We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Grand Waikikian Suites. Our party of 6 had a 2 Bedroom Oceanfront and a 1 BR City view on the 17th floor. (We had a lot of HGVC bonus points to use before they expired...) Both rooms were very clean and spacious. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots, pans, etc. As an owner, the HGVC only provides mid-week cleaning. However, anytime I called for towels or supplies they were delivered within 10 minutes. The staff members around the resort were all very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lagoon and the pool (both had sun and shade). The beach area was a bit crowded and the chair rental was expensive. However, our kids had a blast with the paddle boards in the lagoon.

We ate at Tropics our first night at the resort and it was OK. We really enjoyed the Round Table pizza, Pronto Pickle and Starbucks. My kids also thought the ice cream shop was fantastic too. We prepared all of our breakfasts in the room and ate lunch by the pool a few days. We walked out into town for most of our dinners.

Our car service from the airport stopped at Foodland for groceries and then we made a mid-week grocery stop at Safeway. However, we also purchased some groceries in the hotel store and the ABC store. We did not find the prices too outrageous. (Hawaii is still less expensive than the Bahamas.)

Cab fare around town was relatively reasonable. We only rented a car for one day to make a trip to the North Shore.

Here are a list of activities that we did: Nau Wale No Island Tour (Lighthouse hike, Blow Hole, North Shore, Turtles, Pali look out, etc.) Waimea Falls, Paradise Cove Luau, Island Magic Catamaran Snorkel, Dole Plantation & Hole-In-the-Wall Food Tour. I have separate reviews for many of these activities.

These are the off-property restaurants we went to: Duke's, Morimoto, Chart House, Cafe Sistina, Ted's Bakery, Giovanni's Shrimp Truck and Hard Rock Cafe.

I would definitely recommend the Grand Waikikian Suites for a trip to Oahu. The resort/village has many great shops too.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brayball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    362
    110
    33
    26
See reviews for
664
231
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's all good...excellent, even. Our stay began with an energetic welcome from Will-the-valet, with tips for self parking and getting around town. Your garage keycard will be good all day on your last day, even after you've checked-out. Camille from the Holokai Concierge was patient and made wonderful recommendations: swim at Laniakea Beach as turtles rest on beach. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and quick to respond. The Owners Lounge was probably the best perk, for those whose departure isn't till the evening: we took a shower. Your GPS address will be 18 Kahanamoku Street, since the lobby entrance isn't on 1811 Ala Moana. There's an Xbox in the room, so let your kids choose a couple of free games to keep 'em happy: my reality these days. Bring your own boogie boards, most airlines accept as regular checked luggage if in a bag: calm ocean waters come to life. The rooms have wired and wireless connections, so we Yelp'd and FB'd to our hearts content. Skip the Starlight Luau: saw the show from our balcony and it didn't look inviting held on the roof of their convention center. I hope your stay will be as fun as ours!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank former_RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very high end resort which is conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki so it is walking distance to many shops and restaurants on Kalakaua Avenue. The resort has many shops and restaurants on the property which is located right on the beach. The valet parking service was slow at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Pt123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed at Kalia Tower several times before the Grand Waikikian Tower was built and the view of the Ocean and Hilton property from Kalia Tower is great. Those you have to use more points to stay at Grand Waikikian the view is terrible. I have stay in the Premier Rooms and Bedrooms Plus and the view were always bad or semi bad. So, if you are going to Hawaii to view the Ocean from you room I would not recommend Grand Waikikian Tower unless you are stay in the penthouse which for owner of Hilton is not offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank stevemichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1bed room, 27th floor at the Grand Waikikian Suite for 9 Days.
Balcony is very big and we can see Diamond Heads (City View) and little bit ocean. We stayed Kalia, Lagoon, Grand Waikikian before. The Room is spacious, Huge bath tub (it really huge), full kitchen and huge fridge also Wi-fi free!. We cooked every day. We normally bad experience with receptionist but they are good this time.
Walking distance to Ala Moana Centre, Waikiki, so it really convenience and good area.
We always come back this resort once a year but only negative part for this time follows
• when we arrived normally we get greeting (Ley etc) from staff but we didn’t get anything,
• Swimming pool is always packed especially, there has sign “Children under 5 is not permitted” at the Spa but many kids who is under 5 is stayed at Spa. Even staff doesn’t say anything. I wish they have Adult only pool and Spa like King’s land at Big Island.
• We ordered Nachos at the Hau Tree Bar, it was terrible not eatable…
• We had cleaning service in midweek but they didn’t stock anything (tissue paper, toilet paper, Rubbish bag) so we called them and looks like they came outside of door and took our rubbish but didn’t leave stuff which we requested

We just walked in to Harbour pub where located next Ilikai Hotel and front of Harbour. We went Happy hours and Beer is $1.5, food and service is excellent.

In addition, I hope Owners Lounge at 8th floor can open from 7pm to 9 or 10pm every day, because we are unable to print out boarding pass (we couldn’t print out domestic flight in Australia)

Room Tip: If you are huge fun of Hot Bath, I recommend to stay Grand Waikikian
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed in quiet hotels with our kids and been bored. I knew that Waikiki Beach, and this property, would be busy and not quiet- therefore I booked it. It was a little annoying that the pool was crowded, but then again- my kids made friends and were happy. They let you bring your own food/drinks down to the pool, that was a plus! We constantly left the property to go out and about the island...so all was well. The Grand Waikikian tower has amazing rooms, terrific staff. The spa is not top of the line, I was a bit disappointed with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank kfen4506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are looking for a lively couple of days before moving onto something a bit more quiet then the Grand Waikikian is for you. Room was immaculate with all the mod cons you expect in the US. They even had a kettle for us anglophiles to make tea! Location is great as easy access to beach and Waikiki shops one way and upmarket shopping mall another. We will return for a 4th time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,373 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Vacatia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing