We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great location of the hotel, right by the beach. The pools are really good but are always very crowded, the property needs to be bigger in order to make a more open atmosphere. The concierges barely spoke english which was a problem, most of them spoke Japanese. Try getting a good suite room, a normal room is not very nice. We upgraded our room after the first night and the upgraded room was very nice. Definetly enjoyed my stay but would not consider it again because of the quantity of people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spuhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Block out drape needs to be added to the shades in masterbedroom and the front desk staff needs to answer phones promptly and give out lais to welcome people. Also the concierge should call close to booking to answer questions and tell you the free tix they give to entice you mean you won't get a lai at luau. Also luau needs to be on beach not parking garage. Bad atmosphere on concrete.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very clean and attractive. The pool and beach area do get crowded, so if you do not want to have to get up early on your vacation rethink this resort. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants available. It is in a good location if you intend on staying in an urban setting. Walking around the area is quite easy. Use the beachwalk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank PAteacheryeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booking of room and flight to coincide, they did not mention the events that occur each week so you can plan around it. They have a fireworks show every Friday. Check in scheduled on Friday and check out on Friday. Flight arrives after fireworks and departs before - go figure. Had a room with two terraces and view of odd stuff on the damaged roof of the building below. I felt that service always asked what room we were in to determine what kind of service to offer. Lower floor, lower service. We had to figure out our way around the facilities. No detailed maps and the maps they had were all varied - one is a restaurant map, another a activities map. Then you need a map for the city. I had three maps in my pocket. Then there separate maps for the different buses and trolleys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you also for taking time to give us your invaluable feedback from your experience while staying with us. I am very sorry you were not able to view our fireworks this year, hopefully we can see you again next year and you can see Hilton Hawaiian Village fireworks then, as they are spectacular!! Our owners and guests love seeing them and are always looking forward to them.

Thank you for pointing out about a damaged roof, I have passed your observations onto our maintenance department so that they can get any damage repaired, and clean up any “odd” items. I was dismayed to read about “lower floor lower service” as our staff are all trained to service all of our owners and guests with the Hilton standards as well as our special Aloha spirit. Yes, our property can be quite confusing, resulting in various maps for various reasons as we are located on 22 ocean front acres with 18 restaurants and lounges, over 90 shops, 4 pools, the sea water lagoon and last but not least Waikiki beach, not to mention the rest of Waikiki and Honolulu! Every year and time our owners come, they find something new and fun they didn’t know about before.

We hope to see you often so that you can enjoy our village and all of our activities and fun.

Mahalo,

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Grand Waikikian is visually very appealing. I like the washer and dryer inside the room and the wood floors. However, I sooner stay in the Lagoon tower. The rooms are bigger and have a better view from the lani, for a much lower point cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Ceasar Pedeglor... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Last year we spent some time in a penthouse suite and thought we would never be so fortunate as to do it again. Not so! As luck would have it, we managed to squeeze three nights in the Penthouse again this year. It did not disappoint.

To clarify, the penthouse suites at the Grand Waikikian are not your standard HGVC Penthouse suites. It comes with private Penthouse concierge service, daily cleaning service and evening turndown service, Penthouse lounge, complimentary continental breakfast, and cocktail/ pupu hour nightly including complimentary beer/wine. Penthouse suites are floors 35 and up. Theses cost a ridiculous amount of points (but are totally worth it).

This year we got a two bedroom penthouse (ph) suite - room 3511. This suite was truly amazing. Being on the end of the building, it encompassed the entire side of the building, and offered three balconies each with its own view on a different side of the building. So we had a diamond head view (lots of ocean), a city view/ ocean view, and a full city view. Unreal!! The suite was beautifully decorated, well appointed and in good shape. Two balconies were average size and one was quite long. The views were gorgeous. Both bedrooms had bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs under the windows that allowed you to relax in the tub while enjoying the beautiful city lights at night. The second bedroom's shower was quite large and had a seat in the shower. Both bedrooms had their own balconies. The layout was not as open as the standard two-bedroom floor plan because of its end location, but given those views, there was no reason to complain. The suite is also on the same floor as the Penthouse lounge, which was very convenient. That meant we also had convenient access to the concierge staff just down the hall. There was no increased noise associated with being near the lounge.

What really makes having a penthouse suite worthwhile is actually, in our opinion, the amazing Penthouse staff. We were really thrilled to see no turnover in the concierge staff from last year. Each one of them is remarkable in their own way. They are on top of everything, knowledgeable, multi-lingual, and just plain pleasant. We just love each one of them. From managing room switches, to making a dinner reservation, to making recommendations for what not to miss on your day's plans, to just smoothing out some little wrinkle, they can be counted on 100%. They remember everything. It's great walking in to the lounge for breakfast and being greeted by "so how was dinner at Tiki's last night? Did you try the ribs?". They just never miss a beat. I am not exaggerating when I say these people make the trip go from great to spectacular!!

Penthouse was all we remembered it to be. Great suites, amazing views, and truly wonderful staff. I know we won't catch all of you (and we do mean to....not one of you fails to amaze us) and I will likely butcher some spelling but ... Thanks Keiko, Mayumi, Hiromi, David, Darlene and Stanley! We miss you already.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite - room 3511 is amazing. Great views on three sides of the building all in one suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank austengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

just want to go back! big beach, nice surf, nice pools, great icecream! Great staff! Very nice island with very nice people, best beach is on the other side of the island, but best choices for family stuff is in honolulu. Dolphins! Turtles! Lava tunnel diving! Surfing! Skydiving! Polynesian cultural center, very interesting! Helicopter Tours!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Rickard Jan Ken... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,243 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $356 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing