We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flower and Nut Leis when you arrive, what a trip to Hawaii is all about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wow we finally went to a hotel where they greet you with Leis when you arrive. Such a great finished hotel with great wood work and fountains everywhere, and a 3 slide pool. The room had wood floors, easily cleaned and a great kitchen, " if you want to cook, we didn't " A great balcony on the 28th floor that overlooked the Park and ocean. A little scary if you are afraid of heights but we didn't request a lower floor, but was fine.. The private room had a great mattress, slept like a baby. Service was great when you needed it, they were always willing to help.

Room Tip: lower floor pool side or higher floor park and street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttocs8769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently stayed in the Grand Waikikian for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. I traveled with wife and kids 6 and 9. The facility is big and it is commingled with other Hilton towers. At some point in time it felt a little crowded, specially at some times during the day where lots of people was checking in. We arrived early because we were flying from Seoul. They did not allow us to get to our room until 3:30 PM. But they gave us access to a Lounge, which it was very basic compared to others I have been. The staff was very professional and eventhough they offer timeshare acquisitions, they were not pushy nor irritating.

There are many dining options but it is better to call and make sure you can walk in. Many restaurants at walkable distance as well as cafe shops. There are small stores called ABC that sell absolutely everything and that's were I found healthy snack to take to my kids on the beach. Believe it or not there is a dairy queen as part of the complex as well. There was a breakfast buffet in one of the cafes close to the beach but only some days of the week.

My kids enjoyed the paddle board on the lagoon and also the slides at the pool. This is a family friendly hotel. They are small to take the surfing classes but may be next year. But there is so much to see in Oahu that we also visited other areas in the island - Hanauma Bay, Makapuu lighthouse trail, Pearl Harbor and off course Waiola Snow Cones !

Our room was in the twenty something floor and it was very quiet. The suite had kitchen, laundry and dryer. When traveling with kids that becomes handy. I recommend the Suites for the location, easy access to the beach and multiple pools.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The accommodations are good, but it is a money pit. Overpriced for everything. Pools undersized throughout considering the number of rooms. Gym - how about some blinds or sun screens for morning goers? Gym was undersized (and too hot!!) relative to the number of rooms/guests - maybe 20-30 pieces of cardio equipment for thousands of guests? Staff was generally friendly and approachable. Worst experience with concierge - book stuff on your own, they are misinformed and self-interested.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Matthew H. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Front Office Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time to write about your experiences while visiting here. It was really nice to hear you like the accommodations you had… and you are correct in that Hawaii is a very expensive state to visit. As we are an island state located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, everything tends to be quite pricey, especially in Waikiki.

I will forward your ideas concerning the fitness room to the proper department, from size of room to blinds for the windows and hopefully we can make a positive impression on you on your future trip. I will inform the concierge supervisors of the impression the concierge’s made on you, and to improve our service which always strives for the best.

Thank you again for you invaluable opinion.

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I am here now enjoying my 2 bedroom premier suite on the 31 floor with beautiful ocean views everywhere I turn!!! Service has been great. A few issues with room were immediately addressed and this is a busy time. Bravo!!! Reception was outstanding! Bellman are very professional and running all of the time. Concierge Wendy Davy is most helpful. I am supposed to be meeting her right now but I am enjoying and appreciating my room so very much!!! Will I return? Absolutely! For those of you who enjoy the 6 day sales deal ...you have no idea how much better it is to be here as an owner. more thing the Mandara Spa may be in desperate need of renovation (come on Hilton get this handled) but Bronson is a fabulous masseuse.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to have a great 4th of July experience come to the Grand Waikikian. Great pool,lagoon,and ocean access but if you come 4th July week you see the fireworks up close and it was like 15 mins long and well worth being near the crowd. Also I believe that there is a fireworks show on Fridays that lasts about 8 mins and you are right next to the fireworks. Overall great family experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunterj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

During our recent 8 day visit to the island, my family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen and in-room washer/dryer.
The lagoon, swimming pool(s) and beach access all came in very handy!
We could rent (for no charge) dvd's and PS3 games to view/play in the room in the lobby- very convenient for late at night (free) entertainment.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There were plenty of restaurants and shops on the property, so we didn't have to go far to find something to snack on, or something to do.
Every employee we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.
I am not sure how much this property would cost to stay; we were able to attend a time-share meeting, and received our room at a HUGE discount.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a very well situated luxury apartment hotel right on the beach at Waikiki. Part of the Hilton Village, so shares pools and beach access.
Only downside is that every item of beach rental except towels incurs additional payments.
Service is excellent and the opportunitry to self cater is very useful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $365 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing