We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Aloha BB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Aloha Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aloha BB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The breakfast was great -- they have organic food and fresh food. Our hosts offered us numerous good tips that saved us money. They loaned us boogie boards and towels. We also enjoyed their salt water pool. Recommend a stay here. Good hosts, food and tips. We'd go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
15
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Aloha Bed & Breakfast for 4 nights. The location is great! The rooms were rather drap. There were 3 rooms which all shared 1 bathroom. We were lucky since we were the only guests there at the time. The breakfast was on the skimpy side. Choice of one fresh fruit and a bagel or muffin. Coffee and tea was available, no juice was offered. Washer and dryer was available for $8.00 per load. We thought that was rather excessive! I would not recommend this place unless you are the only guest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ErikJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This nice and cosy Place is owned by Phyllis... Phyllis and her husband are very helpful and you get an excellent homemade continental breakfast. We enjoyed this nice and quite place outside honolulu. With a car you can get to honolulu downtown in ca. 20 min.. To stay here you have to have a car cause its in a quiet neighboorhood up on a hill ca. 6-8 miles to honolulu. The rooms are quite small, but nice decorated. The only special thing is the shared bathroom for 3 rooms. But for us it was no problem. Thanx to Phyllis and her husband, Cheers Ina & Jannis

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jstahnsdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Don and Phyllis were very friendly and made excellent recommendations on where to eat and things to do. They are very knowledgeable about the island and the location was a great escape from the hustle and bustle of downtown Honolulu and the popular Waikiki area. The self-serve breakfast was great because we weren't tied down to a schedule. We didn't have to be up at a certain time for breakfast and if we wanted to get an early start we wouldn't miss eating. Another great attribute was the affordable price. We got more for our money that we would have at a hotel that would have 'nickel and dimed' us. No a/c, but fans were provided and a nice breeze came in through the windows at night. It was wonderful. We also loved the Christian atmosphere. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and we were a little nervous, but Don and Phyllis made us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wausautraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much at Aloha Bed & Breakfast! When we asked, Don & Phyllis could not have been more helpful in telling us where to eat, visit, hikes we might enjoy, even directions when we needed them. They were very congenial but still gave us our own space to enjoy meals and views from the B & B. The food was especially good, homemade and delicious without being too heavy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONANZA,OREGON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I come to Hawaii once a year for three weeks as a sales representative and happily I found Don and Phyllis' B&B. I stay here the entire time .What a great change from the hustle and hassle of downtown Honolulu. Parking is free (as opposed to $15+ dollars per day at some downtown hotels) and the views are great (diamond head and the ocean) The breakfasts are healthy and have a variety of organic cereal, Hawaiian fruit, juice, coffee tea etc. and whole grain toast and muffins. They are gracious and caring hosts. I have stayed here for the last five of seven years and I will continue to do so in the future. I have recommended this gem to friends and others at my company and have not ever had anyone complain. While not directly on the beach (you will need a car) they are just a few minutes from Haunama Bay - Oahu's premeire snorkeling park and about a 15 minute drive to Sea Life Park.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPSTERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The B&B is located in a sprawling suburban neighborhood (nothing old Hawaii here) about 20 minutes out of Waikiki without traffic, but double that when H-1 is backed up, which is quite often. If you love the scene in town, walking to the beach or want just a room to sleep in, you are probably better off just getting a room in Waikiki. Note that all three bedrooms are down stairs, sharing one full bath. The other half bath is upstairs, which makes it somewhat inconvenient. For a stay longer than about 3 days, the queen room is very small, so ask for the King. The twin room is best for sleeping in, as it has shutters that keep the room dark. The other two have good views, but the sun comes up about 7 so it gets bright quick, and it does get warm in the rooms. There is a fan in each room, but no A/C. Breakfast is usually fresh fruit, bread and cereal. And yes, it still costs $8 to do a load of laundry, which bugged us more than the ants that are on the kitchen counter every morning.

  • Liked — Free Parking
  • Disliked — Distance from town, and cost of laundry
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank 8837Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aloha Bed & Breakfast
Address: 909 Kahauloa Pl, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views from non-smoking ridge Hawaii Kai home. King, queen & twin bedrooms Free WiFi. Thirty days or longer reservations. Minutes to Hanauma Bay, Sea Life Park, beautiful beaches & hikes. Great places to eat close by. Friendly Christian hosts give concierge services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Bed And Breakfast
Aloha Hotel Honolulu
Aloha Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing