We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, romantic, vow renewal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful, romantic, vow renewal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. I was a little concerned when I read about the noise issue. We didn't have any problems. This is a top notch hotel. We got upgraded to a junior suite with amazing views of the beach on the 14th floor. We did the vow renewal at the Outrigger Reef. I only wish that Outrigger Waikiki did the vow renewal more than once a week on Friday. It was inconvient to walk to the Reef but the ceremony was very touching. The bed at the hotel was very comfortable. Everyone at the hotel treated us with the utmost respect and courtesy. They even gave us a welcome bag full of goodies. We hated to leave but will return and will stay at the Outrigger again. The best restaurants on the beach.Also greatest stretch of beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade. get a room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Cathy2195,

We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation with us. The vow renewals have been so popular that we are looking to add another day to our property. We like the fact that the noise was not a factor for you during your stay. We like to recognize our return guests as they are a special part of our family. We hope to see you real soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,476
    1,497
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,422
2,002
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Good points: central location, excellent access to restaurants and shopping. Check-in staff friendly and efficient. Offered us Ocean Front upgrade for $50 a night more and allowed us to go and check out the room before committing. We ended up with the Ocean View that we initially reserved. Restaurants are good. Not noisy unless you open the balcony door.
We participated in the Hawaiian vow renewal ceremony Thursday morning, a nice experience and free ( unless you buy the pictures --- $200 for 4 sheets! )

Bad points: pool is quite deep, 4 to 8 feet, not very children-friendly. Parking is $30 per night. ( Tip: I parked at a small public garage at 2463 Kuhio Ave for $12, it is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is also next to Morio's sushi which is a small but excellent sushi place.) our balcony faces the west, and is quite noisy because of the noise from the ventilation fans of the adjacent building.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iggisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Iggisang,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are happy to see that you took advantage of our complimentary vow renewals. Great tip for reducing the parking charges, we would like to state that the rate is $30 for valet parking only and that includes in and out privileges. We look forward to welcoming you as a return guest in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach in the days leading up to our Hawaii wedding. Note: don't confuse this hotel with the Outrigger Waikiki on the Reef which is MUCH further away from Waikiki's markets/beach hub. Important note: locals call Outrigger on the Beach "Outrigger Main" and ensure your shuttle driver drops you off at the correct one!

Service: very good from beginning to end - everything from front desk, bellboys to servers at Duke's downstairs for our daily breakfast.

Rooms: I would rank 4 out of 5 stars for overall quality and value. Other friends attending our wedding stayed at various hotels within 500 metres of the Outrigger and the only hotels (that we visited) that were slightly better were The Moana Surfrider and the Sheraton Waikiki both next door. Reasons: Sheraton had a more contemporary feel in terms of furnishings plus more rooms had 180 degree undisturbed ocean views. We chose the partial ocean view at the Outrigger which included a 90 degree ocean view and 90 degree city view... I thought we were pretty lucky actually as friends downstairs had views of an air-conditioning unit (we did mention we were there to get married. Moving on, the Outrigger just can't compare to the Moana Surfrider next door. The Moana is full of old world charm with service to match putting it in a totally different class of hotel.

Dukes: had brekkie here every morning. Typical American breakfast buffet - good selection of everything. Fruits, cereal, hot stuff like eggs, bacon etc. Quite nice to start the day sitting outside on the balcony. Special mention: the wait staff are all extremely attentive (nice to see as you don't get much service like that here in Australia). They definitely work hard for their wages.

Location: fantastic location! This was the best feature of the hotel. Beach access located at the rear of the hotel - who needs the pool when you have the beautiful beach! No waves - more lagoon style which was perfect for floating on the inflatable day beds (sold at ABC shops). The Outrigger is also located right across the road from the International Marketplace with food stalls inside. Some nights also feature Hula and Tahitian dancers to entertain diners at the food court - forget which nights this is on. A short walk to the bus stop will take you to the Ala Moana shopping centre for both high and low end shopping.

Would I stay here again - maybe, would depend on the price. The big name hotels located in this area really do charge an arm and a leg for the beach frontage. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice hotel in a great location... but if I found a hotel in the same area with similar features I would probably go for it, just to try something new. Had a great time but would prefer to save a bit of cash for shopping rather than spending extra on the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank I_love_travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha I love travel101,

Congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for taking the time to make a detailed review of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your honesty as it helps us to find areas of improvement. We are happy that you enjoyed our service and location. True Moana Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian are spectacular hotels, however we are moderately priced compared to them. Also we offer free wifi and telephones and we never charge a daily resort fee. We enjoyed your review and look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Quick & easy check-in with luggage delivered to room fast
Room, 9th floor - a decent size with a city and ocean view Walls very thin Decor ok
All staff welcoming & efficient
Ate at all 3 restaurants & food always very good Drinks reasonably priced
Bad points - balconies very small; toilet flush is fierce and noisy so you can hear multiple flushes throughout the day; pricey sunloungers on the beach - privately owned charging $60 a day for 2 loungers & parasol Pool small
The main beef was trying to enjoy a drink early evening - had to join a waiting list of 1 hour 20 This was just to drink at the bar in the hotel that you're already a guest in The wait is due to the fact that everyone comes here on an evening

Supposedly one of the best hotels in the area but we were disappointed

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha jasu,
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that our staff was welcoming and efficient. We offer lounge chairs on the pool deck and lower deck for our guest that do not want to pay $60 per day for beach loungers. We are sad to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and hope one day we can meet all of your needs. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our family stayed at The Outrigger On The Beach Waikiki June 11-16th, 2011. We booked and paid for a partial ocean view room six months in advance and that is exactly what we got when we checked in so we were happy. We stayed on the ninth floor facing the Moana Surfrider tower.
The room was quiet and we could see both a view of the ocean and a view of Kalakaua avenue. Check in was easy and efficient and our luggage was delivered to our room promptly. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous but most of all welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely updated. We had two queen beds and a couch that pulled out into a bed so our two kids were able to have their own beds which was really nice. They also provided free local and long distance calls as well as free access to the internet which was fabulous. The beach and pool area was beautiful and we always found space no matter what time of day we went. On the whole the food in the restaurants was very good. We dined at Hula Grill, Duke's and Chuck's. The hotel is very well located right in the heart of Waikiki and within walking distance of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return on our next trip to Oahu! A BIG MAHALO to The Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach for making our stay so enjoyable! A hui hou! (until we meet again).

Room Tip: Rm. 914 nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Weestie230,
What a great review we are delighted that you enjoyed all we had to offer. You sure know how to vacation. We could only hope that everyone appreciates us as much as you do. Thank you so much for recognizing all of our efforts. We appreciate you! A hui hou! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Outrigger Waikiki is the place to stay when visiting the island! Everything you need is within walking distance and the hotel itself is only steps from the beach. Everyone is always so friendly and eager to help. Yes it is a very busy place with lots of people coming and going but that's just how it is in Waikiki!! The noise must not be a problem in the oceanfront rooms as we have never had an issue with thin walls, etc during any of our stays here. We requested a room on a lower floor this time (4th) and it is by far the better choice if you want a view of the ocean from inside the room. There is a small store in the hotel lobby where you can find essentials (including beer and wine) which fit perfectly in the room fridge and if you can't find what you're looking for there, the ABC store is directly across the street. Dukes and the Hula Grill are located on the property and are both very good and reasonably priced. We had coffee every morning from Seatles Best Coffee and their Kona brew is highly recommended! All in all, we had another great stay at Outrigger Waikiki and will always come back here when visiting Oahu!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smcalifornia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha smcalifornia1,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us a fabulous review. We are happy that you pointed out our great location and views. We look forward to welcoming you as a return guest. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

we were at this hotel for 7 days from 18th June..... Its one of the best hotels in the heart of honolulu, clean, great restaurants, right on the beach. We will definately be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueReview2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Aloha Adonopoulos,
Thank you for your great compliment! We appreciate your great review. We definitely will be looking for you soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing