We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased-would stay again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased-would stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Prime location, easy access to just about anything you want to do. We had an ocean front room with a king bed. Little dissappointed the room didnt have a sitting area and
felt very cramped for space at first but after organizing got a system going and that proved not to be an issue. Hotel staff was very nice, especially the beach umbrella rental and beach activities personnel. Watch out for the "free gift" offered at the activity desk inside the hotel...remember nothing is free and the catch is spending time on your vacation to hear about a time share. (They are VERY persistent).

Hula Grill offers nice breakfast and an afternoon happy hour. Dukes is too hard to get seating and we enjoyed hula grill just as well.

Truly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel and would definitely stay there again. If I had one
suggestion to make its regarding the parking. $30 a day to park a car is outrageous!
(Which I heard complaints about constantly) Seriously, does it really have to be that pricey? Isnt it enough we patronize the hotel and restaurants?? Seems like overkill!

Room Tip: Oceanfront nice but some have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Aloha Babs308,

Thank you for a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and location. Hula Grill is a great alternative for Dinner as is Chucks Steak House on the Lobby Level. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our $30 parking rates. Our parking rates does include Valet service and in and out privileges. We look forward to your next stay. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Location wise this was perfect if you wanted to enjoy easy access to waikikis shops, bars and restaurants. It was also easy to get on a bus and explore some of the island, in particular Hanauma Bay for which the bust stop is situated right around the corner.

the hotel offered great breakfast and all round service from the staff but i would say the only fault is Dukes bar gets crowded very quickly and this often means a lack of space inside. You can also only order one drink per person at the bar however there are plenty of waitresses to collect your drinks orders.

the pool was pretty small but to be honest there are much nicer beaches and pools elsewhere if you take a wander.

For us on a honeymoon we just wanted somewhere that was easily accessible for all our trips and somewhere that we could come back to that was clean, spacious and friendly. This is definitely ideal for all groups of people, families, couples, whatever your requirement its a great hotel.

Room Tip: avoid the side facing the next door air con units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpriest80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Aloha jpriest80,
Congratulations, we thank you for sharing such a special occasion with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guests for your 1st year anniversary. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 35th wedding anniversary celebration at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. This was our second stay there and it was even more perfect the second time around!

We were warmly greeted at check-in by Rick (I hope this is the correct name) . After arriving in our ocean front room we were somewhat disappointed by the size (no sitting area at all...just a desk chair) but great view. When we went down to see what could be done Rick again helped us out. He spoke to his manager who gave us a great 1 bedroom suite upgrade on the 14th floor which pleased both of us immensely. It was on the corner with a wrap around terrace and gave us fantastic views looking directly at the ocean and beautiful mountain and city views. What more could you ask for?

I know other people have complained about noises heard from other rooms but I am not sure what the problem was. We never heard anything. If you think you might experience this problem then just bring some foam earplugs. They work fantasticly!

All staff including check-in, housekeeping, waiters always did an excellent job. We can hardly wait to return again. This hotel is located on an excellent stretch of beach and handy to great restaurants, shopping and night life. Do yourself a favor and choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for your next Hawaiian Holiday. You won't be sorry.

Mahalo Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Aloha until we meet again!

Room Tip: Express elevator from 14th floor & above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Aloha robmetz,
Congratulations on your 35th anniversary, thank you for coming back to stay with us again. We are happy to hear that Rick was able to assist you in making your second trip with us memorable. Our Suites are both large and have incredible views. We have reduced the prices of our Ocean front suites so that our guests can enjoy the same experience that you have described. Topping your second experience will be tough but we will try to beat it on your third stay! Till next year Ahui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We'll give a good review for the clean, large, and updated room. Oceanview (not front) was perfect with a small balcony with very good views of the beach. Free internet and nize-sized LCD TV were a plus. The on-site amenities were great. We ate at both Duke's and the steakhouse (I cannot recall the name). Both had very good food and service for the price ... which is saying a lot for Waikiki. Pool is small and populated by unattractive, pale, overweight, and hairy people. South Beach it ain't and take my tip and ask to be moved if you're seated overlooking the pool when eating at Duke's. Spa was great. The girlfriend enjoyed her massage and the cost was reasonable.

Our biggest complaint was the pushiness of the desk staff and event folks. At check in, the lady at the desk made a tired sales pitch to get us to purchase an upgrade to ocean front, but avoided answering our plain question of how much more it would cost a night (it wound up being $125 or so more). After we declined, the desk staff changed her tone and explained that our "regular room" would not be available until 4. A further obvious and silly attempt to get us to leap for the upgrade. Worse still, the sales pitch sounded like something management taught the staff in pre-shift meetings. The hotel should be ashamed If that's the case. The other annoyance (not counting the loud, obnoxious, and out of shape tourists who should not be seen without shirts) was the event desk. When we walked by, they barked as us like carnies and offered "free money" for signing up for events. It seemed that the pushy staff did everything they could to prevent us from unwinding. Again, this had the smell of a company policy rather than an overzealous individual. All in all, those were minor complaints for a quality stay that cost substantially less than similar hotels on the strip (Hilton, Marriott, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MansWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
MansWork,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize that we made you feel pressured during your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Ocean view room and Restaurants during your stay. We look forward to having you as a return guest. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Right in the middle of Waikiki beach, tons of shopping/restaurants around this hotel. We didn't rent a car because we didn't want to pay for parking, the front desk was very helpful to us with arranging shuttles to Pearl Harbor and the airport (took the bus or walked everywhere else) The room (we got a king bed city view) was spacious, and even though it was a city view, we could see the beach from the patio. The breakfast buffet, though expensive, was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singheyjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Aloha singheyjude,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our location is very convenient to shopping and dining and you can catch the bus and shuttles to anywhere. You can see a little of the ocean from a lot of the rooms in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

This was my second trip to Honolulu. The first time I went I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. It was nice but THIS hotel has that one beat. For starters the pancakes at Hula Grill are BEYOND amazing. They taste like my mom is in the kitchen. And that's a good thing. Lol. I love the location of the hotel as well. And the maids were extremely sweet and accommodating. I loved my room. It may not have been the most modern, but it was comfortable, clean, and more than met my picky tastes. I had an oceanfront with a great view of Diamond Head I will be taking the Hawaii bar in February and this hotel is where I'm going to stay that week. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Always be polite to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepimpact2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Aloha Deepimpact2,

Thank you for a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed almost everything we had to offer. We appreciate you being so detailed about your experience. Study hard, so when you come back you can enjoy Waikiki with out any worries. We will see you in February. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Perfect location, very friendly staff, great value

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txtohawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWKM, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Aloha Txtohawaii,
Thank you for the short and sweet version. See you next year. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing