We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hawaiian business get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Hawaiian business get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was on a business trip to Honolulu and found the Hilton Hawaiian Village a very good value for money. The location to the Waikiki area is superb. I found that getting around that area was pleasant. Lots of good shops and plenty of places to eat. I recommend the Hilton property to anyone while visiting the island of Oahu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    355
    107
    33
    25
See reviews for
649
223
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great property, too bad the front desk customer service isn't up to Hilton standards. Room was great, amenities great. On day of check out received late check out (in writing) until 1 pm. At 12:20 front desk called to tell me they were charging me $150 since I was not out by noon. I told them about late check out, but they did not care and insisted on charging me anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice resort. Fantastic shopping experience since you can just walk downstairs and the world is at your fingertips. Free DVD rentals. They charge you for umbrellas and chairs (hefty rental fee) if you decide to go to the beach. The pools are very congested. Location is key however. Parking per day fee; however, you can go in and out at no extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank zantedeschia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Is the Grand Waikikian better than the lagoon tower ?
partial ocean view is a joke , I am in 2312 maybe you can see a bit of ocean if you hang over the balcony and crane your head. The Lagoon tower has better ocean views. You can not hear the annoying nightly luau from the GW , so that is a plus ! There is no direct way in to this building, you seem to have to walk around or thru the Lagoon tower lobby. There should be an entrance closer to the front of the property. I am not trying to sound lazy but if you like hanging out at the pool - making several trips to get supplies during the day , this can get annoying ! The rooms are nice the TV's are way too small , as much money as they spent on this property the TV's in the room are pathetic ! again this year I am VERY DISSAPOINTED with the number of umbrellas at the pools , none of the pool have any or enough umbrellas. HILTON , not everyone wants to bake in the sun all day. Spend $200.00 each and but some damn umbrellas !!! If you want to come here to relax and do nothing besides hang at the pool, this can be a MAJOR bummer, almost enough to make one not want to come back ! They re-did the TAPA pool , I don't like it as much. It used to be more secluded now people can get in from both ends of the pool ( it used to be only open at the bar end ) so it is busier. The beds in the one bedroom are kind of small for two people, I am guessing the are queen, king would have made a big difference. I would not mention the small things but this is a HILTON GRAND VACATIONS CLUB , I just expect a little better of the small things. overall it is a nice place, and I would recommend it - as long as you don't want to find a shady spot by the pool, if you do call ahead and see if the bought damn umbrellas !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for recent feedback regarding your stay with us. Again I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay and am very happy we were able to speak regarding these issues via phone. We hope to see you in Hawaii soon.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Jongert
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé was offerd this trip as a promotion to have her buy into a time share. We were offered 7 days plus car rental at Dollar and an upgrade from a 1 BR/ 1 bath to a 2 BR/ 2 bath suite (we paid for the upgrade)
About us, we are well travelled in the US and abroad, middle class in late 40's of age.
The experience;
1) Dollar Car Rental is off site from the airport and is on the low end of car rental but free is free. The car wasn't clean and wasn't the best but again, it was free.
2) Upon arrival we were registered within 10 min and given a Hawaiian leis. My fiancé asked if we could have a room with an ocean view and was told it was a "city view" lol. OK, we had to try. We were taken to the 15th floor and upon entering found that it did indeed have an ocean view and overlooked parking and the luau as well (faced the Rainbow Hilton). We were pleased with the view.
The room was a generous in size, fully equipped and even had a washer and dryer. Everything was clean and problem free. Our weeks stay was overall very satisfying. The property was clean ( they even buff the sidewalks) with plenty of shops, resturaunts and pools though I wish one pool was dedicated to adults only. The property was definitely kid/ family friendly and one evening we noted a childs movie being played on the lawn. The staff were friendly, and helpful including the valet, concierge and bellman.
We had such a nice stay that my fiancé who was already a Hilton Diamond decided to buy into the time share. The salesperson was extremely nice, helpful and ultimately was instrumental in her deciding to make the purchase.
Now the critical part;
1) Upon registration, it would have seemed that the girl helping us should have known which side our room was facing. Surprised us upon seeing the ocean and a big plus but still she should have known.
2) Checkin was 4 pm and they stick to it no matter how early you get there. However, they do give you access to a nice lounge that has showers.
3) The worst problem and ALMOST a deal breaker was in the last hour of our stay. In signing the deal for the timeshare we were going to run past our checkout time and the salesman called the front desk and told them our checkout could be 1pm instead of the customary late 12 noon. At 12:20 a lady called stating we hadn't checked out yet and was charging $150 to her card. When my fiancé told her we had an email stating 1 pm and what had happened, she continued to state she was charging her $150. After asking for the manager, it was resolved and we checked out at 1 pm. We wanted to talk to a manager face to face but was told they were all out to lunch but one would call us before leaving the island in 3 hours. 3 days later, we are still waiting.
All said, we enjoyed ourselves and were happy but Hilton needs to work on customer care. One wasn't knowledgable and the other was rude and almost lost them a $20,000.00 deal in 2 minutes. As a manager herself, my fiancé was mad at the time and felt a manager would want to know about a staff member that was just pain rude. Apparently not!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great experience at the hotel. Our triplets are a handful so having a washer, dryer and full kitchen made life easy. Service was good, the suite a good size and the fact that we had access to all the Hilton hotel facilities and amenities allowed us to be able to be entertained for our entire 8 days without needing to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are Elite Members and Hilton Honors members. Stayed at the Grand Waikikian for the first time last week and it was a VERY disappointing experience compared to the prior week at Kings Land. I sent an email about this but no response. This is the first of a few posts to show all the pics.
1. The sheets were not supplied for the pull out bed so had to call room service.
2. We were missing a dinner plate had to call room service again.
3. had to have the PS3 replaced 3 times & and have a tech visit twice. He spent 90 min trying to get the units to play Blue Ray in the living room.
4. cabinet doors were coming off the hinges - had to call room service a 3rd time.
5. The bathroom door wouldn't lock which upset my teen daughter
6. chipped and peeling furniture
6. The Paradise pool looks like it hasn't been scrubbed in months (see pic) one of the water slides isn't working ad when I asked the life guard he said it's been out for a while and no ETA to fix it.
7. Garbage everywhere around the pool. Do they ever clean up?

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated based on points spent - more points = bigger room or better view but you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us as we were delighted to have you as a guest at our resort in August.
We are disappointed to hear that our level of service did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for not meeting those expectations. As we would like very much to improve upon the services you experienced during your stay your comments and feedback are extremely valuable in helping us improve in those areas that failed to leave you feeling satisfied. We see from our records that you were able to meet with two of our resort managers during your stay so we hope that your concerns during your stay were addressed and taken care of in a satisfactory and timely manner.
We are forwarding your correspondence to the appropriate department heads in regard to the various points of concern you mention. It is therefore being sent to the Director of Housekeeping (plates and linens), Director of Operations (bathroom door, cabinet doors, PS3, table and balcony chair and Paradise pool) and the Director of Marketing (deep sea fishing tour) and requesting them to share the comments with their teams in order to improve service and quality in their respective areas.

We do appreciate your taking the time to let us know that our service did not meet your expectations. We realize that you must be busy and want to thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Mahalo,
Stephen Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,310 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing