. Thank you very much for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your recent visit to Hawaii. We are honored that you decided to stay with us while your family stayed next door at the Westin Moana Surfrider. Your comparison of the rooms at both properties is very useful for future vacationers who want to stay right on Waikiki beach. It is lovely to hear that you participated in our special vow renewal ceremony. We believe that by engaging our guests in educational and cultural activities during their stay, we can provide a most memorable Hawaiian vacation experience. Please come back for another visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

we just finished a 5week trip across the USA with 3days at this hotel. it was excellent in every way location, staff, food etc. The pub bar Dukes was great. best fresh food we had the whole time away.A great end to a our holiday we will go back next time for much longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Aloha Jackie1770. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your holiday across the United States of America. We hope you enjoyed your short visit to Hawaii and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location,you can walk from the pool onto the beach.Had a great view from our room.Cleaning service good.Rooms very clean and comfortable.All three restaurant at the hotel good and great service.Hotel close to everything.Good sandwich shop just beside hotel Excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Aloha Angela P. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience all of our dining options. Duke's Waikiki, Hula Grill and Chuck's Steakhouse are three of the finest oceanfront restaurants located on Waikiki Beach. They each feature delicious cuisine with an island flare, refreshing tropical cocktails, breathtaking views and all at reasonable prices for hearty portions. Please stay and dine with us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just the best overall experience we've ever had from a hotel. Food is fantastic, staff very friendly and helpful. And the location on the beach is beyond description. Dukes Bar is my favourite place in the world. Don't hesitate - just hurry up and go there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davesmithy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Aloha davesmithy66. Thank you for your 5-star rating. It is wonderful to hear that you had a delightful overall experience with us. Please don't wait too long to return again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing