We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

the staff rooms everything about hotel was great right on the beach staff really helpfull and friendly had a great view from room we were on the top floor it was lovely sitting on balcony you could see for miles would def go back renewed wedding vows it was really romantic. loved the whole 10 days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave_chrisjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha dave_chrisjohnson,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you get to do the complimentary Vow renewal. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,566
    1,529
    411
    138
    60
See reviews for
1,472
2,070
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our room was great. Very spacious room, closet, bathroom, porch, etc. Housekeeping came in early-ish every morning (around 10 AM). They did a great job (except they forgot to put a trash bag in our trash can for the first few days). The couch bed wasn't exceptionally comfortable but it was livable. The shower was great, a little cramped but never ran out of hot water and it wasn't painful like some other hotel showers. The closet was HUGE. We were able to unpack our things, and keep all of our suitcases in there for the trip.

I would recommend not telling the check-in if you have extra people. They charged us an extra $400 for one person.

Also, the parking is great. They have a valet service that gets your car, carries your baggage, etc. However, plan in advance for this. Parking there is $30 a night.

Overall a great experience. The hotel is right on the water, which made it super convenient for swimming and beach activities. Duke's (the restaurant there) is great for breakfast ($15 all you can eat buffet). I would avoid it for dinner though as the food is mediocre and is also very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtownshend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha jtownshend,
Thank you for taking the time to compose a detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience. We are happy to hear that the valet, room, bathroom and location were to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempsford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Before arriving on Oahu we visited Big Island and Maui so by contrast Honolulu is very busy and this hotel is right in the center of the action.
Great for watching Waikki beach which is very busy all the time (we had an ocean view which overlooked the beach and faced the hotel next door). The restaurants on site are good but you are also within easy walking distance of many restaurants
Whilst we do not generally like Valet parking, this is very well organised and we never had to wait long for the car

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanetC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha JanetC6,

We appreciate your kind words regarding the Valet Service they do a great job in getting our guest in and out with very little wait time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you as our guests again. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here with the girls for an 8 day trip at the end of Januay 2011, the trip was purely for relaxation and retail therapy!! The location is perfect and for that price for a breachfront hotel is fantastic! It's central to great shops, the markets and great food catering for any budget. By the 2nd last day we had pretty much spent all our money shopping so spent our last days relaxing on the beach and by the pool..a wonderful way to end the trip.

We also hired 2 umbrellas and beach lounge chairs on the beach..the external supplier charged $60 for the day but with a bit of conversation and genuine interest in their day, the wonderful old man reduced the price to $15 for the day so we gave the beach boy who set it up a huge tip. Always pays to be extra extra nice : )

The room service and staff were excellant. The lady who cleaned our room each day even helped us suck the air out of our space bags and helped us squash all our purchases into out suitcase. She was wonderful!

The rooms were well presented very clean with an old world touch to it yet the bathrooms were quite modern. I am big on clean and modern bathrooms : )

The only tiny issue was that the walls were quite thin, but we had rather wonderful neighbours so it wasn't too bad, considering we had stayed during the Superbowl weekend. The atmosphere was great!

We am actually heading back there again for our honeymoon in November, so excited!

Thank you for making our holiday so memorable! See you again in November : )

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha thuymai,
Thank you for a wonderful review we are happy to see that you had excellent service during your stay. Shopping can be an experience with all the shops nearby. Using the space bags was a great idea, it is great that the housekeeper could help such out the air for you. We like the fact that you love our old world touch as it is a feeling of being in Hawaii. We look forward to welcoming you for your Honeymoon, good luck with all of your planning and plan to have another relaxing visit! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. I was a little concerned when I read about the noise issue. We didn't have any problems. This is a top notch hotel. We got upgraded to a junior suite with amazing views of the beach on the 14th floor. We did the vow renewal at the Outrigger Reef. I only wish that Outrigger Waikiki did the vow renewal more than once a week on Friday. It was inconvient to walk to the Reef but the ceremony was very touching. The bed at the hotel was very comfortable. Everyone at the hotel treated us with the utmost respect and courtesy. They even gave us a welcome bag full of goodies. We hated to leave but will return and will stay at the Outrigger again. The best restaurants on the beach.Also greatest stretch of beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade. get a room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Cathy2195,

We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation with us. The vow renewals have been so popular that we are looking to add another day to our property. We like the fact that the noise was not a factor for you during your stay. We like to recognize our return guests as they are a special part of our family. We hope to see you real soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Good points: central location, excellent access to restaurants and shopping. Check-in staff friendly and efficient. Offered us Ocean Front upgrade for $50 a night more and allowed us to go and check out the room before committing. We ended up with the Ocean View that we initially reserved. Restaurants are good. Not noisy unless you open the balcony door.
We participated in the Hawaiian vow renewal ceremony Thursday morning, a nice experience and free ( unless you buy the pictures --- $200 for 4 sheets! )

Bad points: pool is quite deep, 4 to 8 feet, not very children-friendly. Parking is $30 per night. ( Tip: I parked at a small public garage at 2463 Kuhio Ave for $12, it is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is also next to Morio's sushi which is a small but excellent sushi place.) our balcony faces the west, and is quite noisy because of the noise from the ventilation fans of the adjacent building.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iggisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Iggisang,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are happy to see that you took advantage of our complimentary vow renewals. Great tip for reducing the parking charges, we would like to state that the rate is $30 for valet parking only and that includes in and out privileges. We look forward to welcoming you as a return guest in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach in the days leading up to our Hawaii wedding. Note: don't confuse this hotel with the Outrigger Waikiki on the Reef which is MUCH further away from Waikiki's markets/beach hub. Important note: locals call Outrigger on the Beach "Outrigger Main" and ensure your shuttle driver drops you off at the correct one!

Service: very good from beginning to end - everything from front desk, bellboys to servers at Duke's downstairs for our daily breakfast.

Rooms: I would rank 4 out of 5 stars for overall quality and value. Other friends attending our wedding stayed at various hotels within 500 metres of the Outrigger and the only hotels (that we visited) that were slightly better were The Moana Surfrider and the Sheraton Waikiki both next door. Reasons: Sheraton had a more contemporary feel in terms of furnishings plus more rooms had 180 degree undisturbed ocean views. We chose the partial ocean view at the Outrigger which included a 90 degree ocean view and 90 degree city view... I thought we were pretty lucky actually as friends downstairs had views of an air-conditioning unit (we did mention we were there to get married. Moving on, the Outrigger just can't compare to the Moana Surfrider next door. The Moana is full of old world charm with service to match putting it in a totally different class of hotel.

Dukes: had brekkie here every morning. Typical American breakfast buffet - good selection of everything. Fruits, cereal, hot stuff like eggs, bacon etc. Quite nice to start the day sitting outside on the balcony. Special mention: the wait staff are all extremely attentive (nice to see as you don't get much service like that here in Australia). They definitely work hard for their wages.

Location: fantastic location! This was the best feature of the hotel. Beach access located at the rear of the hotel - who needs the pool when you have the beautiful beach! No waves - more lagoon style which was perfect for floating on the inflatable day beds (sold at ABC shops). The Outrigger is also located right across the road from the International Marketplace with food stalls inside. Some nights also feature Hula and Tahitian dancers to entertain diners at the food court - forget which nights this is on. A short walk to the bus stop will take you to the Ala Moana shopping centre for both high and low end shopping.

Would I stay here again - maybe, would depend on the price. The big name hotels located in this area really do charge an arm and a leg for the beach frontage. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice hotel in a great location... but if I found a hotel in the same area with similar features I would probably go for it, just to try something new. Had a great time but would prefer to save a bit of cash for shopping rather than spending extra on the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank I_love_travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha I love travel101,

Congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for taking the time to make a detailed review of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your honesty as it helps us to find areas of improvement. We are happy that you enjoyed our service and location. True Moana Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian are spectacular hotels, however we are moderately priced compared to them. Also we offer free wifi and telephones and we never charge a daily resort fee. We enjoyed your review and look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,966 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing